We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better stay in Tuscany then at Villa Ugo in Cortona”
Review of Villa Ugo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Ugo
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No better stay in Tuscany then at Villa Ugo in Cortona”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The setting around the Villa was breath taking, the Villa Liliana was a separate entity within the Villa Ugo property. It was spacious, well appointed with comfortable beds lucious linens / towels, and ensuite bathrooms to each of the three bedrooms. The Villa and surrounding property was well maintained and planted with beautiful vines and flowers. Both indoor and outdoor living spaces. The hospitality and eagerness of both Ugo and Nicoletta(wife) to make our stay magical was quite evident in our warm and informal conversations, as well as their attention to detail. A great location to just take in Cortona or branch out on short day trips to Montepulciano, Montalcino or into Umbria. Also staff available to cook at additional cost...very delicious and reasonable.

Room Tip: Dont waste your time looking, stay at Villa Ugo !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed in La Casina one of the villas at Villa Ugo. It was fantastic. The kitchen was well stocked and all appliances were in good condition (other than the American coffee maker - no loss). The villa is beautiful and the beds are very comfortable, linen crisp and white - even a change of towels during the week and dining and lounge extremely well appointed - really stylish. The outdoors is where you live in July and the terrace and pool were well maintained and the furniture is great. We available ourselves of the cooking service - not to be missed - excellent value and the food is sensational. It's a great alternative to cooking yourself (and everything is cleaned up after) or driving to a restaurant.

An Italian holiday shoudl include a week at Villa Ugo. There is so much to see close by - Cortona of course and Perugia, Gubbio, Assisi, Castilione di Lago, Montelcino, Montelpulciano, Lucignano and much more - a shopping trip to Florence by train is only 1 hour 10 mins!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samiseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Heading on holiday with extended family (all adults), we were unsure how one villa could meet everyone's needs - with some of us seeking a base to travel on day trips around Tuscany, others just wanting to relax by the pool. La Casina at Villa Ugo was absolutely the best choice one could make. A big, multi-floor villa with four bedrooms, several gorgeous terraces to choose from for lounging (sun or shade, whatever we preferred that moment), indoor and outdoor dining areas, a crystal clear pool and a view to die for, this was perfect for our family.

The villa's hilltop location in the beautiful area of Cortona couldn't have been better for the view, for quick trips into town to get provisions and for us to make our way to various Tuscan villages and cities with ease. And Ugo is a generous, friendly host, who makes his own delicious olive oil to boot. We also had meals cooked by the wonderful and sweet cook Ana, who rustled up classic Italian dishes at bargain prices for a hungry family, including truffle pasta on the last evening which was divine. What a way to end a holiday.

This villa is perfect for a group of adults - there were three couples in our group, but it could easily have accommodated another two friends and it was easy to seek out a quiet place whenever you needed it - the villa is so spacious. We couldn't feel more relaxed now we're home, and our family got to see so much of Tuscany from this brilliant centrepoint.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I can't imagine a Tuscan vacation being any better. I stayed in Casa Lilliana which was had the feel and views that I had hoped to experience. The outdoor patio was perfect for coffee and Internet in the morning and red wine and cheese in the evening. A wonderful market that offers a traditional butcher, cured meats, cheeses and the basics is 5 minutes away. The town of Cortona is a 10 minute car ride or a 45 minute walk over the mountain. Ugo, the owner, showed me an ancient Etruscan path over the mountain that was beautiful and good exercise. The great wine towns are easy drives away and. Florence and Rome are relatively short train rides away and the train station and car rental are 10 minutes away in Terontola. I can't imagine visiting Tuscany and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nge6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I have been four times to Cortona and each time I stay at one of the villas owned by Ugo Sabatini and I am currently planning my fifth. Ugo's charming grace and warm hospitality make my stay in Cortona feel like a second home. I highly recommend staying in any of his 3 villas. I also recommend hiring his cook Ada, for one night of amazing home cooked food.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fashionsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I am so glad to see Villa Ugo listed on Trip Advisor. I have been visiting every year for over six years and would never consider another option when staying in Tuscany. There are three restored villas, each with its own charming personality. The owner, Ugo Sabatini has meticulously restored each of them and included all the modern amenities you will need while maintaining beautiful original portions of each home. The décor is tasteful, refined and easy with very comfortable living spaces and the beds in all of the bedrooms are great. All of the bathrooms have showers which is not easy to find when renting a villa. Villa Orlando is the largest of the villas with four bedrooms, all with ensuite bathrooms and two living areas. It has amazing grounds with a very large patio area and a large private pool area. It’s great for couples traveling together or a family. Villa di Nello is very, very charming and sits higher on the hillside than the other two properties. The privacy is wonderful. This house also has four bedrooms, two with ensuite bathrooms and great indoor and outdoor dining areas. The pool is adjacent to the house and you can easily spend all day there soaking in the sunshine and the vistas. Finally, Villa Lilliana, so wonderful because it is just next door to the main house where the Sabatini family live. It has two bedrooms with ensuite baths upstairs and a cozy den downstairs with ensuite bath. The pullout bed in this room is quite comfortable so this house can accommodate six people. I have rented all three houses for a large group and it was fantastic because you can walk from one house to another however there is plenty of privacy so you can manage to not see guests from the other houses if you prefer.

The grounds and views will take your breath away with gardens, fruit trees, olive trees and vineyards surrounding each villa and the pool areas. Because the property is on a hillside, the views of the valley below are incredible and you feel a need to be outdoors taking it all in as much as possible. If it is your first time visiting the region you will find the location unbeatable. The property is uniquely situated in that you can walk along the old ‘Roman road) into the charming Etruscan hilltown of Cortona. The location is also perfect because you have easy access to the gems of Tuscany and Umbria. Within a 1 hour drive, you can visit Siena, Assisi, Perugia, the hilltowns of Montepulciano, Pienza and Montelcino and the Chianti region. Florence is less than 1 hour, 30 by train or car. Villa Ugo is easy to reach from either Rome or Florence as it is 20 minutes from the A1 and there are 2 train stations close by.

Lastly but probably most importantly, you will be well taken care of if you stay at Villa Ugo. Because the family lives there year round, they are there to attend to your needs and assist with things like directions and sight seeing recommendations as well as sharing stories about local history and folklore. There is also an amazing cook at Villa Ugo who will prepare and serve an incredible Tuscan dinner for you at your villa. Her name is Ada and you must book at least one night for her to cook for you. If you are celebrating a special occasion, arrangements can be to coordinated by Ugo with very special attention to all of the details. There is even a wedding chapel on the grounds where all of the family have been married that is available to guests.

I cannot say enough about this magical place. It has become a place I must visit every year to savor the ambience, the people and the sense of peace and tranquility of Villa Ugo. Magnifico!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taram22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We have twice spent a few weeks at Villa Ugo in late spring, briefly living a Tuscan life, a dream come true. I scoped out probably thousands of properties online before first selecting Casa Villa di Nello on the Sabatini family estate, with worries that we'd end up near a busy highway, a railway or worse, as can happen when choosing a villa sight unseen. We drove up from Rome, and as superhighway switched to highway, then to road, lane and drive, the sense of something good to come became palpable. On arrival, we were welcomed to Villa Ugo, and shown Casa di Nello for the first time. High on a hillside, with almost infinite vistas of the Valle di Chiana below, Nello is a lovely 4 bed, 3 bath home with loads of ancient charm, warmth, and modern comforts and conveniences. No other buildings are closeby, as even the main house, Villa Ugo, is around a hillside, which provides great privacy for both homes. We had family and friends passing through for days or a week at a time, and this was a perfect property for this sort of arrangement. Close by is Cortona, an ancient, storied town that is almost too lovely to be real (but it is!). Wonderful dining options, shopping and town life are waiting there, and the Sabatini's can guide you to the better spots. Trains to Rome and Florence are accessed from two small towns downhill from Cortona, just 12 or 15 minutes drive from the house. From either, all other towns, and Europe beyond, are readily reached. Easy, beautiful drives get you to Florence, San Gemignano, Siena, Perugia and an infinite number of borgos and towns, but you'll find yourself wanting to stay on Villa Ugo, or maybe walking the old roman road that passes through the property up into Cortona to just "be". Sample the olive oil, wines and other treats produced at Villa Ugo, and if you want a real treat, arrange with the family to have a guest chef come in and cook dinner for you (more reasonable than it sounds), served on the outdoor terrace, or at the lovely large table in the dining room.
We forgot what day it was after just three days of being there... perfect vacation attitude! The other two spots available for rent at Villa Ugo are equally lovely. Villa Orlando is a newer restoration, is a good bit larger than di Nello, and quite elegant. Villa Liliana is smaller, and closer-attached to the Villa Ugo itself. Very comfortable and homey. Wish I had more superlatives to share, but you should just go and see for yourself. I guess the best recommendation i can give is that we've gone there twice for weeks at a time, and will go back as soon as the spirit moves us!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertInExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Locanda i Grifi
Locanda i Grifi
#11 of 24 in Cortona
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Il Sole del Sodo
Il Sole del Sodo
#8 of 42 in Cortona
174 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ugo

Property: Villa Ugo
Address: Case Sparse Cortona Teccognano 565, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of the aptly-named Golden Valley of the Chiana River (the Valdichiana), some 400 meters above sea level but just a few kilometers from the town Cortona, Villa Ugo encompasses every quality of Tuscan charm, simplicity and rural beauty. Since 1890, my family, the Sabatini’s have lived in the 16th century Villa Ugo, surrounded by over 11 hectares of olive groves and vineyards. The groves were once divided into three fields, where secondary houses were inhabited by tenant farmers. These three Villas also date, in part, to the 16th century, and I have carefully and beautifully restored them while maintaining the style, history and culture of the area and mindfully adding all the modern amenities and comforts. During your visit, you'll enjoy almost intoxicating peace, glorious vistas, and direct contact with nature in these three independent villas, Casa Liliana, Casa di Nello and Casa di OrlandoMy family provides a personal welcome to you, and discreetly ensures that you will be well looked-after during your stay, catering to your needs, and assisting with most any requirement to guarantee your visit is a memorable one.Come join us here at Villa Ugo, with all of Eastern Tuscany, western Umbria and central Italy nearby to welcome your relaxation and exploration!Ugo Sabatini ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing