We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We are well seasoned travelers and have stayed at special properties all over Europe. Relais La Corte Dei Papi was truly one of our favorites. The immaculate, restored Manor house exudes charm and grace. David, its owner, is warm, charming, and engaging and lives to please all of his guests. The staff is delightfully friendly and the level of sophisticated training is obvious. They are thorough professionals. We spent 2 evenings in one of the newer Spa suites. If it fits your budget---then you must try it! The steam room itself was an experience-- complete with changing mood lighting, spa music, and aromatherapy. The jacuzzi tub was massive and so relaxing. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. After spending time exploring the region, we thoroughly enjoyed spending some quality time relaxing around the pool . The setting is serene as the pool is surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens. We dined both evenings at the restaurant within and were awed by both the the quality and presentation.
We look forward to returning to Tuscany and will definitely be returning here. Bravo, David!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeReallyLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    35
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
93
382
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect for couples
Everything was truly wonderful
David was always there for us
This is what you call a Great service
The location is great, convenient to everywhere
Everybody spoke English. Great food, great wine, great people.
This area have it's Italian countryside simplicity but a unique charm as well. Once in a lifetime experience
Will be back next year

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Egor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter found this on line which looked amazing. To our surprise when we got there it was more spectacular than what was on line. Everything was so clean and beautiful. I would've loved to take part of this home with me back to the US. David and his mom the owners couldn't have been sweeter. Extremely accommodating and was always greeted with a smile. The food was amazing and the breakfasts were to die for. Thank goodness we did alot of walking as we could've easily gained alot of weight. This was our first trip to Europe and we wanted to make it special as we celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary with my daughter and her husband. What a great place to hold a wedding!!! Hopefully, in the near future we would love to go back for a longer stay this time. This to me is a well kept secret. The quietness, the charm, the beauty. It really is Heaven on Earth! We all loved out stays!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renatab700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first time visiting Cortona and are already looking forward to coming back to stay at the Relais La Corte dei Papi. The hotel was absolutely breathtaking. The owner's David and mama Gabrielle warmly greeted us upon arrival. Check in was great and afterwards David showed us to our rooms which were so cute and had such personal touch to them. Our room overlooked the pool and Cortona on one side and the valley on the other. We slept with our windows wide open every night and were greeted with the quiet and pleasant sound of Roosters each morning. The grounds are exemplary kept with just as beautiful attention to detail as the quaint rooms. The pool was heavenly to come back to and relax after a busy day, clean and well kept, the atmosphere was so quiet and pleasant with the sound of nature, even took a nap in the sun. Very Relaxing. Later on David gave us a tour of some of the honeymoon suites which were even more amazing. The rooms had doors open up to the valley in the back, very serene. Hot tub jacuzzis in the large bedrooms, one room even had a balcony upstairs with a King bed for sleeping and the living room below, very spacious and ROMANTIC!!
We had a delicious breakfast each morning with all home made pastries, cakes, bread, and assortments of cheeses, meats, fruits, yogurts, etc. We sat by the pool and were served coffee, tea, espresso and cappuccinos with our breakfast. Perfect way to start each day.
We made reservations for dinner at the La Corte dei Papi's restaurant. We were seated on time at a beautiful table by the pool which is lit up at night perfecting the ambiance. Service was definitely on point. Dinner and dessert were absolutely delicious. We asked David to recommend a nice bottle of wine which couldn't have been better. We all enjoyed our dining experience.
Our stay was absolutely lovely. We are looking forward to coming back again one day. Our experience in Cortona was truely a dream come true thanks to the Relais La Corte dei Papi and all of David, Gabrielle and the staff's hard work and dedication. Thank you for a wonderful experience. A++++
Your guests (Tara, Abe, Gabriel and Renee)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quaint and have such a personalized touch. You can't go wrong with any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We go to Tuscany every summer. Unfortunately the villa we book every year was unavailable.
After reading the good reviews on trip advisor, we decided to book a room in this hotel.
We had an excellent stay. The room was fantastic. The service was outstanding and better than in some 5 star top resorts. David and his staff go out of the way to make your stay a fantastic experience. The best service ever. We really enjoyed the week we spent with them.
The setting is beautiful and the rooms and garden are well looked after. 100% quality all over!
I would recommend this hotel to all type of travelers.
Just go there and you will never be disappointed, on the contrary you will enjoy every minute of your stay.
Congratulations to David, his mother and the staff. They have created a lovely resort and make people happy by giving them the most relaxing holiday or stay.
Thanks for the excellent service! We will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved this place so much last year that we returned this year and we are very pleased to say the high standards have not dropped a bit - David is a wonderful host, the hotel is great and the food is out of this world - we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HennersB-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Spent 4 nights at David's la Corte dei Papi. Loved every minute of it. Great rooms, nice swimmingpool, super service and fantastic food. In addition to this the hotels owner David Papi is just outstanding. Whatever you need he will do his best to help you out. We did rent the whole hotel from friday to sunday and every one of the 33 guests had nothing but great things to say about the stay. Whenever we travel back to tuscany la Corte dei Papi will be the place to stay for us. Don't change anything David. Everything is perfect

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
7.5 mi away
Villa Loggio
Villa Loggio
#1 of 1 in Cignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
8.5 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#11 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Property: Relais La Corte dei Papi
Address: Nucleo la Dogana 12, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing