We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Magnificent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply Magnificent!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We just returned home from our trip to Italy & Spain and without a doubt the highlight of our trip was our 8 night stay at La Corte Dei Papi. The hotel is only a few minutes away by car from the great hill town of Cortona and a perfect location to tour all of Tuscany. We easily made day trips to Siena, San Gimignano, Orvieto, Montepulciano and Pienza. We had a lovely 2 room deluxe suite that was very comfortable and the entire property is beautiful. As many have stated in other reviews, what makes La Corte Dei Papi so special is David and his mother Gabriella. They are the nicest people you could ever meet. They did everything possible to make our stay absolutely perfect. From setting up a tour and wine tasting, to suggesting places to visit, to getting us special things we needed, and most importantly making us feel so welcome that we felt like we were visiting family or friends…simply put, they are wonderful people who we can happily call friends now. In addition to the hotel, the restaurant is fantastic. They have a very intimate dinning room that serves both a wonderful spread of food for breakfast and as a romantic spot for dinner. David and his staff, especially JR, made our dinners very special. We ate there for dinner 3 times and the food is wonderful…fabulous dishes that are simply delicious…..I highly recommend the filet with peppercorn ice cream! Also try the deserts which are quite unique and unbelievably good. Some of the best dinning we have ever had. David and Gabriella, thank you again for all of your hospitality. We will definitely return as we love Tuscany and we can't imagine staying any place else. Jeff & Christie

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kywhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    36
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
389
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Definitely one of the most wonderful places to stay in Italy. The rooms are beautiful, the food amazing and the staff was awesome. the grounds are very pretty. Each room had its own steamroom and seperate spa. It is a bit of a drive to Cortona but makes a nice walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a fabulous two night stay here as part of our Umbria/Tuscany cycling trip in Sept 2013. This was clearly one of the highlights. David could not have been nicer. Honestly, I don't know when the man rests. He was there to greet us in the afternoon, help serve a fabulous dinner (that went late) and up early for breakfast. The accommodations were outstanding. Word of advice:
Pay attention to the details about all the electronics when you are shown your room. All and all, it's incredible.

Room Tip: ask for the renovated area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay during our week in Tuscany and it was in no small part due to the warmth, friendliness, and extra steps taken by David, his staff and his wonderful mother Gabriella. We had our 9mth old boy with us and hence it was challenging , but David ensured that all was taken care of and they provided our boy with plenty of entertainment. Plus the property is very special - wd thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journey1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First of all, you simply can not go wrong here. This lovely family owned property is only surpassed by the incredibly professional, polished and friendly staff. David Papi (and his beautiful mother Gabriella) are the proprietors and they make sure you want for nothing. We were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary and David made certain that our time here was unforgettable. The day trips that we had planned were enhanced by his suggestions, our dining experiences were made special and he was always available to answer a question or make a late night latte. The driver he arranged for us for a day of wine tasting was perfect and mentioned to us that David must be one of those guys that does not require sleep. He simply wants to make sure everything is perfect during your stay and for us, it was. Thank you David and all of the staff that made our 25th so special. We look forward to seeing you again...hopefully before our 50th!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old pig barn. Sounds funny, but the renovation was beautiful and made this a very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyWhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with David in September. The rooms were new and fabulous (never mind a few minor electrical glitches) and the dinners were fantastic. As everyone knows who has visited La Corte Dei Papi it all revolves around David. We have traveled the world and never met a more "hands on" owner. It is his inn, his family's past and his future - It shows to all who have met him. We look forward to returning to Cortona soon and we would not consider lodging anywhere else! R&R

Room Tip: Get a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Compliments to David (The Owner) who takes a very personal pride in offering his guests the best of the best and he does this with panache and flair.
The Rooms are very comfortable. we stayed in the old "Pig Sty" converted into a most comfortable and welcoming room, with walls so thick that even in the height of summer you will not need any ac.
You can see that great effort has been made to detail and even more so once you decide to indulge in either Lunch or Dinner....oh how I wished we could have stay for a few days longer to be able to truly experience more of the "wonders" that emanated from their kitchen.
2 nights was just not enough to appreciate truly, this beautiful place .....kudos to David and his Mum for creating and sharing with us La Corte Dei Papi.
We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Via La Dogana 12 | Località Pergo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais La Corte Dei Papi is an original late 17 century family dwelling that has been lovingly restored to create a hotel that caters for our guests every wish. An oasis of tranquility and peace ideal for the discerning traveler who yearns for exquisite Tuscan food in an elegant, charming countryside residence. Situated between the beautiful hills that surround the famous historical town of Cortona made even more famous by the writer Frances Mayer in her book “Under the Tuscan Sun” The Relais La Corte Dei Papi provides its guests with classically stylish room and suites equipped with every amenity. The interior has been lovingly restored to its original splendor. Every room and suite is furnished with taste and discernment. The beautiful Spa Suites are dedicated to the balance and wellbeing of guests. A truly unique experience with every imaginable facility to enhance your relaxation, the spa comes to you in the privacy of your suite. The restaurant is housed in what was the originally the wine cellar of the house and it maintains the integrity of traditional Tuscan cooking. The kitchen recreates the delicate flavors of genuine Tuscan dishes with a modern twist. Every ingredient used in our kitchen is selected for its quality, freshness and flavor; this creates a special experience at every stage of your meal. Our Chef daily prepares everything fresh including, bread, pasta and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing