We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent friendly service.”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel and will put it on top of our list for next year. A lovely hotel with very pleasant engaging helpful staff. Tripadvisor award displayed in the reception is a nice touch too.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I got back yesterday from a week at Villa Marsili and don't want to lose anytime writing to tell of my experience. My mother died a few weeks ago and I needed some healing. Here is where you can find it in abundance. I travel all the time for work and stay in lots of hotels NONE ever in my experience meets the standard of the Villa Marsili. Iulia on reception is the best receptionist any hotel ever employed, I am at a loss to find words strong enough to describe how kind, generous, helpful and thoughtful she is, she makes your holiday perfect in every way. Gina in the dining room and Marvin as a night porter serving wonderful wine till the early hours under the tress in the garden are exceptional staff, kind thoughtful and super efficient.
I was in a small room because I was on my own and should have upgraded, my own fault, but the room was perfectly fine, clean, everything worked and it was just the cocoon of solitude I needed for siestas and for night. If you can treat yourself to a bigger room in the front with views out over the amazing Tuscan countryside, do.
I will be back and plan to tell everyone I love in this world of the hotel so they too can for a time enjoy it's generous warmth.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AnnMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the Villa Marsili, and wish we could have stayed on forever. Although we had one of the smaller double rooms, it was perfectly adequate even for our several day stay. We always unpack fully and were able to do so here. The service in the rooms is outstanding. The room and bathroom are extraordinarily clean. We were provided fresh towels twice a day which was important given the unusually high temperature weather we experienced during our trip. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful all the time. Iulia and Rosalinda at the front desk gave perfect advice and were charming and interesting to talk with, but Gina and Marvin also contributed to the pleasantness of our stay, as well as everyone else with whom we came in contact. Parking was free and convenient, and we received excellent advice about all of the day trips we wanted to take. Cortona is a great town to visit and a great location as a base for day trips in Tuscany and Umbria. We thought the price of our room was very reasonable for the quality of this 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The staff (Julia especially) at this hotel together with the spectacular views and location make this an outstanding place to stay. The location just at the edge of this busy and hilly town are perfect. We saw so many hot and tired travellers lugging their suitcases on the cobblestone streets to hotels that were not accessible by taxi. But this hotel is on the edge of town which not only means it is easily reached by car, but it also has views from all rooms of the tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

If you are looking for a place to stay in Cortona, look no further. My wife and I agree that by far, the best hotel we have ever stayed at anywhere. The most friendly and helpful staff I have ever come across. They spoke perfect english and were always geniunely smiling. Location was perfect. Was far enough to be very quiet and easily accessible, but close enough to walk to all parts of town. My wife and I woke up late, around 12pm, and was offered breakfast "under the tuscan sun". They also have a kitchen to cook up any requests. At night, there was complimentary dinner wine/liquor and cheese in the lounge area, which is nicely decorated. The rooms were spaceous and comfortable, and the air conditioning worked well and was quiet. I cant express how much i enjoyed staying here. They have multiple TripAdvisor annual awards displayed.

Room Tip: Although the rooms facing the region had a beautiful view, all the rooms were nice and you can walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luong a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Six separate visits in five years probably says it all in terms of how I view the hotel. Phenomenal front of house (Stefano and Iulia have the patience of saints), great rooms, excellent breakfasts and little touches like the vin santo at night make this place deservedly Number 1. The car park one minute's walk away is a boon but if that weren't enough, the real X-factor is Cortona itself. 10 minutes leisurely amble up a not very steep hill into town, which is exactly as you thought a Tuscan hill town was supposed to be. I cannot speak highly enough of either the hotel or the town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirelad1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at Villa Marsili for 4 days and loved the staff and the hotel. Almost perfect location in Cortona since you can walk to everything (although up a rather steep hill.) The views from the rooms are amazing. On a clear day you can almost see all of Tuscany it seems. Julia was especially helpful arranging reservations and making recommendations. I would easily rate this one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Besides walking around the town we also rented bikes for a day (there is a travel agency in Camucia that rents bikes for 8 euros a day.) There is a bike trail that is rather flat that is about 15 k long just outside of camucia. Since Camucia is in the valley below Cortona you do not have to ride up or down the massive hill to Cortona. We road the traii out and then took some back roads for the return to Camucia. ( I can send map)

If you want a culinary treat try Il Falconiere for lunch. It will set you back $100 Euros for 2 though.

Our only complaint was the Free Internet. It seemed to only work a few feet from front desk. Everyone else seemed to be having the same problem. Management should install some additional Wifi points which would only cost a few hundred dollars. In the rooms would be even better.

Room Tip: Front of hotel on 2nd or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank newtonmatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CortonaCortona, Manager at Villa Marsili, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
We are pleased to announce that additionally the internet cable connection is already available in the guest rooms, the WI-FI is scheduled to be upgraded and installed throughout the hotel within the first week of August. Further, a web cam is also being placed on the top floor of Villa Marsili enabling panoramic views of Cortona and the Valdichiana valley.

Thank you and all of our guests who we have had the pleasure of welcoming to Villa Marsili.

Kind regards
Stefano Meacci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 23 in Cortona
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#14 of 23 in Cortona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £114 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing