We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds; room OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The property is very nice and the views of the valley with the sun setting a dinner were beautiful. Breakfasts were very nice. We were a bit disappointed with our room given the price. The service was very good and everyone was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Silvia Baracchi Chef&Owner
Dear Christory,
thank you for your nice review, I see you like everythink: the room, the setting, the breakfats and the sunset. Our prices reflect the average of a 4 stars country relais, Il Falconiere is an authentic gem in Tuscany, is unique for story, location and art of hospitality. I and my husband with the help of our son are always at disposal of our guests to understand more and better their wishes in order to have a memorable vacation. Please visit our web site to find some special offers and discover more about our world.
Greetings from Cortona
Silvia Baracchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is charming and set on the vineyardsin the Tuscan hills. The rooms are quiant and clean. There is a very nice pool. The food is the best of my life, paired with a superb red wine of the house , Ardito. We tasted a wanderful brut as well. Cortona, Sienna, Montepulcino and many famous Tuscan cities are very close. I hope to come back!....soon...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corallina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment we arrived at the foot of the driveway we were in awe of the wonder that is Il Falconiere. The reception staff were hugely knowledgeable about the region and the restaurant staff were equally helpful and able to recommend fantastic combinations of food and wine. The rooms were romantic with a lovely view across the vineyards and olive groves. The food was fantastic, same for the breakfast. Spa treatments outstanding and perfect for a couple. The wine tasting with Benedito, the owner, was amazing!A truly indulgent week!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have recently stayed at 'Il Falconiere' for the third time. We were hosted in a beautiful junior suite elegantly furnished. Again we found that this family run hotel provides the unique atmosphere of being cared for in an old Tuscan mansion surrounded by nature, olive trees, pines and vineyards. Friendly and attentive service. The restaurant deserves another review.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent four nights on our second visit to this wonderful hotel. It has a unique feel to it in that it is a complex of buildings beautifully restored and in its own private walled setting. Our room was a very decent size (we were given a choice of a couple of rooms), everything was clean and well-taken cared of. We did a wine tasting, used the spa, and enjoyed the entire site. The staff was extremely helpful and suggested a great cooking lesson with Chef Titi. Breakfast was absolutely over the top, but we felt that since our last visit in 2006, the food and service is, If possible, much better. We used this hotel as our base to visit many of the hill towns nearby and we love the atmosphere and the facilities. The best in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We spent two nights at Il Falconiere as part of our time in Tuscany. The hotel is unique and ideally located for exploring all the countryside villages in Tuscany, As a compliment to our honeymoon we had an upgrade on our room and a bottle of champagne made on the estate. The complex was an old villa and now everything is part of the hotel. They have their own vineyard and wine tasting sessions. The food was very tasteful and the afternoons by the swimming pool in the spa were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would like to thank all of them for our wonderful time. We will return to Il Falconiere for sure.

Room Tip: Junior suite was perfect for honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Upon our arrival we new we were someplace special. From the most romantic room we have ever stayed in (Rm 11) to the service we were given, our stay was truly magical in every sense of the word. The spa was exceptional and our meals were amazing. We had such a wonderful time we will be returning for our 26th anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Junior Suite, connected to the Church. Absolutely Beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
3.8 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
673 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
449 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#8 of 23 in Cortona
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Falconiere & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Address: Case Sparse San Martino Bocena 370, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £189 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Il Falconiere & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Tuscan villa which dates back to the 17th century was the home of the famous poet Antonio Guadagnoli. Now completely restored and transformed into a countryside Relais, it is part of the prestigious chain Relais & Châteaux, which exuberates the art of hospitality.In the restaurant, in the kitchen, at the reception, dedicated to taking care of the needs of our guests ,we are proud to offer everyday our availability and our specialties, improving them continuously. The art of refining quality is achieved by caring about details that make a difference.An ideal setting for those who love the beauty of the countryside, the atmosphere of the Relais is quaint with characteristic old-fashioned Tuscan charm. The twenty-two rooms are elegantly furnished-each unique in color and décor and reflecting the classic, refined style of important Tuscan homes. A few rooms are in the antique villa, some attached to the villa’s chapel and others in the cottage. All share the view of the magical landscape of the Cortonese countryside and are fully furbished with every modern comfort.La THESAN ETRUSCAN SPA has the goal of reawakening all of your senses through the harmony of the environment and the flavours and tastes of Tuscany.The Etruscan Thesan Spa guides you to discover the true relaxation, with a unique and unrepeatable involving all five senses. A wellness Trail where the two basic elements - water and heat - are skilfully combined with lights, sounds and colours therapeutic to optimize the relaxation. Exclusive for Officina Profumo Santa Maria Novella of Florence. Behind each of our actions is the desire to spark an unforgettable emotion: a recipe with delicate and persistent aromas, a special and rare decoration, the vistas leaving you breathless and astonished, the warm welcome that makes you feel as though you belong.. all of this will take you to the primordial feelings of pleasure. Staying with us will leave you with everlasting memories.The restaurant is on two floors with a glass and wrought-iron conservatory, overlooking the outside dining terrace with its ancient fishpond and rose-clad pergola. The cooking, which is personally supervised by Silvia, with the help of the head Chef Richard Titi, has succeeded in creating new temptations, using original and traditional recipes to create a marvelous cuisineaccompanied by great wines. “Il Falconiere” is situated in a quiet, elevated, rural location amid vineyards and olive groves. It enjoys enviable views of the Val di Chiana to the west, and Cortona, the ancient Etruscan hill town just three kilometers to the south. The Relais is ideally located for short trips to some of the most famous art cities of central Italy, such as Arezzo, Perugia, Siena, Florence and Assisi, all within in an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Il Falconiere & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Falconiere Cortona
Relais Il Falconiere Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing