We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
MikeKelly...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and can only repeat the glowing reviews of the refurbished farmhouse, the lovely pool and the setting in a large garden on the edge of the hamlet of San Lorenzo next to a small racehorse stable and with views of the rolling countryside but only a few minutes from good road and rail connections to most of the places you would want to visit in Tuscany and Umbria.

Michele is a fantastic host and really works hard to make your visit special. We were sad to leave and would love to go back again.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Dear Mike,
I enjoyed your review.
I'm so happy to read that our "engagement" is recognized;
I and my family have decided to host people (now 4 years) as our hobby summer.
I hope that in the coming years will spend a few more days to Cortona.
Our small Etruscan town is nice both in summer and winter.
See you soon ....
(Michele)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesmb15...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a great two weeks at Il Villinio and loved every moment. The location is a great base for exploring both Tuscany and parts of Umbria.
The owner, Michele, was extremely helpful and we were grateful for the gifts and flowers he left after his morning visits.
The villa is a home from home and very well equipped. The garden and terraces provide plenty of space to soak up the sun or to have shade and the pool is a real bonus. The main bedroom and bathroom are very spacious.
Most basics are provided from BBQ fuel to soaps, shampoo and toiletries so you can just sit back, enjoy and relax
The whole experience exceeded our high expectations!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Dear Jim and Marian,

Thank you very much for your stay here and for your patience.
I hope to see again in Cortona next years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty much a self catering hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just got back from staying at this villa and it was all we had hoped and read about.

Michele, the owner, is very attentive and comes by every other day to clean the pool and leaves gifts of wine, pastries, flowers etc. You won't hear him and he doesn't disturb you. A full clean and sheet change on the middle Saturday was a little early but we took the opportunity to visit Cortona while it was done.

The accomodation itself is exactly as you see it on the website and in the images. The master bedroom is large with plenty of storage and the air con is great to have. The ensuite bathroom is also a good size. The second bedroom is a more compact but perfect for children and another ensuite is welcome.

The living room is a little tight with as it has a table that seats 6, a sofabed and other furniture. The kitchen had everything we needed and the dishwasher saved on the washing up. Things that we would normally have had to buy were available to use, things like washing up liquid, napkins, dishwasher tablets etc. This was mirrored throughout the house as loo rolls, shower gel, shampoo, toothbrushes, shaving kits etc were also available. Lovely toweling robes were provided with slippers for a great touch of class.

Outside there is loads of room considering the accomodation is designed for 4. There are various seating areas and plenty of good quality sunbeds. Pool towels are also provided and ther are plenty of enflatables to keep the kids happy.

The location would be the only thing that marks this down as the neighboors have horses that are tended to by various people who come and go on scooters etc. It can be a little noisy but it's never at night. It's ideally placed for the main road and that can also be heard from the apartment. We got used to the rumble of traffic and it doesn't really detract from the accomodation on the whole. There are a number of supermarkets in close proximity in Camucia and Valdichiana outlet place is not far.

We had some interesting visitors of a frog in the pool, big toads and even a scorpion (not poisinous in Europe I think!) Lot sof butterflies and hawk moths around the flowers. We did have some run ins with a few mosquitos but no more than any other country.

All in all it met all our needs and certainly lived up to the expectations.

Minor point that could be changed, the checkout at 09:00 is a bit early....10:00 would be more reasonable. Whilst we loved the wine, pastries etc there was too much for us to eat drink ;0)

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janevert
Bovenkarspel, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect house , nice location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Everything was as it should be ; house , garden ,swimming pool, privacy,
price/quality,beautifull Tuscany and of course the perfect service!

Jan Evert and Lucienne (and 2 visiting friends)

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregory P
Ballasalla, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place, great host ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Were a family of four. It was our first stay in Tuscany and we absolutely loved Cortona which is a short drive from this villa. Michele the owner was such a superb host and the place so good for the price (you definitely need a car) we immediately rebooked a two week stay for July 15 and paid our deposit.

Michele visited every other morning very early to maintain the pool without disturbing us. We'd wake up and go outside to find gifts of wine pastries flowers and additional tourist guides to consider. I think he gave us about 4 bottles before we left! We loved the villa as it had the mid section as kitchen/lounge with a double bedroom and bathroom off one end and a twin room with ensuite the other for the kids. No bath though just 2 showers.

The pool was great with several sun loungers and 3 or 4 parasols. There was a shaded outside eating area and also a sitting area with garden furniture and parasol.

Kitchen equipment was pretty good but we didn't cook much - it's Italy right? Good food good prices .

Cortona isn't too big but very clean and quaint. You are about 45-60 minutes from Siena and Perugia and 2.5 hours from Rome. Florence is 1.5 but Michele recommended taking the train from nearby Camucia which wasn't expensive.

Lake Bolsena is close too.

Michele seemed to have thought of everything. The utility room on the back was great and he had loads of inflatables for the pool. He had all the cleaning aids and materials for the dishwasher, washing liquid, soaps, shower gels and shampoos, lovely dressing gowns and slipperettes.

The villa was pretty private and gated. Next door was a paddock where one neighbour kept some horses. There was another neighbour a short way down the road but they keep to themselves. In fairness the horse guy could be a bit of a nuisance sometimes - he'd be in and out of his paddock each day and pottering around often starting up one mechanized tool or another but Michele has enclosed the garden with a green cloth for privacy and if you just accept it's local life going on it's just fine. Garden views weren't too bad either.

So in summary we loved Cortona itself and felt this was such great value we had to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Dear Greg,

Many thank for your holiday at our house.
With great pleasure, we'll see you next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabrizio...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabrizio & Marianne”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Il villino di Cortona, is a very nice place with a lot of comforts, such as bicycles, outdoors toys for kids and swimming pool...the only thing you have to take care of, is relaxing :-)
The house and the garden are beautiful and very typical according to the original Tuscany style! Besides, Michele which is the owner of the place, is a very kind and discrete person, which is top quality for landlords that host guests for a limited period of time!
We will surely come back to il villino di Cortona for the years to come!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: In famiglia
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
... veramente molte molte grazie per la Vostra piacevole recensione.

Ci vediamo di nuovo in Toscana la prossima estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
350david
Genoa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super house in super location”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely house, clean and well organised. In a great location for visits to many of the historic towns and cities of the region. Road access good. Michele the owner could not do enough to help. The restaurant La Diligence is 4 minutes away, and does great food at good prices. Would recommend without hesitation for a quiet and restful time in Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Had a cloudy day - does that count?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing