We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favoloso!”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I lived in Italy and Sicily for five and a half years but that was a long time ago and we always wanted to return for a visit. We had the opportunity to return in May 2014 with our friends and wanted to show them something special. I contacted my friend Sybil Haynes of Dolce Vita Adventures (http://www.dolcevitaadventures.com) and she was able to arrange our accommodations at the hotel.

The rooms were outstanding and provided a commanding view of the city and surrounding countryside. The staff was outstanding and tended to our every need. The breakfast buffet was above and beyond and provided a great foundation for our walking tour of the city. We only found on "flat" street in Cortona so if you plan a visit, bring a good pair of shoes and be prepared for some exercise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Huge numbers of friends and family stayed in San Michele for several days to stay for out daughters wedding. The staff were charming, especially the lovely porter, whom I think was called Sanjit. The situation was excellent and the rooms individual and beautiful especially considering the obvious difficulties of hotels that were not built for purpose in the middle of the most fantastic ancient Tuscan town.thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view from high up of the plain of Lake Trasemene. 211 was very nice but the is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We thank you for having chosen our hotel for such an important event. We await your retourn to celebrate the anniversary.
See you soon.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just stayed here for 6 days . Its a very charming little hotel - not pretentious in any way so dont expect over the top luxury but what makes it very nice are the entire team of staff who without exception are polite and friendly. The breakfast could do with some variety day to day and the door to the terrace could be unlocked .Otherwise great. many thnaks to all the staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDL186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

It was a great pleasure meeting you. The terrace will be opened soon. We are just waiting some sunshine.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Super friendly staff from the young gentleman at reception, wish we remembered his name as he was great with our heavy suitcases. Nice clean hotel. Could do with a little updating bathroom wise but overall, very good and decent value for money. Super convenient location

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Senyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comment. Our staff always does its best in order to make your stay with us as pleasant as possible, so that you can feel like at home.
Sincerely,

Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Loved this hotel. Stayed 3 nights and they could not be more accommodating. Don't stay anywhere else. One of the few if not only hotels inside the walls. Great hotel and one of my favorite towns in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dearest guests, it has been a great pleasure meeting you. We await your retourn.
Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were in Rome and decided tomdome something out of the ordinary, so took a train to Cortona. We made reservations here and were very pleased. The staff is great, breakfast is superb and very authentic. The rooms have all the basics, hot water, air conditioner and a window. Cortona is a great place to visit and its people make it better! Free wifi

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikkiveliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

What an amazing hotel -- dating back to the 11th century. Our room contained a mural that has been carbon dated to the 11th century.

Service was amazing -- everyone spoke English very well. Breakfast was included in the room and it was served in an outdoor courtyard.

Valet parking was included, and they walked me to the garage to get something I had forgotten in the car.

Centrally located next to the shopping area and public squares. Front desk recommended a fabulous restaurant for dinner -- the best of our entire 3 weeks in Italy.

We would definitely stay here again, and look forward to returning to Cortona.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms are reachable via elevator, so if you need an elevator, make sure you specify this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuggybear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca p, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

It was a pleasure meeting you and we are pleased that you were able to catch the history and charm of this amazing building in the historical centre.
See you soon,

Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
830 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia Cortona
Hotel Italia Cortona
#6 of 24 in Cortona
314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#9 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £109 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument by The Italian Ministry of Art and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites some of them with a private balcony with a view, all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. You can also taste a Tuscan aperitif at the Bar dell'Accademia on the first floor. On request: "La Torretta" a relax area with a 360° view and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing