We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet stay in Cortona”
Review of Dolce Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dolce Maria
Ranked #5 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Sweet stay in Cortona”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Dolce Maria is in an excellent location, just off a main road that connects to one of Cortona's main piazzas. It is sign posted from two directions off of via Roma so you can find it on foot. This is especially helpful because Cortona is a walking town... cars generally park outside the walls, and when you first arrive it is easy to get turned around wandering the streets and vicolos.

Dolce Maria has six large, nicely renovated rooms and baths...beamed ceilings, nice decor and firm beds. Foe us, WiFi connection was an issue. Also be aware that there are many stairs to traverse including to the breakfast room.

And speaking of breakfast....simply outstanding with the almond breakfast pound cake, fig and apricot jams, and cornetti all made by the owner's mama. Do not plan an early exit before 08:30...this you do not want to miss.

Paola, the nice owner, speaks English and is helpful when making reservations. She also owns Ristorante Locanda al Pozzo Antico next door with good food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SelbyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    36
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
107
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just got back from one week in Cortona. Dolce Maria was the perfect choice. It is situated in the heart of the historic, walled-in city. An easy walk to everything. The rooms are large and clean and, best of all, it is a family-run B&B. The owners are warm and welcoming and make you feel right at home. Nonna runs the breakfast room while Paola and her husband look after the check in and everything else. They also run a great restaurant which caters to many locals and a handful of savvy tourists. The food is delicious and great value. Can't wait to go back and next time I will plan a cooking lesson with Paola so that I can come home with some of her recipes!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 159Donna460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This inn is absolutely sumptuous. Plush room with antiques, dreamy beds (SO comfortable), really pretty light fixtures, fabrics, accessories. Very high quality linens and amenities. Our room was way at the top (up many, many, many stairs!) and we felt like we were staying in a castle. Paola and her charming mama were lovely hostesses. Our breakfast was delicious and served in a pretty breakfast room, very pampering. We also ate lunch at their adjoining restaurant and had a fantastic meal.

Room Tip: If you are not able to climb a LOT of stairs, be sure to say that when making a reservation so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreBounceInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here because it was so central and looked very Italian. We were not disappointed. The owner Paola and her adorable Mother are lovely. Our room was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. The freshly baked cake for breakfast is a must! We ate at their restaurant which was very good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for only one night and absolutely loved it. This is such a cute B&B and the owner was so nice. We will for sure stay here again. The location is also fantastic as it is close to the main square where there are great restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found Cortona extremely romantic, and embodying the perfect Tuscan hilltop town, with all its genuine flavour, unspoiled by traffic, deadlocks, crowds, queues, random architecture or modern uninspired buildings. What boosted enormously our view on Cortona was staying at Dolce Maria’s. It is definitely the best place to stay in Cortona, where you will find yourself pampered both in what concerns accommodation but also in food.
Paola is the owner of this place and the mastermind behind the things you experience here. She owns a rather big old house (decorated in typical traditional style, but which provides all modern appliances you might need). The house is extremely charming and inviting. Joking, my husband said he felt like staying in a museum (in a good sense!). When we arrived, we definitely understood that this was a family business; later on, Paola explained to us that she also lived in the same house, having a whole floor for herself. Such proximity to the business is always a big advantage.
The B&B has the best location, on a street right near the main piazza in Cortona. We travelled to Cortona by train, and stopped in Camucia. From there you can either take a bus that goes up to Cortona (do check the timetable outside the train station, and go up the main street about 50m until you reach a Tabbachi to get a ticket), or take a taxi (10 EUR, 12 on Sundays). The bus leaves you near the gate to the city, from where you have to carry up you luggage to a steep street. Consider this, if you have mobility issues, and get a taxi.
We have previously read on Dolce Maria’s website and on tripadvisor about the one special room she has, the one with a hidden staircase which leads to a terrace on the rooftop). We didn’t specifically ask for this room (Toretta room) because the price was a bit higher (not significantly) and because we had made a prior reservation for July and couldn’t keep it due to work issues (we had to cancel); thus, we felt like we were lucky enough to find a room available at Dolce Maris when we rebooked our holiday in August. To our much surprise, Paola gave us the Toretta room, which was a gesture we deeply appreciate, knowing it is her special room. And indeed we loved it beyond words, it is absolutely huge and wonderfully decorated (you do actually feel like in a cozy museum). We were only two, but we think that the room suits more persons, especially because, climbing on the staircase, we found two other floors which could be designed to accommodate guests. Actually a larger family could stay in this place.
We strongly believe that all other rooms offer the same quality as ours. The breakfast was delicious and varied. A most distinctive presence was Paola’s mother, a very elegant and refined lady, who also bakes special cakes for breakfast – extremely taste. All the food was homemade, including the gems.
If you stay at Paola’s, do eat in her restaurant, Il Pozzo Antico. It has a very beautiful courtyard, and also two tables outside in the main street. We served here a wonderful dinner, had some local specialties and were mouth-watering. The service was very friendly and polite (I believe the young people serving were also from Paola’s family). They recommended us a very, very good red wine ! All in all, a fully enriching experience !
Paola’s always had a great attention for her guests, always checking whether everything was fine. In the last day, she called us a taxi to go to the station and she gave us a warm hug goodbye.
We thank her heartily for the hospitality, and we highly appreciate her energetic spirit and how she seems to keep all this business effortless.

Room Tip: Do ask for Toretta room for a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I cannot say enough good things about Dolce Maria. First, the room. When we were led through the beautiful hallways to our gorgeous room we were beyond amazed. It was huge, extremely clean & so...Italian! Beautiful exposed beams, terracotta flooring, a large modern bathroom and comfortable furniture made us extremely comfortable during our 2 night stay. When Paola mentioned the stairs to the rooftop balcony overlooking the Tuscan countryside it was the icing on the cake! Next, the people...everyone there is so nice & welcoming. My family of 3 did the cooking class with Paola & Lucia (?) and enjoyed every single moment. They were very kind & patient with our 10 year old daughter (and us!) & the food was beyond delicious. We think of them often & will be taking them up on their offer to e-mail any questions we have about what we learned! A visit to the restaurant is a must. We were in Europe for almost a month & I can honestly say that Dolce Maria was my favorite place to stay in all my travels. Prepare to be charmed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Torretta Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjengar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolce Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce Maria

Property: Dolce Maria
Address: Via Ghini 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 meters far from the main square, the B & B Dolce Maria enjoys peace and silence back in time. The old building of historical interest from 1400, above the main floor where resident the family owner has 6 exclusive rooms of different sizes, with suggestive panoramic on the roofs of Cortona and Valdichiana, or which overlook the quiet courtyard.Each room is furnished with antique furniture of the family, which gave a further elegance with frescoed walls and important windows high 3 meters, without depriving the modern comforts of air conditioning, The entrance to the house at number 12 entroduce in an elegant corridor that leads to 3 upper floors through the ancient stairs with handrails in sandstone, or give access to small and elegant restaurant where you can taste the delicious dishes of typical local and Tuscan cuisine accompanied by the best national wine labels. A few steps from the B & B are also the most important buildings, monuments, museums, the S. Agostino congres center, the theater Signorelli, the shopping streets and far 80 meters the free public car parks outside the Etruscan walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dolce Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing