We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mid Range Restaurant”
Review of Hosteria La Tufa

Hosteria La Tufa
Ranked #60 of 101 Restaurants in Cortona
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Cork
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Mid Range Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Firstly a nice place. Have eaten here both summer and winter and each has its charm. Winter is cosy warm and intimate while eating on the terrace in summer can be very pleasant as the lights of corona shimmer in the distance.

The welcome is always warm, and while I would like to say the service is good it can be a little hit and miss. When busy things can get manic and the staff stretched. The range of the menu can also make coordination of meals difficult. The worst thing however can be paying the bill in deep summer. We have often waited what seems inordinate lengths of time to pay.

The food is pretty good. Antipasti are basic and solid. Pasta especially the oven baked ones are nice without being spectacular. My personal favourite is the rosseti di amore. Pizza is decent, and the main courses we have had have all been good. Not lovers of italian desserts so cant really comment. There is a good range of wines and overall this is an affordable restaurant.

Two words of caution. Parking while plentiful is a little challenging to access. You get use to it. It can get very very busy. Early or late can be good options on weekends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank navaccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    87
    46
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Forget Cortona - just 15 minutes drive outside is well worth it for the best tasting and best value pizza around.

The place was full of locals enjoying the food, so we knew we had stumbled across a real Tuscan gem.

Definitely a top restaurant choice with real authentic food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth_Teddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very tasty Tuscan food and great prices!”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had the ribolita soup, spaghetti tufo, springoli pasta, and rabbit. Every dish had outstanding Tuscan flavors. We ate there our last night in Tuscany but if we'd had another night we would have gone back without a doubt! Definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mewanch18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza's, nice people, good location”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The food is good, it's always busy with locals (which is good!) and they have a nice terras. The parking space up hill is a bit of a challenge sometimes, as the entrance is steep, but you can always park. Be there before 8PM to have a bigger change to get a place outside...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Koen_HLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lively Pizza Joint in Italy”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We went with our dear friends who live just outside of Cortona. The place was packed and felt and sounded that way. You're in a cave like place that has the classic brick tuscan arch construction. The kind of place you can't find anywhere else in the world. Our friends took us here because this is their go to place for pizza. No wonder. The food is as great as the architecture. We ordered the four part pizza that was sort of their combo pizza. It was served on a long plank and we almost fought over each and every piece. Yummy thin crust pizza. When our friends recognized several other patrons and greetings were exchanged, we got it that this is a local hangout. Would come here again for pizza. Fun and tasty.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottderrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hosteria La Tufa also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Hosteria La Tufa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing