We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
360
110
48
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
110
48
28
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starwine tourcooking schooljunior suitecooking classfood and winetuscan countrysidebeautiful hotelour honeymoonolive treesmain buildingpastaday tripperfect tuscancooking lessonspectacular viewspastries
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2009

A wonderful place to stay and just what we were looking for.
Visiting often relais et chateaux in Europe, it was a long time ago since we were this surprised with the dinner at night.
Full of surprises, and very inventive but still pure 'cuisine' and those extras... go there to find out.
The rooms are indeed old but that is just what we are expecting in Toscane or do you prefer the cold mass production rooms of so many other chains.
We had a great time there and are looking forward to go back, and the staff are very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonvivants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I don't know what hotel everyone else is complaining about, but Il Falconiere was totally enchanting. My first trip to Italy, and this estate captured me! It was everything I dreamed of and more! The property was picture perfect. From the drive up the stone walled entrance, to the parking under the Wisteria covered parking spaces, to our wonderful greeting at the reception (by a girl who spoke very good English). If you don't want a skeleton key for a room key, don't visit. If you don't want church bells ringing in the distance, don't visit. If you don't want a breathtaking view of Cortona and hills of Tuscany, don't visit. If you don't want an AWESOME Spa experience, that was first class, don't visit. If you don't want a relaxing swim by the pool with views of Tuscany, don't visit. If you don't want fresh juice, natural granola, eggs anyway you like, with espresso, don't visit. If you don't want the most wonderful Tuscan pea soup, beef steak, rabbit, fresh olive oil, wine, food so fresh, you'll never shop in a grocery store again, don't visit. And then there's the winery! Private tour, complete with a tasting by Benedetto, whose passion for his wine went beyond taste and smell. It was an experience that I will remember for awhile. Sylvia seated us every meal, and was so personable and charming. Il Falconiere is classy, friendly, clean, enchanting, and will have you wanting more. They do have a cooking school that I will plan to attend on my next trip. Ciao!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

With Cortona as the backdrop, vineyards surrounding, and Italian gardens...what more could we ask for? Food was sublime, morning cappucinos with a tasty buffet started the day. THe front desk service was so helpful and called on our behalf to book ferry tickets to Elba. The secured the hotel reservations also. The owner gave us a full tour of the winery and the cooking school facility. Watching the Falcon hunt at sundown was an interesting sight as we sipped on a Wine Spectator rated red, I will bring groups back here for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwalkAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I wish we had read Trip Adviser before we decided to stay at il Falconiere as the mixed reviews would have warned us about this hotel but it had been recommended by friends who had stayed previously and had thought it ok . They had arranged to meet us at the Hotel and had checked in earlier in the day and were given a relatively nice modern junior suite. However there appeared to be only one like theirs. From the start we knew we would have problems with the front desk girl who showed us to our so called junior suite (room 11) which was just a large room with a couple of armchairs and was frankly a disgrace,especially the bathroom which was a windowless basement down a flight of stone steps. The only shower was a hand held attachment to the bath taps which didn't even stretch to the bracket and had no pressure at all. For a hotel of this alleged high standard and price not to have an adequate shower is unbelievable in 2009. Furthermore their other guests don't seem to need wardrobes or drawers and what they have was a relic of a bygone age. There was no lining paper in the drawers and most of the doors didn't close properly. Needless to say we asked to be shown another room but the front desk girl, who seemed to have an attitude problem, said there were none available. We therefore asked to see the manager and a more senior front desk girl (not the manager) duly appeared. We said we would be leaving unless they could offer us something more acceptable. All of a sudden a couple of other junior suites became available in another building ( an old farm house about 500 metres from the main buildings) although these we were shown were little better. However we were eventually shown a large 2 room suite which they offered us (to be fair at no extra cost) on the proviso that as this suite was booked by someone for the following night we vacated it at noon the following day, moved to an adjacent junior suite (which also didn't have a seperate shower) and then we could move back to the suite on our final night . Having viewed several junior suites and even the large suite we eventually stayed in we feel all needed renovation, especially the bathrooms, which were all tired and appeared at least 20 years old. As we had booked some time in advance, our friends seemed ok with their much better room and we were only staying 3 nights we accepted the offer of the suite (which did have 2 seperate bathrooms including a somewhat elderly but adequate walk-in shower ) despite the inconvenience of having to move in/move out /move in again each day! On the plus side the location and grounds (the Hotel is within a large vineyard with the town of Cortona on the distant hill) were lovely and most of the staff were friendly and efficient. The Hotel prides itself on its terrace restaurant where we dined with our friends once and were reasonably satisfied even though the choice was limited and the price very high. We ate elsewhere on the 2 other nights. Breakfast ,which was included in the rate was adequate but again with little choice although everything was fresh. The post script to all this is that on the last night we were finally introduced to the manager/owner who told us that following our comments they had a meeting and were going to upgrade all bathrooms! I can't believe it took us to point this problem out as they should have done this years ago and in any event any refurbishment should go far further than just the bathrooms. Incidentally we received no compensation for any inconvenience, not even a drink! Overall a huge disappointment !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masterspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

The accomodation was okay but the so called Michelin Star 1 Restaurant attached to the establishment well go to Cortona five minutes drive away and you will get better service and proper food. We waited over 1.5hrs for a main meal only and we were the second table in the restaurant at 8pm the only other table was a table of four when we first came in our meals were finaly served at 9.40pm and then we couldnt eat them. Very disheartening to say the least. Although the property is very pretty and the majority of the staff were pleasant I would advise you to take the effort to eat in Cortona at one of the many fine restaurants with out the flounce and fluff. Have to let you know my daughter after eating in the restaurant attached to Relais Il Falconiere got sick after the experience and ended up in hospital in Florence. The biggest floor in this place is the restaurant attached otherwise it would be a beautiful place to stay - maybe the chef and head waiters need to go to Cortona / Florence and learn about service and food . We went to Florence after staying at Relais Il Falconiere and stayed in a Villa/Hotel next to the Arno River and the Accomodation Staff the whole establishement was supurb, which was more expensive but worth every cent.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews