We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, so so property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice view, so so property”
Reviewed 2 April 2008

The views from the property were spectacular and we had a lovely vegetarian meal (the tasting menu) at their restaurant. That said, there isn't much to the property itself and it was overpriced for what we received. Based on the website, I was looking forward to a place where we could lounge for a day or two after vigorous sight seeing, but the property just isn't set up for that. In addition, there was a lot of construction going on so workers were always running about. I enjoyed the views, but wouldn't go back - the room wasn't worth the money.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dclawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    90
    38
    26
    13
See reviews for
55
296
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, TEXAS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

The 2nd most expensive hotel we had while in Italy. I was completely and thoroughly disappointed. The pictures in the brochure were obviously taken somewhere else!!

Our room was musty, stains on the couch, the TV remote was held together with duct tape and we were only give one day's worth of soap, shampoo, etc for a 3 night stay. Our room was pretty far away from the restaurant and we had to walk in the rain due to the hotel car being "broken down". For the price we paid, it wasn't worth it.

The one wonderful thing about the property is the restaurant, the food. It was incredible and probably the best we had while in Italy. The cooking class is also spectacular. My advice is to stay somewhere else and eat a meal at this hotel.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandiLongview_TEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Stayed in one of this inn's "villa" rooms. Better stated as a farmhouse. Location is beautiful, but that's it. There are ten rooms with two hundred year old double doors. Skeleton keys and rickety doors wake you up the entire night. No privacy, you can hear people talk, cough and go to the bathroom. At $270E($400U.S.D.) this was robbery. Snobby owners, not friendly as advertised! At check-in, Silvia asked us very annoyingly why we didn't want to eat dinner at the restaurant. She didn't ask how our trip was or describe about the inn's property, or speak about Cortona, she just wanted to book us a table at their restaurant. I wanted to say that I couldn't bear giving them one more Euro, but why be rude. Finally, the bedding and linen are old, requires updating. Unpleasant stall shower, an average sized person would find it difficult to navigate. I don't comprehend why anyone would think this place is Romantic or is Luxury accommodations!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank calicheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

My husband and I recently stayed at Il Falconiere for four nights and had an overall pleasant stay. The property's location is within one of the Barachi's vineyards and affords beautiful views of the countryside and of Cortona. We have been fortunate to be able to stay at several Relais & Chateau properties in France and we were looking forward to our stay at this hotel given our past experience with this hotel line.

We stayed in a suite ("La Cantina") our first night and it was located in the same building as their winery. The suite had two large rooms, large loft, nice bathroom, and wonderful patio with beautiful views. But, there was traffic (vehicle and pedestrian) in and out of the winery and for $570 Euros a night, a bit more privacy would have been expected.

We then moved to a classic room in one of the main buildings (Room #7) for three nights and it was comfortable enough considering that this was their least expensive room category. The room had good lighting (both natural and lamp wise) and the bed was fine.

The staff was very welcoming - both the front desk (provided excellent day trip suggestions and restaurant ideas) and the restaurant (wait staff and food were fine). We ate dinner at the hotel two evenings and had enjoyable meals. Service was exceptional.

Overall we had a pleasant stay yet compared to other Relais & Chateau properties, Il Falconiere did come up a bit short. Specifically, the towels were very thin and small, the bed sheets were scratchy (it would have been nice to have a featherbed top), toiletries were not refreshed daily, and Room #7's shower stall leaked water all over the floor when taking a shower. Additionally, small touches such as a note to the next day's weather, chocolates with turn down service, and the option of having coffee/tea room service delivered in the mornings via a door card would have been appreciated.

As far as recommending the property, I would say a general yes yet the hotel is a bit lower in caliber compared to the French Relais & Chateau properties. btw, we did not encounter any insect issues in the rooms!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — A bit below in par compared to other Relais & Chateau properties
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

Beautiful hotel. Staff not as helpful as they could be, don't expect much.
Room is amazing, bathrooms are small but clean. Food and alcohol are very pricey. Girl that makes the omelets in the morning is FANTASTIC! Great omeletes and she is very friendly.
restaurant on site is beautiful.

  • Liked — view, food, quaintness, outdoor fitness
  • Disliked — Once your there your on your own, staff doesnt know anything about wineries in area, etc.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scolona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellene
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Four of us stayed at Il Falconiere and we had two rooms, both in the main estate building. My sister and I had the top room and it was very quaint. My two teenage girls had room #3 and it was more spacious than ours. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful and the chef derserves the Michelin star. Breakfast was on the terrace and the staff was very attentive. The front desk staff was very helpful with finding out travel information. I would recommend this villa to anyone travelling to Tuscany!!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Stzaf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Il Falconiere is delightful! My wife and I have traveled extensively in Europe. In May 2007 we spent three nights at Relais Il Falconiere, and it is our new favorite place. We had a spacious room (room 5) in the main estate building (some 200-plus years old). We were awakened each morning by the neighborhood rooster, accompanied by a veritable symphony of birds. We ate dinner twice in their restaurant. The “Chef’s Tasting Menu” on our first night proved that their Michelin star is justly deserved. Il Falconiere is a great base for daytrips to Cortona, Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza, Montichiello, Arezzo, and nearby Umbria. So don’t “Fear the Falcon” as a previous reviewer suggested. Instead sit back, relax, and enjoy great food and wine of Toscana. Ciao!

  • Liked — A relaxing haven between daytrips in Tuscany
  • Disliked — Below average air conditioning, but not needed in May
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
2.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Falconiere & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Property: Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Address: Case Sparse San Martino Bocena 370, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Il Falconiere & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Tuscan villa which dates back to the 17th century was the home of the famous poet Antonio Guadagnoli. Now completely restored and transformed into a countryside Relais, it is part of the prestigious chain Relais & Châteaux, which exuberates the art of hospitality.In the restaurant, in the kitchen, at the reception, dedicated to taking care of the needs of our guests ,we are proud to offer everyday our availability and our specialties, improving them continuously. The art of refining quality is achieved by caring about details that make a difference.An ideal setting for those who love the beauty of the countryside, the atmosphere of the Relais is quaint with characteristic old-fashioned Tuscan charm. The twenty-two rooms are elegantly furnished-each unique in color and décor and reflecting the classic, refined style of important Tuscan homes. A few rooms are in the antique villa, some attached to the villa’s chapel and others in the cottage. All share the view of the magical landscape of the Cortonese countryside and are fully furbished with every modern comfort.La THESAN ETRUSCAN SPA has the goal of reawakening all of your senses through the harmony of the environment and the flavours and tastes of Tuscany.The Etruscan Thesan Spa guides you to discover the true relaxation, with a unique and unrepeatable involving all five senses. A wellness Trail where the two basic elements - water and heat - are skilfully combined with lights, sounds and colours therapeutic to optimize the relaxation. Exclusive for Officina Profumo Santa Maria Novella of Florence. Behind each of our actions is the desire to spark an unforgettable emotion: a recipe with delicate and persistent aromas, a special and rare decoration, the vistas leaving you breathless and astonished, the warm welcome that makes you feel as though you belong.. all of this will take you to the primordial feelings of pleasure. Staying with us will leave you with everlasting memories.The restaurant is on two floors with a glass and wrought-iron conservatory, overlooking the outside dining terrace with its ancient fishpond and rose-clad pergola. The cooking, which is personally supervised by Silvia, with the help of the head Chef Richard Titi, has succeeded in creating new temptations, using original and traditional recipes to create a marvelous cuisineaccompanied by great wines. “Il Falconiere” is situated in a quiet, elevated, rural location amid vineyards and olive groves. It enjoys enviable views of the Val di Chiana to the west, and Cortona, the ancient Etruscan hill town just three kilometers to the south. The Relais is ideally located for short trips to some of the most famous art cities of central Italy, such as Arezzo, Perugia, Siena, Florence and Assisi, all within in an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Il Falconiere & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Falconiere Cortona
Relais Il Falconiere Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing