We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Tuscan Charm”
Review of Villa Ugo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cortona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Ugo
Reviewed 16 October 2011

What a wonderful place to stay for a peaceful Tuscan holiday. What a beautiful setting upon the hillside. The villa Liliana where we stayed was perfect for us. We had ridden 1500 miles on our motorcycle and being in our 50s appreciated the comfortable sofa and bed. We had Ada to prepare our meal on the first and second night to save us having to shop on arrival, Lovely tasty food! The garden was lovely to sit in on sunny days with outstanding views.,our host Nocoletta.was so charming,what a lovely lady. The perfect Tuscan dream.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We spent a month this summer at Villa Orlando with three small children - 1, 3 and 5. We also had several groups of friends visit us for a few days each, which is why we chose Villa Orlando that sleeps 8. Would we stay there again with friends? Absolutely. It is well located for exploring half of Tuscany and Umbria. We did day trips to Siena, Arezzo, Assisi, the lake, Montepulciano, Pienza and a dozen more towns, as well as a day of cheese tasting and the tour of the Baci factory. We cooked every night at the villa and ate overlooking the valley. My wife ran down from the villa every morning down to the sunflower fields and back up, and still talks about how much she misses her daily run. The horses across the road were highly entertaining for our one-year-old.

The walk into Cortona is nice and worth doing. Ugo was a great host and a huge help in helping us fix our damaged rental car before returning it. The pool was good, and the kids had fun practicing their slingshots in the olive orchards (aiming for rocks, not the rabbits!) and watching fireflies.

Would we stay there again with three young kids? Maybe, maybe not. The villa itself was nice and reasonably kid friendly. But in the morning when just one kid is awake, it would have been great to be able to easily go and get coffee or walk around Cortona. And the kids wanted to play at the Cortona playground and get gelato every afternoon. However, the villa is down a 2km 1-lane road (which we nicknamed the Road of Death). Once you get down to the main road it's another 10 minutes to get to Cortona and park. It would have been much easier, given the kids, to stay just a short walk from Cortona.

So no complaints at all other than the slightly less-than-perfect location with 3 small kids. Once they’re a little older, though, I’m sure we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

For a relaxing week long escape from everyday life, a jump into a marvelous little heaven with a stunning view on Val di Chiana. Was there a couple of times for the last two summers in a row, the only regret is that I haven’t discovered it earlier.

Just Excellent! A must!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We had the most amazing time staying in Villa Liliana. It was the perfect tuscan holiday. Ugo Sabatini was so friendly and helpful. The house was very comfortable and well decorated, we particulary liked the out door seating area with its lovely sofa - perfect for sun downers! The pool is huge and separate from the villa which is great, particulary if you have small children.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindore30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Villa Ugo has an extraordinarily beautiful setting, high on the side of a hill on the Tuscan / Umbrian border. We have stayed here a couple of times and will gladly come back. The house has a view down over trees and fields to the valley below, lovely swimming pool. It's peaceful and idyllic, and not far from the ancient town of Cortona with Arezzo, Florence, and Siena within easy reach. Ugo is a kind, generous and gracious host.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

As a family we have spent many wonderful weeks on holiday in Italy and especially Tuscany. This year our week at the Villa UGO complex was our best yet. We stayed in the villa Nello at the top of the hill and the views, the space, the standard of accommodation were second to none. As we have visted all the neighbouring places before we decided to just chill around the pool and spent wonderful days just lazing in shade or sun depending how we felt. We occasionally ventured out to replenish our stocks of food and wine and even to walk the Roman Road but that was it!

On my birthday we asked Ada to cook and it was the perfect end to a perfect week. Ugo was there if we needed him at any time and very welcoming and helpful but did not in any way get in theway which has happened on other holidays when the owner lived nearby.

I can not recommnd this little piece of heaven highly enough. If you love Italy or have a desire to visit then you must first go to Tuscany and stay in one of Ugo's villas. You will have the best holiday ever. We will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodhey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at th Villa Orlando with family and friends. I can not tell you how wonderful of a trip it was. The villa is great; well stocked kitchen, air conditioning, en-suite bathrooms and a fantastic host. Ugo sent us to the best places to eat and see! The position of the villa is perfect for exploring the region and on the days that we had rain we went off to see Siena, Florence and a whole array of Italian hill towns.
The kids loved the peace and quiet and the pool!
Ada's cooking is second to none and the view from the terrace takes your breath away!
A real gem!

Room Tip: Be aware that the bedroom on the top floor does not have a door and the room on the ground floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notenoughshelfspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaUgo, Owner at Villa Ugo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Dears Guest,
I would like to up date you regarding the Room Tip in Villa Orlando. Following the comment of our client for the next season 2012 we are going to close the room of the top floor with a proper door to keep the intimacy of our guest. Regarding the room at the ground floor, yes it is a sofa bed, but the mattress used is a regular Queen Size Bed, as comfortable as a normal bed.
Thank you for your help to improve our service at Villa Ugo

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
759 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
7.6 mi away
Il Giardino di Romi
Il Giardino di Romi
#1 of 1 in Mercatale
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
819 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
Hotel Nuovo Centrale
#22 of 24 in Cortona
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#15 of 24 in Cortona
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ugo

Address: Case Sparse Cortona Teccognano 565, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the center of the aptly-named Golden Valley of the Chiana River (the Valdichiana), some 400 meters above sea level but just a few kilometers from the town Cortona, Villa Ugo encompasses every quality of Tuscan charm, simplicity and rural beauty. Since 1890, my family, the Sabatini’s have lived in the 16th century Villa Ugo, surrounded by over 11 hectares of olive groves and vineyards. The groves were once divided into three fields, where secondary houses were inhabited by tenant farmers. These three Villas also date, in part, to the 16th century, and I have carefully and beautifully restored them while maintaining the style, history and culture of the area and mindfully adding all the modern amenities and comforts. During your visit, you'll enjoy almost intoxicating peace, glorious vistas, and direct contact with nature in these three independent villas, Casa Liliana, Casa di Nello and Casa di OrlandoMy family provides a personal welcome to you, and discreetly ensures that you will be well looked-after during your stay, catering to your needs, and assisting with most any requirement to guarantee your visit is a memorable one.Come join us here at Villa Ugo, with all of Eastern Tuscany, western Umbria and central Italy nearby to welcome your relaxation and exploration!Ugo Sabatini ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing