We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent intimate hotel in charming Cortona.”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magnificent intimate hotel in charming Cortona.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We based ourselves in Cortona for 3 nights in order to explore this beautiful corner of Italy doing day trips. We chose Villa Marsili based on reviews and were blown away by how fabulous it was and by their outstanding attention to detail, and its comfort, stylish elegance and great staff.
We booked a suite which included a spacious bedroom with a very comfortable bed, a fabulous large bathroom with a jacuzzi, shower and double basin, a lounge with a TV, fridge and very comfortable couches. The suite was really good but the 'piece de resistance ' was surely the views from each rooms windows over the sprawling Val di Chiana and sunflower fields right to Lake Trasimeno. Simply breathtakingly beautiful..
Breakfast was an excellent buffet offering a wonderful selection of cold meats, cheeses and varied pastries, yogurts, fabulous fruits and preserves and, as Id written ahead, a wide selection of gluten free items, so appreciated. Tea and wonderful coffee on the terrace after breakfast completed this superb treat.
The staff at Villa Marsili are amazing, warm, welcoming and so obliging even giving me a farewell gift as a reminder of our stay there. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Thank you to charming Stefano, lovely Julia at reception, the barman and the breakfast staff.
Cortona is a charming and very beautiful hilltop town made famous by Frances Mayes ( Under the Tuscan Sun ), it has so much to offer the art lover and is a visual treat in terms of archtecture, vistas and history.
Villa Marsili adds to Cortonas charm and is a truly superb hotel with no opportunity overlooked to satisfy their guests, even the exquisite complimentary snacks between 6 and 8 pm before one goes into town for dinner, and then the Vin Santo, Cantucci and fresh fruits waiting in the lounge on ones return from the evening out.
We are so happy we found Villa Marsili and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting accommodation that is a cut above the rest.

Room Tip: If a room with a view over the Val di Chiana is available grab it....even if it means upgrading, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    69
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
99
474
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Beautiful intimate hotel overlooking the landscape of Tuscany. Friendly, extremely helpful and happy to go the extra mile for those who stay. Made reservations for dinner and were fluent in English. A great breakfast and worth the extra money. Rooms 27 and 37 were very nice. Baths were larger and very nice as well. Would recommend to anyone. Close to shopping and dining in the town. Although on a main street and a corner, was very quiet with windows closed.

Room Tip: purchase the breakfast option and ask for room that faces the landscape/valley. All the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The hotel is on the edge of the town - a five minute walk to its charming centre. A gushing but practical welcome from Johanna was followed by more zeal and enthusiasm by the other reception staff during our overnight stay. They 'loved my wife's name', 'thought our Italian was terrific' etc. Despite being a bit OTT, they were very welcoming and helpful in every way. We had their 'favourite, de-luxe room', which was large and comfortable, with a great view over the plain below, including Lake Trasimeno in the distance. Shame that the shower in the morning was rather tepid. Good breakfast, OK value for money - all in all an excellent hotel for a short stay in Cortona.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for our wedding in Cortona and it was simply wonderful from start to finish. The staff are so welcoming and polite, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed in room 27 which had beautiful views across the countryside. They advised us on the best places to eat and booked our taxis for us. But most of all they were so friendly and kind. They are also very good with children making them feel very welcome. What a gem of a place, we will be coming back for a holiday! Capuccino's were to die for so make sure you order one!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBrown1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Incredible. The warm and friendly staff was probably the best part, but the hotel was amazing in every way. My room had an incredible view, breakfast was fantastic, the location couldn't have been better and my bed was comfortable! I could go on and on. One night turned into four and I doubt any other hotel experience will ever measure up!

Room Tip: Third floor with a view was worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherie1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel was truly amazing. The fine detail of service was impecable. Upon arriving we were greeted with warm smiles. The young bell boy even helped us with parking the car on the sreet.
After we had checked in we got cleaned up and ventured to the main piazza which was a 5 min walk.
Upon returning we had clean towels and our beds were turned down and our blinds closed for the evening. What a pleasant surprise. They also had small snacks in the bar area and a nice appertif to drink before retiring for the evening. This hotel is easy to find, close to main town.This hotel is truly exquisiteand would highly recommend it to all. We were only there for two nights but wished it was longer.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in this hotel would be perfect. We were very fortunate and faced the Tuscan hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepSmiling4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed for two nights at Villa Marsili. On arrival we were met with a warm welcome and were given information about the area and restaurant recommendations. We parked our car on the road near the hotel and left it there for the whole of our stay. Our room had a fantastic view of the countryside and was comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was a treat with a good selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, bread and pastries. The centre of town is a short walk from the hotel with several bars, cafes and restaurants. It was nice to return in the evening to enjoy a glass of vin santo that was offered to us. We spent many a happy hour walking in the beautiful countryside that surrounds Cotona and will hopefully return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Property: Villa Marsili
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing