We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarrassment to the region and Italian cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Preludio

Preludio
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Embarrassment to the region and Italian cuisine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very disappointing experience, we've loved almost every single place we've dinned in during different trips to Italy. This was one of only two or three that we did not like. It basically reminded us of second rate american restaurants with no authentic flavor to the food, and even a Costco style Olive Oil which was an embarrassment to the region and Italy cuisine as a whole!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arsham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    141
    43
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is my first visit to Italy. We started in Venice, then Cinque Terre, and now we have stopped in Cortona for a few days. Our Hotel recommended this restaurant, and it is BY FAR the best meal we have had in Italy (and we have had a LOT). We were greeted with a glass of Rose wine, the meals were freshly prepared, and our servers were so kind, attentive, and genuine. We only have two nights in Cortona, and we are planning on having dinner at Preludio again tomorrow night. If you have a night in Cortona, Preludio is the place to visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding evening of Tuscan quinine in a relaxed friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We have just had the most fantastic meal at Il Preludio in Cortona, we chose the 10 Euro anti pasti of the house and we were completely amazed at the quality and diversity of what was put before us. This was followed by a delicious pork dish for me and stuffed guinea fowl for my husband. Being February there was only us and one other couple in the restaurant, which was very sad but if you are visiting Cortona at any time of year and are looking for food that is a little special, we would strongly recommend Il Preludio

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
218 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, beautiful food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This beautiful restaurant is just off the main square in Cortona. It is quite elegant and serves beautiful modern Tuscan food. The service is wonderful and welcoming. We were greeted with glasses of a local sparkling wine and smiles - a great start. The risotto with saffron, porcini mushrooms and truffles was just as spectacular as my wife's pumpkin ravioli with salmon caviar. The quail was great. Our desert was a beautiful and elegant chocolate soufflé which came with two glasses of a local desert wine (7 Euros) With wines and coffee, our bill came to 79 Euros, a steal by any measure. A meal like this in the US would easily cost two or three times as much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerReady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“..nothing special..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Have had much better food in Italy. Don't understand the tripadvisor rave, really. Had average food at higher prices and took an hour to have food being served.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Preludio also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Preludio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing