We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected”
Review of Dolce Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolce Maria
Ranked #3 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

After booking our one night stay at Dolce Maria we received a gushing email from Paola saying she was looking forward to welcoming us and that if there was anything she could do in the meantime not to hesitate to get in touch. I swiftly emailed her back to ask if we could have a travel cot in our room as we were travelling with our 3 month old baby. When we arrived there was no cot and when we asked for one were met with a frosty reception from Paola who seemed rushed of her feet and it felt very much that we were inconveniencing her. The woman we met was very different from the woman with the friendly tone that emailed us. She did drive my husband down the hill to pick up our bags which was extremely nice of her but she was not pleased about doing it and made it quite clear that was the case. Awkward.

That night we ate in their restaurant which was nice, but nothing more than nice. There were a large group of Italians eating that night and we were rather neglected because of this and had to fight to be served. My husband asked for a beer with his meal which was met with raised eyebrows. A member of staff went out to buy a beer from a shop (a restaurant with no beer?) and we were on our first course by the time it got to the table! While the food wasn't bad, we have definitely eaten better in Italy.

There was limited choice at breakfast and staff stand by and watch your every move at the buffet table which once again was awkward. While the cake was tasty we found it a bit odd to have cake for breakfast. Not really what you fancy eating so early in the day.

Beds were comfy and rooms were clean.

All in all we found the Dolce Maria wasn't quite what we were expecting after all the good reviews we had read, and well, frankly it was a bit odd.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
106
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful, rustic, characteristic hotel and I would have loved to extend the stay. The location is great within the walls of Cortona. The rooms are nicely decorated with unique chandeliers. The bathrooms are very modern. The B&B is very clean. The food at the restaurant is delicious and the service was great. The highlight of our stay was the cooking lesson. It was so informative and very interactive and we enjoyed our food that was great. I would recommend the Dolce for a wonderful stay in Cortona!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mump52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The place is full of history, yet with all modern facilities, including wi-fi which is essential these days. The location is ideal for anyone spending time in the city and is not to far from the railway station at Carnucia. The hostess makes you feel easily at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We only stayed for two nights, but we thought long and hard about asking to stay for the rest of our trip. Our room was beautiful, large, with high ceilings, a chandelier and a secret passageway to a tower room! I actually think that from now on I will be comparing every stay to this one. We were tired from a week in Rome, it was dark, we missed our train stop, barely making it there.... then Paoula scooped us up, gave us this lovely room, cooked us one of our best meals in all of Italy, shared many smiles, lots of history, and even wifi in the restaurant! Nice shower, hairdryer and towels too. It was very relaxing, and the town is lovely. A dream come true. We wont go to Italy without staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at Dolce Maria for 6 nights in October, 2012. It was the perfect location for a visit to the hill towns. Paola was the perfect hostess. We loved our room, and the breakfasts. All of the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our meals at the connected restaurant, also. Our room was large, had a modern bathroom, a large armoir, and we had the room with the spiral staircase. We enjoyed wine up on the open patio in the evenings. We had rented a car and visited Assisi, Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Orvieto, Deruta, San Galgano Monastery, Sienna as well as Cortona. A visit to Florence would be possible from this location, but we had been there before. We loved Cortona as our base for visiting the hill towns. Paola was wonderful with suggestions as to visiting Cortona. Cortona is an interesting town and we loved their market day. We walked to the Santa Margherita Basilica visiting the Church of St. Francis, San Niccolo Church with an interesting painting over the altar by Signorelli on the way. Santa Margherita was an unwed mother from Montepulciano who found her calling with the Franciscans in Cortona tending to the sick and poor. Her remains are in back of the altar in a glass coffin. We also went to the Etruscan museum in Cortona. The main piazza in Cortona was lively. Dolce Maria also has wireless internet. I highly recommend Dolce Maria and wish I was there right now!

Room Tip: We had the room with the spiral staircase. However, it is a steep climb up to the patio, but well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Dolce Maria B-n-B is a 15th century home located in the hill town of Cortona and is very close to the town center. It's run by Paola, who is truly sweet, warm and wonderful! My room was very large, nicely decorated and had an updated private bath. I also was fortunate enough to get the room with the very cool spiral staircase that led to the roof. It's a great place to sit with a glass of wine and take in the splendor of this quaint Italian town. There was also a small flat screen TV in the room. Though most of the channels were in Italian, I found some of the shows interesting to watch...especially the dubbed American shows like CSI Miami. ;)

Every morning Paola and her mom Dina had a wonderful assortment of goodies for breakfast. She makes a wonderful fig spread for your toast- it's just out of this world! I loved the apricot one as well. She also makes these lemon cream pastries that are to die for! Her restaurant (next door), Locanda al Pozzo Antico also has amazing food and wine and you literally don't have to walk outside to get to it. Valentina, the maid, kept the room spotless!

One of my favorite things about Cortona and Dolce Maria, was waking up on Sunday morning to the beautiful sound of the church bells ringing. The bell tower is very close to the BnB and I could go up to the roof and watch the bells rings. Magnificent!! I loved Paola. Dina and Dolce Maria! It gets my highest recommendation!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We booked for three nights in January, and were so glad we did. The hotel is run by Paoula and her family, and is right in the centre of Cortona, a few minutes walk from the main square.

Paoula could not have been more friendly or helpful from the second we arrived.

Our room was very spacious and spotless. The breakfast was buffet style,( including freshly baked cakes) and Paoula's mother was exceedly friendly and attentive!
The evening meal we had at the hotel was excellent, the best we had in our seven day trip to Italy. If I was to return to Cortona I would certainly stay here, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliedCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#10 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Maria

Property: Dolce Maria
Address: Via Ghini 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 meters far from the main square, the B & B Dolce Maria enjoys peace and silence back in time. The old building of historical interest from 1400, above the main floor where resident the family owner has 6 exclusive rooms of different sizes, with suggestive panoramic on the roofs of Cortona and Valdichiana, or which overlook the quiet courtyard.Each room is furnished with antique furniture of the family, which gave a further elegance with frescoed walls and important windows high 3 meters, without depriving the modern comforts of air conditioning, The entrance to the house at number 12 entroduce in an elegant corridor that leads to 3 upper floors through the ancient stairs with handrails in sandstone, or give access to small and elegant restaurant where you can taste the delicious dishes of typical local and Tuscan cuisine accompanied by the best national wine labels. A few steps from the B & B are also the most important buildings, monuments, museums, the S. Agostino congres center, the theater Signorelli, the shopping streets and far 80 meters the free public car parks outside the Etruscan walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolce Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing