We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Hilversum
2 reviews
“Heaven on Earth!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend (manfriend actually) during July for 4 days and every moment was truly a slice of heaven. This is from all angles 5 star quality with a humble, hospitable and heartwarming staff. The location and grounds are immaculately kept the rooms are Fabulous with a capital F. The ambiance is of a sheek yet vintage feel. It's a spot in Tuscany you won't want to leave.
The food, the food, the food! I like to try different restaurants when I travel but we stayed to eat nearly every meal so we could sample as much as we could from the menu. Consistent excellence in cuisine. A very gifted chef has created some diverse, exciting and surprising combinations. Literally the best meals I have eaten and a wine card that will knock your socks off.
Thank-you David..we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    37
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
392
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This place is simply special. From the beautiful villa to the amazing food this place will take your breath away. But it is the people that make this place special. Manager/Owner David and his staff work incredibly hard to make sure your stay is perfect. The level of care, attention to detail and service that is provided is what makes this place so special. We will cherish our stay here and the people that we met forever. The pictures simply do not do the magic of this place justice. We would give it 7 out of 5 stars of we could.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaHoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a wonderful experience at La Corte dei Papi, from top to bottom. David was truly delightful and personally ensured our experience was absolutely outstanding. The accommodation, grounds, pool, food, experience, decor, atmosphere were all absolutely top notch. The attention to detail and personal service were impeccable. This is high quality relaxation that must be experienced. Highly, highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My wife and I just spent a wonderful relaxing week here. The location is just a few minutes from Cortona which is a beautiful old historical town. The owner, David, is clearly passionate about making his family villa/restaurant a success and ensured that we received friendly attention throughout our stay. The suites were immaculately clean and tastefully decorated, the restaurant served delicious food, the staff were very attentive and the beautiful pool and gardens were a haven in the heat - for us a perfect combination. We'd stayed in the area before - visiting Montepulciano, Siena, Assisi, Orvieto and others so it's a good base from which to explore Tuscany and/or Umbria. Warmly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Corte Dei Papi for 7 nights during our visit to Tuscany in July. David and his mother are the perfect hosts, and do their best to get the guest to feel welcome. I would also praise the staff which was very attenting at all times - always smiling. We stayed at one of the cottages, which is very private and has its own sitting area outside. However, we will reccomend the cottages for shorter stays since they are quite small. David arranged a wine tasting for us, which acutally turned out to be the best day of our holiday. It's not that much to do around the hotel, so I would reccomend to have a car if you stay there for many days. We ended up spending a lot of money on taxi.

The hotel is perfect for special occasions like weddings, and also for shorter stays (taken into account the above mentioned).

Room Tip: The cottages is very nice for shorter stays, and has a private sitting area outside. However, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Spent the last two weeks in Italy of which 3 of the nights at Relais La Corte dei Pai. David Pepi and his family have done an amazing job from top to bottom. I highly recommend staying and if you're just passing through I suggest stopping by for dinner......an amazing meal and a wonderful wine pairing by David.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

“Looking forward to going back again!!”
Wonderful, healthy meals!!!!! Very friendly staff, cozy atmosphere and excellent wine !! We are looking forward to going back again!!!
Davido, the owneris the perfect hoste!
He was extremely attentive, friendly, the service is incredible, and the food is EXCELLENT!!!
The wine is well chosen and complements the food. The staff seemed happy and were pleasant - perhaps a sign of good leadership.
The restaurant is spacious and elegantly decorated.
The hotel has some vineyards and produces some excellent wine. If you like privacy, a quiet relaxing atmosphere you would enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: Worth seeing! An excellent location! Congratulations to owners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
696 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
3.7 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
413 reviews
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Via La Dogana 12 | Località Pergo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais La Corte Dei Papi is an original late 17 century family dwelling that has been lovingly restored to create a hotel that caters for our guests every wish. An oasis of tranquility and peace ideal for the discerning traveler who yearns for exquisite Tuscan food in an elegant, charming countryside residence. Situated between the beautiful hills that surround the famous historical town of Cortona made even more famous by the writer Frances Mayer in her book “Under the Tuscan Sun” The Relais La Corte Dei Papi provides its guests with classically stylish room and suites equipped with every amenity. The interior has been lovingly restored to its original splendor. Every room and suite is furnished with taste and discernment. The beautiful Spa Suites are dedicated to the balance and wellbeing of guests. A truly unique experience with every imaginable facility to enhance your relaxation, the spa comes to you in the privacy of your suite. The restaurant is housed in what was the originally the wine cellar of the house and it maintains the integrity of traditional Tuscan cooking. The kitchen recreates the delicate flavors of genuine Tuscan dishes with a modern twist. Every ingredient used in our kitchen is selected for its quality, freshness and flavor; this creates a special experience at every stage of your meal. Our Chef daily prepares everything fresh including, bread, pasta and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing