We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$194
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
US$381
US$354
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borgo il Melone(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Luca(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$260
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Loggio(Cignano)
US$374
US$302
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
332
103
45
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
103
45
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starcooking schoolwine tourupper terracejunior suitecooking classmichelin restaurantthe ownerfood and winelane roadbeautiful settingmain buildingcooking courseviews are spectacularour honeymoonolive treespasta
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I had one of the best vacations at Il Falconiere in June of 2009. I can't stop thinking about going back and even hope to have a destination wedding here someday!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruffybean718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We were so disillusioned that we left our non-refundable room one night early and they wanted to charge us an early termination fee! Our package was pay for 2, get the third night for free. When we told them we were leaving early, they made a big deal of the fact that they weren't going to charge us an early departure fee - incredible!

After 2 weeks traveling in lovely hotels across Italy, we arrived at Il Falconiere. We asked if there were any nicer rooms available as we were willing to pay for an upgrade. We were told that the entire hotel was booked.

Our room was on the first floor of the main building. It had a great view as we stepped out into the terrace but then we noticed a pile of construction debris and cardboard boxes. As we settled in for a quick nap, we realized that there were large water stains in the ceiling above our head from the room above and you could hear everything right outside your door! On our first morning, we awoke to the sound of someone urinating in the toilet above our heads. The bathroom has a small cheap plastic corner shower one installs in low rent apartments and zero counter space.

We were moved to an upper level room on the second night (even though they had no availability initially) and while the room was nicer, the bathroom and shower were the same as the one from the ground floor.

After telling staff that we were going to be leaving a day early, they told us that they would upgrade us (even though they had no availability initially) and that they would not be charging us the early departure fee!

The highlight was dinner which was delicious. The wine tasting was fun but they charge 25 Euros per person. Fine but really should be refunded with purchases. On the second night, we went to the restaurant for dessert and drinks. After 30 minutes and 3 requests for a dessert menu, we gave up and headed for the room deciding to leave in the morning.

The staff was the rudest and the room experience was the worst in our 4 weeks of traveling.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stonepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Very calm and nice surronding in the Cortona country side.
The Relais has a michelin one-star restaurant with very good food and wine. The breakfeast is extremely disapointing: with such a good restaurant and local produce we would expect fresh and home made product (fresh organge juice ect...).
The service and facilities are not to the level of a Relais et Chateaux, thus the value for money is poor.

Room Tip: Rooms are small
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACandEdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Guest,
every opinion is very important for me to be better and better, I see that your appreciacions are just for the restaurant, you didn't like anything else: room, comfort, cleaness, breakfast. Maybe Il Falconiere is not the kind of hotel you like, after many years I have had many guests who love and follow us, so my goal is make happy everybody, but could happen that our Relais is not the ideal place for someone.
Truly Yours
Silvia Baracchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a 2 night stay at Il Falconiere, and it was really enjoyable. You should have a car to stay here. The breakfasts were good, the property is large with a lovely spa that we viewed but did not use. We did take a 3 .5 hour cooking class and it was the highlight of our two weeks in Italy! The food was exquisite, and the chef was fabulous. The experience with the class went far beyond our expectations.
Our room was tiny. (Teeny tiny, actually) All in all a lovely experience.
The town of Cortona itself (2-3 km by car, I don't think there was any public transportation) is simply excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candj39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I run the world's largest and oldest cybersafety group, and travel frequently. When I travel for leisure, I am very picky, since I have such little time for that. This hotel was incredible. We intend to return for a week or more in the Fall with friends. The food is incredible, fresh, imaginative and delicious. It ranks among my favorite restaurants in the world. The chef used zucchini flowers we had found at the market to make us two dishes, as a courtesy. They veal was fork tender, they serve special honey and marmalades with their chesse selection an their own wines include the best white we have ever had.
The rooms are storybook-like, in a stone villa and a central sittingroom. At the top of a hill, outside of Cortona (much easier to park and get around), the views are breathtaking.
The staff, management and the chef/co-owner was gracious, attentive and went out of their way to address our needs. The waiter slept on the premises to make sure we had a hot breakfast before we left. Their breakfast buffet included proscuitto, chesses, fresh fruit and fresh baked items, plus hot eggs with fillings of our choice.
My husband explained that I had always wanted to work with falcons and they arranged for use to hold her and watch her fly.
They have a spa, but we didn't use it.
We recommend this very highly!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Some in private villas.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parryaftab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews