We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You MUST stay here!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You MUST stay here!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at La Corte dei Papi and had the absolute best stay. We have traveled many places and David, the owner, by far has made our stay the most memorable. He greeted us in the driveway and carried our luggage, checked us in & showed us our room (and another that was available as an upgrade - we'll take that!). Rooms are beautiful and spacious. David again greeted us for dinner and shared his knowledge of the amazing local Tuscan wines. Giuseppe, the chef, makes amazing local cuisines. We even took a cooking class with Giuseppe & Carla which was a lot of fun. Need a few items of laundry done? No problem, the maid even offered to take it to her house if the washer & dryer was bring used for in house items. I have never stayed at a place where the owner took such pride in his family house turned to business and made YOU feel like the most special guest he has ever had. We had dinner once off property (there is a little pizzeria down the street) and David was at the front desk (a few bottle of booze behind the desk) when we got back and offered us a glass of Grappa which he in turn enjoyed with us! How cool. David also set up several wine tours for us as day trips. He has a friend, Dejan, who has a nice van who can take you on the wine tours or anywhere else you want to go. Dejan even took us to his favorite gelato shop.
If you are looking for a place in Tuscany - STAY HERE...you won't regret it. We will DEFINATELY be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t2grene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    36
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
384
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of a bike tour. The accommodation was top notch and the food amazing. However, the incessant barking of the dog (and I love dogs) made the pool unbearable. I left the pool and could still hear it from the room. The dog was tied up at the restaurant and barked as the waiters set up for dinner. After 2 hours I was ready to get back on the bike! I did call down to shush the dog but all I got was a wave from a waiter and a bark from the dog!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mstripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I just got back from a 10 day trip to Italy, which included 3 nights at La Corte dei Papi in Cortona. It was probably the highlight of our trip, and an outstanding value. Our room was great, very clean with a comfortable bed. The resort itself was fantastic. It was very pretty and relaxing with a very nice outdoor area. The complimentary breakfast was far and away the best we had on our trip. Dinner there was also fantastic, with a nice menu. Still, the best part of Corte dei Papi is the service. David and his staff are as friendly and gracious as anyone you will meet in Italy. They truly go the extra mile that helps makes this place very memorable. We can't wait to come back someday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Relais la Corte dei Papi when we went to Cortona as part of our honeymoon. This was by far our favorite place we stayed during our trip to Italy. David was so helpful and friendly, as was the rest of the staff. We had an excellent dinner at there and the breakfast buffet was delicious as well. We are hoping to be able to go back on our anniversary. It was nice having a rental car, as it is not directly in town (which we liked)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a lovely place near Cortona, Italy. Several centuries old building and restored beautiful property with excellent accommodations, staff and food. The grounds are magnificent and the pool delightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N41B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

La Corte de Papi, Cortona, Italy

LOVED IT!!!
As so many have said, this is an exceptional gem in Tuscany. We came for a few days to relax after a long flight before a cruise and it was a highlight of our trip. The grounds are lovely and peaceful, with a stunning pool and beautiful gardens. Both David and his mother made us feel like old friends - we will miss them. They couldn't do enough for us. David was always available to help us with all our sightseeing plans, offering maps, directions, etc. He was extremely knowledgable about the history of the area and was never to busy to sit down with us to chat.
Rooms were large, very well appointed and extremely comfortable. The restaurant was outstanding, both for excellent buffet breakfasts and a wonderful dinner. We enjoyed eating outside in the beautiful gardens.
We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saralil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

A perfectly pleasant hotel with very friendly staff - were it only one third the price. For instance, our room lacked a proper shower, just had a bath with a shower on a hose and no hook to hang it - and a slightly run down bathroom with cracked tiles, etc, to boot.

Hotel also lacks basic things like a common indoor saloon / lounge. I hesitate to criticise somewhat, as the owner is very friendly. But this hotel is priced as a boutique luxury hotel and it's simply not up to that standard. It's trying to be something it's not and somehow getting away with it going by all the rave reviews. Fawlty Towers without the incompetence would be my summary.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lairdinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Nucleo la Dogana 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing