We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is at best a three star hotel”
Review of Hotel San Michele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Michele
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We booked this Hotel based online reviews. It is a nice location in the old town, with ( very expensive!) parking. The hotel did not reply to our request for a parking space, so we did not find out until we got there whether we had one or not. Our room was very, very basic, even though we paid extra for an upgrade to superior . There was a bed, a dresser, a small TV mounted high on the wall. Also absolutely no view. When we inquired at the front desk the next morning,for the price of a better room, we were told they could not give us a price as the rooms were booked. The not very friendly woman at the desk also said we should have called the hotel directly before booking for a better room.She said she could not even tell us the price for a suite as the price would change according to when it was booked.In other words we were given the worst room we have had anywhere here in Italy, at premium price, apparently because we did not book directly with the hotel. The bathroom had a minuscule shower, and very basic amenities: two tiny bars of soap and two shower caps. In our opinion nowhere near a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indianwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Michele
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

It is a good hotel for a little old town. But the rooms is not too fresh, and the bathroom are outdated. Location excellent. Helpful hotel personnel, especially Dragazh? (yugoslav, who parked our car and brought heavy luggage and generally helped us in every possible way and advise). Magnificent view from the terrace of our suite.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Hotel San Michele was one of the best choices we made during our July vacation in Italy. The hotel is very charming, the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is very good and very friendly staff! Another point of emphasis is the location: perfect for exploring the city on foot and return to the hotel to rest or leave the shop!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Very fine and stylish hotel in a converted medieval mansion. But everything is modern, top-notch and very satisfactory. Had a fine, though not very large room with good beds, very quiet, excellent bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Good A/C. Excellent buffet breakfast which could be had in an interior garden, - very nice, indeed. But as a traveller from northern Europe I'll never understand why such a high-standard hotel doesn't liven up the breakfast table with some fresh tomatoes and green salad leaves etc. Centrally located for everything of interest in Cortona. We used the free parking outside the city wall at Porta Sant'Agostina, which meant quite a steep and heavy climb up to the hotel. I guess it would've been possible to drive up to the hotel entrance to unload the luggage, though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lektor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at San Michele for four nights. The hotel staff was outstanding and went out of their way to accommodate us. The rooms are typically small but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and included scrambled eggs, meats, pastries and cappuccino.
The location is outstanding for both exploring Cortona and the surrounding areas of Tuscany. It is a two minute walk to the central plaza of Cortona and all the shops and restaurants. The garage was right next door to the hotel for the days we went out to Siena and the surrounding wine country.
We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Excallent vacation! Intimate, charming and romantic hotel, tasty breakfast.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank kryga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We travelled to France and Italy on our recent trip and while we were in Venice decided to take the train to Cortona and stay for 3 nights. So we booked San Michele at an internet cafe, hoping it would be great. It fit our price range of 100 euro a night so that was the main thing.
We were pleasantly surprised - first with Cortona which is without doubt the most picturesque hill-top village we visited, and secondly with the hotel. Each room seems to be different - ours with big, but the furnishings were getting a little tired. Our friends had a smaller room, but had a four poster bed!
Perfect position to explore the town. Staff couldn't be more helpful.
Food is great, views are amazing, people friendly, even good shopping!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kiwisdoeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
815 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 24 in Cortona
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Cortona
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Michele

Address: Via Guelfa 15, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £118 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Michele 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Michele is located in the historical heart of Cortona. Born out of a restoration of a renaissance palace, it is listed as national monument by The Italian Ministry of Art and host a 15th century fresco (Masaccio school). Restored with taste, the hotel offers classic, superior, junior suite as well as suites some of them with a private balcony with a view, all equipped with moden comforts. Air conditioning, private bathroom, elevator and covered garage. Massages, cooking classes and tours are available on request. You can also taste a Tuscan aperitif at the Bar dell'Accademia on the first floor. On request: "La Torretta" a relax area with a 360° view and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Michele Hotel
San Michele Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing