We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable views, relaxing atmosphere, lively staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Il Falconiere deserves the 5 stars! This family owned hotel surpasses all expectations and really has the comforting and relaxing feel that most big hotels lack. This place has a personality. Pictures cannot do this place justice.

Il Falconiere's views of Italy's Tuscan countryside are to-die-for. I've never seen anything like it, it truly is heavenly. They own an on-site vineyard, winery, and the Baracchi wines and Baracchi olive oils harvested at the hotel grounds are superb. After driving through the small roads to get atop the mountain to Il Falconiere (they offer quick taxi services), you meet with the very friendly and personable staff, and you might also get to see the family owned pet falcon; it's gorgeous. The Baracchi family and their staff truly know what they're doing, they see to it that all your needs are met, may it be for room service, jogging routes, or even next-stop hotel planning. The front desk is very attentive and knowledgable. This hotel is just a train ride away from Florence and Rome.

Every single room has it's own personality, very clean, tidy, and with updated bathrooms. They offer complimentary breakfast. Their huge spa facility offers a beautiful indoor/outdoor spa, and offers quality treatments that include some of Italy's natural resources. It's extremely relaxing. They also operate a restaurant on the hotel grounds, delicious.

Honestly, I could go on for days about this place, it is just that amazing! I wouldn't go anywhere else next time I'm in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharisseF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

A few weeks ago my wife, my 23 year old daughter and I stayed with the Baracchi family at their wonderful estate Il Falconiere. We have not stopped telling our friends about the beautiful four days we spent there. We were fortunate enough to be housed in the Vineyard Suite, a beautiful and well appointed little "villa" overlooking the vineyards, with a view across the valley to Cortona perched at the top of the hill. We used Il Falconiere as a base for day trips to Arezzo, Montepulciano, Montalcino and of course Cortona.
We could not have felt more welcome. Sylvia, Riccardo and Ben are gracious hosts and they supervise one of the best "hotels" we have ever visited.
Make sure you take a tour of the winery and sample the Baracchi wines. The 2006 Ardito has been recognized internationally as a superb wine scoring well into the 90's by Wine Spectator reviewers. My wife and daughter spent a wonderful afternoon with Syvia at her cooking school preparing a sumptious meal which was served to us under the stars in their Michelin One star restaurant accompanied by their own excellent wines....it was an evening we will never forget.
If you are looking for the perfect Tuscan country experience either to relax after the heat and hurry of Rome or to collect yourself before blitzing Florence you cannot do better than Il Falconiere. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Unfortunately, I was here just before the spa was open so I did not get to experience it. I plan on returning and spending more time this year and can't wait. Service was excellent and so was the hospitality of Benedetto, Sylvia and Ricardo. The room was beautiful with views of Cortona and breakfast was served either inside or out on the lawn. The owners asked me to join them for dinner in their restaurant and it was one of the best meals of my trip. Wines are great too! Even go to open one with a sword!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Il_Falconiere, Manager at Relais Il Falconiere & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for your special review. When we received the comments like your we are enjoy about our job.
We look forward to welcoming you again here with us at Il Falconiere in order to join our Thesan Spa.

Best Regards,

Baracchi Family and the all staff of Il Falconiere Thesan Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

I Recently Stayed In Il falconiere and It was fabulous ! From My booking weeks ago up until check out the staff in every sector of the hotel were extremely friendly , courteous and professional . I participated in the cooking school and having just participated in a michelin star school in France and another in Marrakech , I can say Il falconiere is my favorite ! Maybe i am biased as I love Italy and speak Italian but I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and cooking school to anybody . The English translator ( which was provided for my friend) is a lovely American Lady named Amy who is married to an Italian and has been in Tuscany for 20 years. We prepared and cooked 4 courses as well as extra bits and pieces which were all served to us in the restaurant a few hours later paired with different wines for each course. A thoroughly enjoyable experience and i cannot wait to go back for a longer stay .

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIOAMOREUNICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

A wonderful place to stay and just what we were looking for.
Visiting often relais et chateaux in Europe, it was a long time ago since we were this surprised with the dinner at night.
Full of surprises, and very inventive but still pure 'cuisine' and those extras... go there to find out.
The rooms are indeed old but that is just what we are expecting in Toscane or do you prefer the cold mass production rooms of so many other chains.
We had a great time there and are looking forward to go back, and the staff are very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonvivants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I don't know what hotel everyone else is complaining about, but Il Falconiere was totally enchanting. My first trip to Italy, and this estate captured me! It was everything I dreamed of and more! The property was picture perfect. From the drive up the stone walled entrance, to the parking under the Wisteria covered parking spaces, to our wonderful greeting at the reception (by a girl who spoke very good English). If you don't want a skeleton key for a room key, don't visit. If you don't want church bells ringing in the distance, don't visit. If you don't want a breathtaking view of Cortona and hills of Tuscany, don't visit. If you don't want an AWESOME Spa experience, that was first class, don't visit. If you don't want a relaxing swim by the pool with views of Tuscany, don't visit. If you don't want fresh juice, natural granola, eggs anyway you like, with espresso, don't visit. If you don't want the most wonderful Tuscan pea soup, beef steak, rabbit, fresh olive oil, wine, food so fresh, you'll never shop in a grocery store again, don't visit. And then there's the winery! Private tour, complete with a tasting by Benedetto, whose passion for his wine went beyond taste and smell. It was an experience that I will remember for awhile. Sylvia seated us every meal, and was so personable and charming. Il Falconiere is classy, friendly, clean, enchanting, and will have you wanting more. They do have a cooking school that I will plan to attend on my next trip. Ciao!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

With Cortona as the backdrop, vineyards surrounding, and Italian gardens...what more could we ask for? Food was sublime, morning cappucinos with a tasty buffet started the day. THe front desk service was so helpful and called on our behalf to book ferry tickets to Elba. The secured the hotel reservations also. The owner gave us a full tour of the winery and the cooking school facility. Watching the Falcon hunt at sundown was an interesting sight as we sipped on a Wine Spectator rated red, I will bring groups back here for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwalkAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
760 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
2.4 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
819 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
404 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Il Falconiere & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Il Falconiere & Spa

Address: Case Sparse San Martino Bocena 370, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cortona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £167 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Il Falconiere & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The typical Tuscan villa which dates back to the 17th century was the home of the famous poet Antonio Guadagnoli. Now completely restored and transformed into a countryside Relais, it is part of the prestigious chain Relais & Châteaux, which exuberates the art of hospitality.In the restaurant, in the kitchen, at the reception, dedicated to taking care of the needs of our guests ,we are proud to offer everyday our availability and our specialties, improving them continuously. The art of refining quality is achieved by caring about details that make a difference.An ideal setting for those who love the beauty of the countryside, the atmosphere of the Relais is quaint with characteristic old-fashioned Tuscan charm. The twenty-two rooms are elegantly furnished-each unique in color and décor and reflecting the classic, refined style of important Tuscan homes. A few rooms are in the antique villa, some attached to the villa’s chapel and others in the cottage. All share the view of the magical landscape of the Cortonese countryside and are fully furbished with every modern comfort.La THESAN ETRUSCAN SPA has the goal of reawakening all of your senses through the harmony of the environment and the flavours and tastes of Tuscany.The Etruscan Thesan Spa guides you to discover the true relaxation, with a unique and unrepeatable involving all five senses. A wellness Trail where the two basic elements - water and heat - are skilfully combined with lights, sounds and colours therapeutic to optimize the relaxation. Exclusive for Officina Profumo Santa Maria Novella of Florence. Behind each of our actions is the desire to spark an unforgettable emotion: a recipe with delicate and persistent aromas, a special and rare decoration, the vistas leaving you breathless and astonished, the warm welcome that makes you feel as though you belong.. all of this will take you to the primordial feelings of pleasure. Staying with us will leave you with everlasting memories.The restaurant is on two floors with a glass and wrought-iron conservatory, overlooking the outside dining terrace with its ancient fishpond and rose-clad pergola. The cooking, which is personally supervised by Silvia, with the help of the head Chef Richard Titi, has succeeded in creating new temptations, using original and traditional recipes to create a marvelous cuisineaccompanied by great wines. “Il Falconiere” is situated in a quiet, elevated, rural location amid vineyards and olive groves. It enjoys enviable views of the Val di Chiana to the west, and Cortona, the ancient Etruscan hill town just three kilometers to the south. The Relais is ideally located for short trips to some of the most famous art cities of central Italy, such as Arezzo, Perugia, Siena, Florence and Assisi, all within in an hour’s drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Il Falconiere & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Il Falconiere Cortona
Relais Il Falconiere Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing