We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Ugo
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cortona
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Cortona)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sabrina(Cortona)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
52
1
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
1
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Enchanting! We have had THE holiday of our lives. The view is astounding, the villa is more than beautiful, and the host Ugo is so care taking. Cortona is worth visiting if Villa Ugo is your holiday home...it just makes it a perfect combination. The cook Ada made our nights delightful, her typical tuscan cooking is above average. The silence of the surroundings is almost unbelievable. If you want to escape reality and jump into a heavenly experience make sure Villa Ugo is your choice.
p.s september in Tuscany is a must

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckytrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

As soon as you arrive at Villa Ugo, serendipity and peace surround you, a gentle breeze caress your face, all your senses are all of a sudden awake, the city life seems distant, and the smells of Cortona countryside are all around you.

The place is unbelievable, it’s like being in a movie of Bertolucci. There is a marvelous 180 degrees nonstop view of Val Di Chiana right in front of you. Caravaggio wouldn’t have been able to paint something more beautiful.

The rooms are gorgeous, the service impeccable, the owners friendly, caring and very respectful of your privacy.

Bring your book, have a sip of your favorite red wine, enjoy the view, let your mind think creatively again, take a swim and start all over again. La dolce vita really exists.

A magical place. Heaven on earth!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatteoMarinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

What a wonderful place to stay for a peaceful Tuscan holiday. What a beautiful setting upon the hillside. The villa Liliana where we stayed was perfect for us. We had ridden 1500 miles on our motorcycle and being in our 50s appreciated the comfortable sofa and bed. We had Ada to prepare our meal on the first and second night to save us having to shop on arrival, Lovely tasty food! The garden was lovely to sit in on sunny days with outstanding views.,our host Nocoletta.was so charming,what a lovely lady. The perfect Tuscan dream.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janemake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We spent a month this summer at Villa Orlando with three small children - 1, 3 and 5. We also had several groups of friends visit us for a few days each, which is why we chose Villa Orlando that sleeps 8. Would we stay there again with friends? Absolutely. It is well located for exploring half of Tuscany and Umbria. We did day trips to Siena, Arezzo, Assisi, the lake, Montepulciano, Pienza and a dozen more towns, as well as a day of cheese tasting and the tour of the Baci factory. We cooked every night at the villa and ate overlooking the valley. My wife ran down from the villa every morning down to the sunflower fields and back up, and still talks about how much she misses her daily run. The horses across the road were highly entertaining for our one-year-old.

The walk into Cortona is nice and worth doing. Ugo was a great host and a huge help in helping us fix our damaged rental car before returning it. The pool was good, and the kids had fun practicing their slingshots in the olive orchards (aiming for rocks, not the rabbits!) and watching fireflies.

Would we stay there again with three young kids? Maybe, maybe not. The villa itself was nice and reasonably kid friendly. But in the morning when just one kid is awake, it would have been great to be able to easily go and get coffee or walk around Cortona. And the kids wanted to play at the Cortona playground and get gelato every afternoon. However, the villa is down a 2km 1-lane road (which we nicknamed the Road of Death). Once you get down to the main road it's another 10 minutes to get to Cortona and park. It would have been much easier, given the kids, to stay just a short walk from Cortona.

So no complaints at all other than the slightly less-than-perfect location with 3 small kids. Once they’re a little older, though, I’m sure we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

For a relaxing week long escape from everyday life, a jump into a marvelous little heaven with a stunning view on Val di Chiana. Was there a couple of times for the last two summers in a row, the only regret is that I haven’t discovered it earlier.

Just Excellent! A must!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews