We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cucina tipica et buonissimo!”
Review of Hosteria La Tufa

Hosteria La Tufa
Ranked #58 of 100 Restaurants in Cortona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cucina tipica et buonissimo!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

la tufa is local, frequented by locals, very reasonably priced and best of all, has delicious typical tuscan dishes! this is where you want to eat if you want the real deal in tuscany.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank France R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    85
    43
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Crowded and slow service”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We ended up here on a recommendation from our hotel.
It was very crowded and we waited a long time for drinks and food.
There are better places to try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 0102Marcia1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“embarressed to see what they offered”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Service was the worst ever experienced in Italy our waiter hardly spoke to us even when taking the order. food was at best passable some pasta dishes ok but veal scallops with marsalla a big lump of beef not veal. fritto misto of fish greasy and almost all whitebait not what it should be. Would not recommend to anyone. We waited so long for our food while tables of locals got served before us even having arrived after we felt very unwelcome and food not worth waiting for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a Highlight”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

every year I visit Cortona with my girlfriend and her family and every year the highlight of our restaurant choices is "La Tufa" with its spectacular views and its welcoming atmosphere the food is certainly well matched, a great amount of different choices, from seafood to steak, pizza to pasta and everything in between. we can also highly recommend the house red which certainly goes down with ease. A definite must see when visiting beautiful Tuscany.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donovan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and great view”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

After many years we returned to this restaurant for a very nice dinner, with a spectaculair sunset included. The food still is pure, simple and served by friendly staff. Prices are very reasonable. The only drawback is the steep, but short climb to the parking area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JvdW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hosteria La Tufa also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Hosteria La Tufa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing