We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual magic”
Review of Eremo Le Celle

Eremo Le Celle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$225.93*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Arezzo and Cortona from Siena
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spiritual magic”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I absolutely loved this place. Quiet, peaceful and absolutely beautiful. The waterfall after the rain put you in a spiritual place. We returned on our way out of town just for one last look and a little more peace.

We went to mass on Sunday morning at 10:30. It was very simple and didn't at all cater to tourists. Everything in the place is in Italian, although you don't need to speak Italian to appreciate the calm and beauty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    134
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chappell Hill, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Inspiring, calming and reverent.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was my second trip to Le Celle, the first being 3 years ago. Though I'm not Catholic, or particularly religious for that matter, this place exudes a calmness and sense of awe that was a contributing factor in my decision to return to Cortona.

St. Francis of Assisi spent a good deal of time here and his "celle" is the primary tourism interest. Once here however, you realize that the beauty, serenity and spirit of the place has led you to introspection that may have eluded you in the past. Be sure to walk down to the stone bridge and onward along the trails, if you have the time.

It is truly a magical place. Not the place for noisy children...silence is requested.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank rexaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“walk, don't ride!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We walked to the monastery from Cortona, and saw some of the best vistas of our trip. The views and the quiet on the way there prepare you for the spirituality of the experience. Please do observe the requests for silence. It is a working Franciscan monastery. The monks are so gracious to allow the public in to share the gorgeous natural beauty which Francis honored and celebrated during his time on earth. The waterfall was at its most beautiful in October.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank katya3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Utterly beautiful”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Third visit after a recommendation. Description was that it was tranquil and beautiful in a fantastic setting which is true. 13th century but in wonderful condition it has an atmosphere. Quite easy to find by car but in no way affected by tourism but equally no concessions either other than freedom to visit undisturbed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glasgowboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,316 helpful votes
“Shangrila.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Approx 15 minutes drive through a winding road from Cortona takes you to this picturesque monastery tucked in a gorge, surrounded with dense vegetation. Its historical connection to St Francis of Assisi attracts a lot of pilgrims but luckily for us, there were not many people since it was the end of the tourist season. A visit to St Francis' room shows his spartan dwellings was by miles not anywhere near modern comforts. We wandered inside its chapel and saw a monk saying his prayer audibly. A stroll below the ramparts and across the stream took us to tranquil trails deep into the forest. What a perfect place to contemplate and refresh our thoughts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eremo Le Celle also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Eremo Le Celle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing