We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed in this area of Tuscany for two weeks during August and were hoping a dining experience at the Falconiere would be the gastronomic highlight of our trip. Apart from the food which is definitely not Michelin star standard, we did not receive the level of service you would expect from a restaurant with this reputation. Our fish starters was border line high. The white wine was warm for tasting. We never saw it again until the main course arrived when my husband asked for the ice bucket to be relocated to our table so we could serve our own wine which we did throughout the meal. Our over cooked lamb main course was served with blunt knives with a dollop of watery spinach on the side and a few scattered mushrooms. The focaccia bread was stale, two of the pre desserts were frozen. The toilets were filthy. The terrace dining furniture is wrought iron with no seat cushions. Now, I admit as a family we are all above average height but this seating was back breaking for us all, my husband had to sit with his legs out to the side the whole meal. We all could not wait to leave, which we did without any acknowledgement from the staff, for both service and food this is the worst Michelin star we have ever been to. The only upside is the view!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kizzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Owner at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
From Silvia Baracchi Chef and Owner
Dear Kizzy19,
thank you for the time you dedicate to write a review about Il Falconire, seems you are talking about an other place! Yes we have iron furniture in the terrace but we have nice cushions cream and green color , very comfortable everyday!!!
Waiters and our sommelier Gianni are always very kind and professional, the wine is always at the perfect temperature, we have a beautiful cellar where we can collect red wine and special refrigerators for the white wine.
Toilets are the mirror of every restaurant, and ours are perfectly cleaned and more we pay attention to the hygiene of them.
About the meal we love to cook fresh seasonal ingredients, at the end is very easy realize excellent dishes with fresh fish, free range meat, local organic vegetables and more , I’m sorry your personal taste is so far from our style!
Maybe it was a wrong day for you and I’m sorry for your negative experience , I hope to have a second chance to confirm my statement and quality.
Greetings
Silvia Baracchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    89
    38
    26
    13
See reviews for
55
286
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We just returned from a one night stay at Il Falconiere. Let me start with the positive. The setting is truly gorgeous and the location, just 3 kilometers from the lovely little town of Cortona, can't be beat. We had a beautiful suite which accomodated our whole family (2 adults/3 kids), and a private terrace looking out across to Cortona, just gorgeous! That said, there are a number of other similar hotels in Tuscany, and I chose Il Falconiere for three reasons: the Michelin-starred restaurant, the opportunity to do a tour of the vineyard and winery owned by the same family, and the fact that they could arrange horseback riding as an activity. Well, three strikes on all of those. First, although I had arranged a reservation at the restaurant weeks ahead of time, when we actually go there we were told that the restaurant wouldn't be serving that night and instead they were doing a buffet dinner, for the 'bargain' price of 90 euros per adult and 50 euros per child. I wouldn't have minded paying those prices to eat in the actual restaurant, but it was wildly exorbitant for a buffet. The antipasti were excellent, but then after that, dinner consisted just of plain meats on a grill, all of which were barely cooked at all (and this coming from someone who loves a rare steak, but you really can't eat chicken that's still pink all the way through!). With regard to the winery tour, I was told that I didn't need to make reservations ahead of time, and just to ask at the front desk when we arrived. But when we got there, we were told that they could only do a winery tour if one of the owners was available, and it turned out that they weren't. No one ever told us ahead of time that it was going to be iffy on whether we'd be able to do this activity or not. Finally, when I tried to arrange with the hotel ahead of time for horseback riding, the word back was that we'd only be able to do an indoor riding lesson because my kids aren't experienced riders. What's the point of going to Tuscany and having a riding lesson indoors?! I've been on tons of trail rides before where there were inexperienced riders and never seen a problem before. I recognize that it wasn't the hotel's fault that the barn they were dealing with had these restrictions, but I felt that the hotel's website wildly over-promised on the activities that would be available and then under-performed. But, again, it is a beautiful property and I can't say we had a bad experience, just one that was disappointing given the price and the advance hype.
Also, I'm not quite sure why so many people have raved about the breakfast -- I didn't find it anything other than the normal contintental breakfast buffet. Some nice pastries and fresh fruit, but really nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Owner at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
from Silvia Baracchi Chef Owner
Dear UGWilliams
Thank you for your review, and yes I remember perfectly your family with three very nice kids!
You stayed in my hotel for “Ferragosto” I mean August 15th , it is vacation day all over of Italy, it is a very special occasion end every family and restaurant are used to organize a traditional party with special menu and barbeque. It was good occasion for us to propose to our guests something different from the normal dinner “a la carte”. On the buffet there was a huge variety of appetizers and pasta, cheese and cakes; in our BBQ many variety of free range meat: lamb, beef, chicken, pork and skewers , grilled vegetable and typical sauces. I remember that you refused to get off from the table to see and choose your meal, for that maybe the cooking of your meat were not as you like! Aperitif, white and red wine matched with the food, a final toast and at the end many flying lanterns to send your wishes on the sky. All of our guests appreciated a lot that evening! I’m sorry don’t come up to your expectations, the same for the wine tour and the horse riding. Maybe the reception didn’t realize the special date, I’m sorry for that because we try to do the best efforts to make happy every guest!!
Our breakfast is unique with fresh fruit, local cut and cheese, home made cakes, yogurt, jam and pastry. We prepare every morning bread and croissants. Mozzarella and tomatoes coming from our vegetable garden. Fresh fruit juice and smoothies. On request omelette and eggs prepared in many different ways. It is a really gorgeous Tuscan breakfast!
I wait you and your nice family in an other period to enjoy our cuisine a la carte and many activities we are used to offer!
Silvia Baracchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Arrived to a nice welcome,had a quick look at the beautiful views from the grounds of the hotel then taken to our room, we had a deluxe room which was spacious with a large comfortable bed and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath, the room is in an old part of the hotel dating back to the 16th century so small windows and high ceilings but very nice and of course AC. The family who own the hotel and all the staff are very friendly, the pool is wonderful, large and I had it to myself for a few days, used the spa had a very nice massage and then a swim in the pool, we used the restaurant one evening, we had drinks in the wine room which has sofas and you are surrounded by some fantastic wines, we tried the wine of the owners with our dinner which was excellent as was the food. All in all a fabulous hotel with bags of character (read old), if you want ultra modern, contemporary design etc, stay in a big city,if you want peace and quiet with stunning scenery, friendly people, excellent food and wine, try here, we plan to go back.

Room Tip: one of our group has a disabilty so the room which was a suite wasnt suitable as it was at the top o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had dinner here while staying at another hotel.
The Falconiere is a very nice resort, and the staff is very friendly, we were welcomed by the owner.
The restaurant is the best we experienced during our Tuscany trip, and it was great to have some interesting fish/seafood suggestions after a week of meat. The food is presented in a creative way, and only top ingredients are used. Wine list is comprehensive and well priced. We enjoyed a great evening in a great setting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The property is very nice and the views of the valley with the sun setting a dinner were beautiful. Breakfasts were very nice. We were a bit disappointed with our room given the price. The service was very good and everyone was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Silvia Baracchi Chef&Owner
Dear Christory,
thank you for your nice review, I see you like everythink: the room, the setting, the breakfats and the sunset. Our prices reflect the average of a 4 stars country relais, Il Falconiere is an authentic gem in Tuscany, is unique for story, location and art of hospitality. I and my husband with the help of our son are always at disposal of our guests to understand more and better their wishes in order to have a memorable vacation. Please visit our web site to find some special offers and discover more about our world.
Greetings from Cortona
Silvia Baracchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is charming and set on the vineyardsin the Tuscan hills. The rooms are quiant and clean. There is a very nice pool. The food is the best of my life, paired with a superb red wine of the house , Ardito. We tasted a wanderful brut as well. Cortona, Sienna, Montepulcino and many famous Tuscan cities are very close. I hope to come back!....soon...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corallina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment we arrived at the foot of the driveway we were in awe of the wonder that is Il Falconiere. The reception staff were hugely knowledgeable about the region and the restaurant staff were equally helpful and able to recommend fantastic combinations of food and wine. The rooms were romantic with a lovely view across the vineyards and olive groves. The food was fantastic, same for the breakfast. Spa treatments outstanding and perfect for a couple. The wine tasting with Benedito, the owner, was amazing!A truly indulgent week!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
2.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.4 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#11 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Falconiere & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Property: Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Address: Case Sparse San Martino Bocena 370, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Il Falconiere & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Tuscan villa which dates back to the 17th century was the home of the famous poet Antonio Guadagnoli. Now completely restored and transformed into a countryside Relais, it is part of the prestigious chain Relais & Châteaux, which exuberates the art of hospitality.In the restaurant, in the kitchen, at the reception, dedicated to taking care of the needs of our guests ,we are proud to offer everyday our availability and our specialties, improving them continuously. The art of refining quality is achieved by caring about details that make a difference.An ideal setting for those who love the beauty of the countryside, the atmosphere of the Relais is quaint with characteristic old-fashioned Tuscan charm. The twenty-two rooms are elegantly furnished-each unique in color and décor and reflecting the classic, refined style of important Tuscan homes. A few rooms are in the antique villa, some attached to the villa’s chapel and others in the cottage. All share the view of the magical landscape of the Cortonese countryside and are fully furbished with every modern comfort.La THESAN ETRUSCAN SPA has the goal of reawakening all of your senses through the harmony of the environment and the flavours and tastes of Tuscany.The Etruscan Thesan Spa guides you to discover the true relaxation, with a unique and unrepeatable involving all five senses. A wellness Trail where the two basic elements - water and heat - are skilfully combined with lights, sounds and colours therapeutic to optimize the relaxation. Exclusive for Officina Profumo Santa Maria Novella of Florence. Behind each of our actions is the desire to spark an unforgettable emotion: a recipe with delicate and persistent aromas, a special and rare decoration, the vistas leaving you breathless and astonished, the warm welcome that makes you feel as though you belong.. all of this will take you to the primordial feelings of pleasure. Staying with us will leave you with everlasting memories.The restaurant is on two floors with a glass and wrought-iron conservatory, overlooking the outside dining terrace with its ancient fishpond and rose-clad pergola. The cooking, which is personally supervised by Silvia, with the help of the head Chef Richard Titi, has succeeded in creating new temptations, using original and traditional recipes to create a marvelous cuisineaccompanied by great wines. “Il Falconiere” is situated in a quiet, elevated, rural location amid vineyards and olive groves. It enjoys enviable views of the Val di Chiana to the west, and Cortona, the ancient Etruscan hill town just three kilometers to the south. The Relais is ideally located for short trips to some of the most famous art cities of central Italy, such as Arezzo, Perugia, Siena, Florence and Assisi, all within in an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Il Falconiere & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Falconiere Cortona
Relais Il Falconiere Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing