We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Treasure: A Weekend with the Baracchi's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tuscan Treasure: A Weekend with the Baracchi's”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Relais Il Falconiere in May and then in October of 2013, each time for 3 nights. On the first visit we were so taken with the views of the Valdichiana and Cortona and our senses so overwhelmed that we needed a second visit to taste it more slowly. On neither occasion did we stay in the main house as we enjoyed the walking and feeling of having our own mini-villa. Highlights included the food in the restaurant - Silvia Baracchi was ever present and delightfully charming. The wine tasting hosted by Ricardo was fascinating and amusing. It was a special treat to meet others there and when you get to a special place like this, there are just a couple degrees of separation. We enjoyed the vigorous walk up the Cortona hillside. We will return, although the setting is so magical, we fear it is like Brigadoon and may only appear every so often in the Tuscan mist.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a modern bathroom - the rooms vary a lot but this exists
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashnickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Mr Scashnick,
thank you very much for your beautiful review, I hope to see again in my hotel very soon! Guests like you are absolutely adorable!
Greetings Silvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    98
    41
    26
    15
See reviews for
60
318
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

What used to be an old villa became one of the most charming and romantic scapes right in the heart of Tuscany. Awesome rooms, superb service and unbelievable wines produced in the property. The views are stunning and the surroundings are beautiful. There are a handful of famous little towns at less than an hour of the hotel. Rooms are amazing. The food at restaurant was delicious. Book this resort and look forward to memories you will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Staying here for one night as part of a business trip in Tuscany was a shame only in that it was just one night.

Nestling in the hills a short distance from Cortona Il Falconiere is more than just a restaurant with rooms. The rooms are scattered round the property and whilst some are on the small side I was pleased to stay in Room 1 in the main house. This is a cosy double room with pastel colours a lovely jacuzzi bath and a warm feeling to it. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice though.

There is a large external swimming pool (not heated) and a small spa which was very comfortable.

Further up the hill is the winery block where there are other rooms and cooking classes also take place.

The Baracchi family are really charming hosts and the Michelin starred restaurant was of a very high standard with very well presented and tasty food with good service all round.

Although Il Falconiere is not cheap it is a lovely place and one which I would certainly like to return to.

Room Tip: Some rooms bigger than others. Those in the winery block are excellent and ground floor rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfranks911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodmere, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

If you are looking for hotel in Tuscany that offers the highest level of service in a magnificent setting, look no further. Although our stay there was only two nights, we can't wait to return. The hotel has the flavor of a classic Italian estate with incredible views of the Tuscan landscape and a huge array of fragrant trees, flowers, and herbs. Just walking around the grounds of the hotel is a feast for the senses and you can literally spend a whole day just enjoying the property. Our room was a suite and although housed within an old stone building, it has every modern amenity you could want.The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the lovely town of Cortona. While not inexpensive, a stay this hotel is worth every penny. If you want to treat yourselves for a few days, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We recently stayed at Relais Il Falconiere in a Junior Suite. The hotel has a beautiful location and great views. We chose the hotel as it was a Relais and Chateaux property so expected it to have a high overall standard.
The fine dining restaurant was excellent although service was not overly warm.
The terrace has wonderful views but there is no bar/waiter service so you need to find a passing waiter to take an order for drinks and can wait for some time before getting anyone's attention.
The staff are friendly and obliging and the reception staff were very helpful in finding activities for us.
Our main disappointment was with the quality of the accommodation. We booked a junior suite at a cost of almost 500 euros a night. The quality of the bed linen and towels are what you would expect in a 3 star hotel. We had to ask for better quality towels as on the first night they were thin and scratchy. The shower temperature fluctuated between hot and cold so you had to be careful not to get scalded or frozen (when this was checked we were told there was no issue with the thermostat). There was mould on the bathroom ceiling which was not appealing.
The air cooling was switched off and we were told that there is either a cooling or a heating system.
Whilst the hotel caters for an international audience there are two English language TV stations and when we asked if we could borrow a DVD player we were told that "this is not a modern hotel!"
Whilst the rooms have traditional character it does not mean that they should lack luxury or comfort.
When we expressed our concerns the hotel offered to reduce our rate to that of a deluxe room. However we would really have preferred to have had better quality accommodation instead and to have enjoyed our stay there more. We have stayed in other Relais and Chateaux properties and this certainly doesn't meet the expected standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HNR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Proprietario at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs NHR2013,
Thank you for your review, every comment helps us a lot to make better our job! Tuscany is a beautiful region rich of art, culture, history and good food; our town Cortona is into the centre of all of this. Guests who decide to stay with us are interested to be part of this world and discovering our beautiful landscape. Unfortunately your reservation didn’t include sunshine! I understand that a vacation in countryside with children is not easy in case of bad whether. It is the first time that a guest require a dvd and after your advice I have already bought! Just in case of next storm that could make difficult to stay at the openair and damage our tv system. About air conditioning it was so cold and wet that nobody required air conditioning. Most of the hotels, especially in historical buildings, have a centralized system of heating, and we do all the best to take care of the wishes of our guests. This time trying to do our best efforts we didn’t find a feeling with your family. I’m so sorry because our goal is make happy our clients. About the bar you are right, no service in the open bar, but just inside, cause bad wheather. About linen and towels we have the laundry inside the property and the softness and the scents are very fresh and smooth, it is not usually to find this high level of quality in most of the hotel of the world. I hope to have you again as our guest and have a second chance, maybe our shining Tuscan sun will help your stay.
Silvia Baracchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is in the country and strives for a country feel. The rooms are Italian country charm so if you like Modern, this will not be for you. We stayed in the house. The hotel grounds are beautiful and include pool, spa and vineyards. The views of the countryside cannot be beat. The restaraunt is excellent. The spa was okay and seemed a bit pricey. The service was excellent around the hotel and in the restaurant. The breakfast in the morning was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

There are so many wonderful things to say about Il Falconiere. Where should I begin.

Before our arrival, the front desk staff were always available to answer questions and organize our 1 week stay.

Upon arrival, we were shown to our incredible room beside the spa. We stayed in suite #11 which was absolutely stunning. Our friends stayed in the suite across from us, which was also incredible and our other friends stayed at the other end of the property in another suite and there's was exceptional too. You really can't go wrong when booking a suite.

Our first breakfast was fabulous. They have a selection of meats and cheeses, fruit and pastries and occasionally eggs and oatmeal. Whatever you want, they will do their best to accommodate you. Every morning they had slightly different selections of home made goodies. There is no shortage of incredible food in Il Falconiere.

Our first dinner with wine pairing was incredible. The food was presented beautifully, it tasted delicious and the wine paired with the meal was plentiful and wonderful. All of us were over the top impressed with our first meal. The service was first rate as well.

We were invited to attend another wine paired meal with a guest 2 star Michelin chef, the following night. The house was full of friends and family so we felt very special. We even met Edward Mayes, husband of the author Under the Tuscan Sun. The food was absolutely divine and the atmosphere was something we will remember forever. It was an incredibly special evening.

The next day the boys wanted to rent bikes and ride around the countryside. Il Falconiere organized the delivery of the bikes and recommended a route for them to take. Upon riding through the small streets of the area, the boys happened to bump into Riccardo, the owner of Il Falconiere, and he took them on a tour of his winery. He happened to be harvesting at the time so he put the boys to work mashing grapes. Another incredible and memorable experience.

Upon arrival home, we all had a half day of treatments in the incredibly relaxing spa on the property. It's absolutely stunning! The chaises around the pool are as comfortable as beds. The hot tub is big enough for a party and the staff really know what they are doing. Our massages and wraps and scrubs were perfect!

We even took a cooking course given by Sylvia, the owner of Il Falconiere and her Michelin star chef Richard. It was a great experience as well and that night, we ate what we had prepared, which looked and tasted incredible, thanks to the expert touches of these two professionals.

We didn't have one disappointment with our week long stay on the property. Usually I like to move around to try different places. But, if I am fortunate enough to return to Tuscany, I would return to Relais Il Falconiere in a heart beat! It was the best of the best!! No need to look any further.

Room Tip: Our room was fabulous, #11. But our friend's suites were wonderful as well. Can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKEVERYDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
733 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
391 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Falconiere & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Property: Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Address: Case Sparse San Martino Bocena 370, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Il Falconiere & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Tuscan villa which dates back to the 17th century was the home of the famous poet Antonio Guadagnoli. Now completely restored and transformed into a countryside Relais, it is part of the prestigious chain Relais & Châteaux, which exuberates the art of hospitality.In the restaurant, in the kitchen, at the reception, dedicated to taking care of the needs of our guests ,we are proud to offer everyday our availability and our specialties, improving them continuously. The art of refining quality is achieved by caring about details that make a difference.An ideal setting for those who love the beauty of the countryside, the atmosphere of the Relais is quaint with characteristic old-fashioned Tuscan charm. The twenty-two rooms are elegantly furnished-each unique in color and décor and reflecting the classic, refined style of important Tuscan homes. A few rooms are in the antique villa, some attached to the villa’s chapel and others in the cottage. All share the view of the magical landscape of the Cortonese countryside and are fully furbished with every modern comfort.La THESAN ETRUSCAN SPA has the goal of reawakening all of your senses through the harmony of the environment and the flavours and tastes of Tuscany.The Etruscan Thesan Spa guides you to discover the true relaxation, with a unique and unrepeatable involving all five senses. A wellness Trail where the two basic elements - water and heat - are skilfully combined with lights, sounds and colours therapeutic to optimize the relaxation. Exclusive for Officina Profumo Santa Maria Novella of Florence. Behind each of our actions is the desire to spark an unforgettable emotion: a recipe with delicate and persistent aromas, a special and rare decoration, the vistas leaving you breathless and astonished, the warm welcome that makes you feel as though you belong.. all of this will take you to the primordial feelings of pleasure. Staying with us will leave you with everlasting memories.The restaurant is on two floors with a glass and wrought-iron conservatory, overlooking the outside dining terrace with its ancient fishpond and rose-clad pergola. The cooking, which is personally supervised by Silvia, with the help of the head Chef Richard Titi, has succeeded in creating new temptations, using original and traditional recipes to create a marvelous cuisineaccompanied by great wines. “Il Falconiere” is situated in a quiet, elevated, rural location amid vineyards and olive groves. It enjoys enviable views of the Val di Chiana to the west, and Cortona, the ancient Etruscan hill town just three kilometers to the south. The Relais is ideally located for short trips to some of the most famous art cities of central Italy, such as Arezzo, Perugia, Siena, Florence and Assisi, all within in an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Relais Il Falconiere & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Falconiere Cortona
Relais Il Falconiere Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing