We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect host, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect host, great food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

3 Night stay. David is, as everyone says, the perfect host, he is omnipresent and clearly takes huge pride in his home (which is now his hotel). The hotel was quite quiet when we were there, in fact, it felt like we were the only people there one day, which was great. The hotel has a lovely pool, with nice loungers and towels. We ate dinner once in the hotel, it was real gourmet food, not your "classic" Italian meal at all, the price was in keeping with the food standard, high, which is fair enough for gourmet dining. David gave us good recommendations for other evening meals.
We had a deluxe cottage room, personally, I wasn't that keen on it. It was almost directly outside reception, so didn't feel "private", it also wasn't very light and there wasn't a lot of storage space (no drawers), the bathroom was nice though. Perhaps I should have spoken to David and I am sure he would have changed the room, but for a three day stay, it didn't seem worth it.
If I ever go to Cortona again, I would stay there, it is outside the city, maybe a 10 minute drive up the hill.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank browny0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    36
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
94
389
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A wonderful relaxing place. David and his team are warm and inviting, with nothing being too much trouble. We staying in an old outer building, very comfortable. Also had a look at the new rooms with the massive spa and shower. Must give it a try next visit.
It was difficult to force yourself away from the place, however David organised a private day trip to the local wineries. We were taken through 15th century places that were just perfect. The person who does this tour is Dejan Prvulovic and he is a great guide.
Took a couple of day trips in our 5 days there, but couldn't resist the lure of the property, keep wanting to return. We also did the cooking lesson that is on offer. Wonderful way to get to know the people.
It really is heaven on earth.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ydoutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are just back in Brussels from a 10-day trip across Tuscany, where we stayed in Lucca, Firenze, Cortona and Forte dei Marmi. By far the best hotel-experience we had, was during our 3-day stay at Corte dei Papi in Cortona.
Once one enters the property, one finds oneself in an oasis of tranquillity. The hotel is beautifully designed, with a careful choice by the owner of materials, furniture and accessories. The whole place oozes style.
David, the owner, is a fantastic host, but also the whole staff is polite, friendly and efficient. It is not a cheap place, but one can feel the pride of David in his hotel: he is there for the long-term to make his guests feel at home, and not at all for the quick-buck.
We also took a cooking class, which was a fantastic experience thanks to the chef Giuseppe and Carla, who showed us with good humour the pride and joy they find in their cooking. We were supposed to eat our cooked meal for lunch, but since it was very copious, very generously they offered it to spread it over lunch and diner without charge.
Giuseppe is a fantastic cook who is not afraid to add his own touch, such as the delicious steak we had with pepper-icecream as sauce! Breakfast deserves a special mention, not only in its variety and quality, but also because of the freshly baked bread and cakes (by Carla). We went to many fine restaurants during our stay in Firenze, but the bread here was simply the best.
We stayed at a (beautifully decorated!) standard room, but David also showed us his latest project at the hotel, a newly built house in traditional toscan style which houses a couple of suites of his own design. There again he managed to combine antiques with modern comfort, with each suite its own different touch: an amazing result. We hope to return to La Corte dei Papi, and to stay at one of the suites!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotje_and_Pieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singer Island, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

David Papi is a friendly, hardworking young man and member of the owning family who deserves to have this place he just renovated so beautifully filled to capacity. All of the positive comments about the inn and the restaurant on tripadvisor are true. Pool was beautifully maintained and great for the hot July day we were there. Food was really spectacular in the evening. We broke our rule that we don't eat dinner in Hotel in which we stay and were really glad we did.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Suzypeace27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A group of us stayed at Corte dei Papi as part of our cycling trip through the Tuscan region. it was our last stop on the trip, and the saying, 'good things come to those who wait' could never have been more validated. David (the owner) and his staff have an exquisite villa. The rooms each feature their own therapeutic steam room and Jacuzzi. The food is fantastic and historic Cortona, for more great shops and food is a 10-minute cab ride away.

La vita e bella at Corte dei Papi!!

Room Tip: Any room in the house is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. David and his team made our two day break special in every way. Their attention to detail was meticulous and the food was innovative, creative and delicious. The surroundings and the setting are beautiful, calm and quiet, with very well maintained gardens. Our room was carefully decorated and really comfortable. We'd love to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Our room had a beautiful view towards Cortona in one direction and over the gardens to the village o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citytraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel as the second half of our honeymoon, spending 5 nights here, with the aim to have a very chilled end to our break but also have easy access to the local tuscan villages. This hotel really delivered on all fronts and we will keep very fond memories of this place for years to come.
It is and excellent hotel and really friendly and attentive staff, particularly the owner David.
Nothing was ever too much bother and we were really made to feel at home. The whole hotel and surroundings had a great feel and a very nice atmosphere that really allowed us to relax and enjoy our honeymoon.
The food there was great, with a great selection of cold meats, cheese, cereal and fruit for breakfast, and you were able to request some hot food if you really wanted it. The food on an evening was really good too, with a great selection of dishes and wines, the whole atmosphere made us feel we were having a very special time.
The room we had was lovely and felt like we were there on our own at times, which was perfect for our honeymoon. The only let down was that there was no separate shower and although there was a spa bath it was a little small and also didn't work while we were there. Having said that, it did not distract from our overall experience.
Thanks to David and all his staff; a very much recommended place to stay if you are in the tuscany region and we will definitely return one day in the future.

Room Tip: From our experience all rooms looked great, but if you tell David the reason for your visit, he will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Os_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Via La Dogana 12 | Località Pergo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais La Corte Dei Papi is an original late 17 century family dwelling that has been lovingly restored to create a hotel that caters for our guests every wish. An oasis of tranquility and peace ideal for the discerning traveler who yearns for exquisite Tuscan food in an elegant, charming countryside residence. Situated between the beautiful hills that surround the famous historical town of Cortona made even more famous by the writer Frances Mayer in her book “Under the Tuscan Sun” The Relais La Corte Dei Papi provides its guests with classically stylish room and suites equipped with every amenity. The interior has been lovingly restored to its original splendor. Every room and suite is furnished with taste and discernment. The beautiful Spa Suites are dedicated to the balance and wellbeing of guests. A truly unique experience with every imaginable facility to enhance your relaxation, the spa comes to you in the privacy of your suite. The restaurant is housed in what was the originally the wine cellar of the house and it maintains the integrity of traditional Tuscan cooking. The kitchen recreates the delicate flavors of genuine Tuscan dishes with a modern twist. Every ingredient used in our kitchen is selected for its quality, freshness and flavor; this creates a special experience at every stage of your meal. Our Chef daily prepares everything fresh including, bread, pasta and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing