We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant saved our day”

La Bottega Dell'Oste
Ranked #70 of 101 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: US$20 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hidden alleys of the old town among antique buildings of cortona, a small and romantic awaits you with traditional cuisine and a familiar atmosphere
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This restaurant saved our day”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We went there at the begining of July after visiting the beautiful Cortona, we searched many restaurants during the evening without satisfaction, finally we found out La Bottaga Dell'Oste in a corner with some interesting menus, first there were some home made local vegetables that we really wanted to have, then the pasta with porchini mushrooms that attract us. And we were not disappointed, it was one of the most delicious supper we had in Tuscany.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AiloveItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of our favorite spots in all of Italy”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We just loved eating here - so much we came back again! The interior is charmingly decorated and there is outside seating available. The bruschetta is the best we had on our entire trip - coming with this lovely salad with white beans. The ragu was delightiful and the porcini are very tasty. We loved the tortellini as well. Seriously - everything we ate was amazing. The house wine is wonderful too. This is such a hidden gem! The people who work here are lovely and smiling and we completely enjoyed the entire experience. GO here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunwineandpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had 2 very nice dinners in this restaurant. We stayed in the owners B&B (http://www.villavalenza.it/), also a very nice place.
The first night we had antipasti, pasta & coniglio (rabbit) and a nice dessert. The wine they recommended us was very good indeed (Cortona Sangiovese 2008). The second night we had a simple dinner (pizza), but also very good.
We enjoyed our time in La Bottega! The service was excellent and very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lbu1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Italian "Greasy Spoon"”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is sort of the "greasy spoon" of Cortona. You'll enjoy the food because it's good and comforting, but it's certainly not quality cuisine. The predominant flavor is garlic, much more so than you'll find in the surrounding dining establishments, and everything is cooked with an abundance of olive oil. The service is attentive and welcoming. You'll feel at home in this little restaurant and enjoy your experience, but if you're looking for that brilliant Italian cuisine, look elsewhere.

Helpful?
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Although there are quite a few Restaurant choices in Cortona, La Bottega is the #1 on our list! We started off with the Bruschetta appetizer which could have been a meal in itself. Dinner choices were plentiful and the fresh tagliatelle pasta was wonderful. There was only one wait staff person on the night we visited, but we still felt well attended to.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kmbcropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bottega Dell'Oste also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to La Bottega Dell'Oste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing