We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Cortona”
Review of Casa Ambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ambra
Cortona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In the heart of Cortona”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Casa Ambra is located in the center of Cortona's old part. We can not imagine a better location in the town. We have stayed in two of Casa Ambra's apartments. We can warmly recommend both of those. Our stays have been 3-5 weeks long, mostly in the autumn during the past 5-6 years. The owner family is very friendly and helpful, we have always felt us welcome, thank you! This goes to all people of Cortona! Hope to see you soon again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Esko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My family of 5 stayed at Casa Ambra for 5 nights in June. All of us agree that Cortona and Casa Ambra were the best part of our 3 week trip. The apartment was clean, comfortable, and spacious. Sarah and Ambra were available to help us with finding our way around the city, transportation, and suggestions of things to do. The location can't be beat! Great views and gelato right across the street!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAmyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

In 2009, at a non-profit fund raising event, we bid on and won a week's accommodations at Casa Ambra. In Fall of 2010 we built our first trip to Italy around this week in Cortona and quite simply fell in love with the city and our hosts. Cortona is the perfect launching point to see Florence and many hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria. Casa Ambra is clean, has generously sized rooms, modern kitchen and bathroom conveniences, and a washing machine. It's move in ready! Casa Ambra is so close to the main action in Cortona (Piazza della Repubblica) including shopping, food markets, community events, bank machines and some incredible restaurants. We hit it off right away with Ambra & Sara. They could not have been more welcoming or gracious and Casa Ambra is our Casa Italiano. Ambra and family have become our dear friends and we returned to Casa Ambra in fall of 2012 for another perfect week. We are so excited for Ambra's B&B to open. Ambra is a fantastic cook! We are already making plans to return in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrieF98199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 wonderful days in Cortona and no doubt it had a lot to do with Casa Ambra and our wonderful hosts. Ambra and her daughter, Sarah made us feel very welcomed. They took care of us in every way. They arranged taxis to transport us to and from the train station, made sure we had maps and showed us the places we should visit.
We felt very at home. The apartment was very comfortable and the location. There were four of us but the apartment was big enough for a family of 5. We are definitely coming back !

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jessicalee691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights (three days) bringing new friends and celebrating our 1 year anniversary. This apartment is very close Piazza Repubblica with a gorgeous view from our upper bedroom. Split on two levels, we had everything we needed including 2 great-sized bedrooms, wine selection, large living area, and a large, modern bathroom to share. The location puts you directly "town center' with access to shopping, restaurants, and the current Cortona village events.

Sara is so wonderful; she met our every need- even bringing us two fans upon request and helping us with luggage during our checkout. Her patience was a blessing because we kept extending our stay and she was completely flexible with our ever-changing needs.

Most importantly, we've found another friend :) and a we will definitely return to Casa Ambra for comfort, convenience, and a stress-free stay. Looking forward to the new Bed & Breakfasts Casa Ambra has in the works. :) Thank you for going out of your way to make this a wonderful experience for us all!

Room Tip: No need for air conditioning. Open the windows and use fans (in summer); Wonderful cross-breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Telainee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A friend and I stayed at Casa Ambra in Cortona for a lovely, relaxing week. Not only was our apartment delightful, clean and convenient, but Ambra and her daughter Sarah went out of their way to be helpful in any way they could! It was a delight to stay at Casa Ambra.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clmorrisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
387 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Corte di Ambra B&B
La Corte di Ambra B&B
#5 of 42 in Cortona
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cortona Suite
Cortona Suite
#8 of 42 in Cortona
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolce Maria
Dolce Maria
#4 of 42 in Cortona
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Residenze Ristori
Le Residenze Ristori
#9 of 76 in Cortona
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ambra

Property: Casa Ambra
Address: Via Benedetti 14, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ambra is located in the heart of the historical center, ideal location to experience the reality of Cortona living the peaceful lifestyle of the small Etruscan town. The structure, recently fully renovated maintaining the classic style of Tuscan homes with rafters and tile flooring, is composed by three apartments, of different typologies ,finely furnished and complete with all amenities to ensure guests a pleasant stay. You will be enveloped by a picturesque atmosphere and friendliness. Each apartment has been given the name of the area in which it overlooks. Croce del Travaglio (2 pax): is ideal for short stays and for couples who want privacy. It consists of kitchen, bedroom and bathroom with shower. Piazza Passerini (3+1 pax): more suitable for long stays with family or for couples who do not want to give up a romantic atmosphere in front of a warm fireplace while enjoying a good Tuscan wine. It consists of kitchen, living room with view on the homonymous square, double bedroom overlooking the Piazza della Repubblica, single room and bathroom. Apartment with panoramic view. Via Benedetti (5 pax): is structured on two levels. The first level consists of a spacious living room, adjacent to the kitchen; the second level consists of 2 double bedrooms, one large and can take advantage of another single bed and a half, and bathroom. Meets all the requirements and is equipped with every comfort. A beautiful charming apartment with panoramic view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Casa Ambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing