We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel ever!!!”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently stayed at Villa Marsili Hotel as part of our Italy honeymoon. We booked it based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was everything we had hoped for and more. The staff was over-the-top friendly and helpful...every one of them. They so helpful with recommendations, contacting our next hotel for information, helping with rental car, etc. The grounds were impeccable. Our room was large and beautiful. Little candies and goodies every where, and a complimentary mini bar. They have a wonderful happy hour and complimentary vin santo and desserts. The breakfast was the most beautiful, outrageous one I've ever seen. This is being pampered at it's finest. They are in a wonderful location in Cortona. The best part is the craziest view you could imagine. Our stay here was a special part of our trip. Well done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisKlaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Villa Marsili for just one night, but I wish it could have been longer. We had a suite, which was so large, with 3 rooms. The bathroom was big with a Jacuzzi. Our shower was spacious. When we arrived it was raining and foggy. Our Tuscan window in the bathroom had good views-but in the morning when we awoke the sun was shining and we had the most spectacular view ever!!! It was almost worth seeing it first in the rain to allow us to appreciate the beauty of the sun on the hills. The room had a complimentary minibar and candies in small dishes all over the room. The furnishings were antiques. Before dinner they have a delightful (and also huge) array of appetizers. The breakfast was equally as amazing. Nothing was too much to ask for this staff. I would absolutely stay in this beautiful location again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel was on the hillside in Cortona, Italy. It had the most fabulous views of the Tuscan countryside. Staff was very friendly and service was excellent. A short walk up the hill and you were in the beautiful downtown square of Cortona. Very serene location

Room Tip: We had a corner room with two windows...one faced the valley below and one the hillside....amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Recent reviews have said it all. Couldn't recommend this place any more highly. The hotel is right on the edge of town with a very short and pleasant walk to the centre. We were fortunate to find a free parking spot on the street where we were able to park on the street for free overnight but the first thing the pleasant and enthusiastic staff did was to make sure she was going to help us with settle parking issues. She then went through a map of town and helped us set up an itinerary of the best spots to visit for our short stay, based on our own interests and made an excellent recommendation for dinner. The room was wonderful with a fantastic view over the countryside. Breakfast was great and we were welcomed back after our evening out with vin santo and biscotti in the lounge. A wonderful place!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is just a delightful hotel on the outskirts of Cortona. Our room was great; the staff could not have been more helpful; the view from our room was spectacular; and we enjoyed the best breakfasts of our 2-week stay in Italy. The main square of Cortona is just a short walk up the hill from the hotel, maybe 10 minutes at a leisurely pace. The only negative comment that I can make is that the shower should be larger. The shower is somewhat triangular in shape with glass doors. I found myself hitting my elbows on doors and knobs. But this is just nit picking. The rest of the hotel is great. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ward416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in September with my daughter. We were greeted on arrival by Joana who gave us an incredibly warm, enthusiastic welcome, setting the tone for a most delightful and happy visit.

I've travelled widely but rarely have I encountered a hotel with such a convivial atmosphere - and such delicious breakfasts!

The hotel is well positioned to explore Cortona and we enjoyed chatting to other guests in the early evening before we went out for dinner.

Our thanks to Joana, Enrico, Iulia, Marvin, Elena and everyone else whose names I can't remember.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed at the Villa Marsilli for 1 night on the 17th Septŷ to celebrate our 25th anniversary, upon arrival we were greeted by Luana who made us feel totally relaxed as she was so attentive and helpful, we had a lovely suite which had a lounge area, large bathroom with shower and jacuzzi etc, views from the room were fantastic as it over looked the valley and Lake Trasimeno, there were numerous special treats such as bathrobes, slippers, soaps,creams and sweets everywhere. Prior to going into Cortona centre we were informed by Luana at check in that the Hotel had a cocktail hour with antipasto between 7 and 8pm which was a great way to start our evening sat either in the comfortable lounge or garden area, upon return to the hotel later the receptionist Joana advised that free Vin Santo with biscotti which was a great way to end a perfect evening. The breakfast in the morning had everything you could wish to eat and once again the staff were very attentive and helpful. We will stay at the Villa Marsilli again and would recommend it for a fantastic experience with a good location for walking into Cortona and seeing Bramsole (Under the Tuscan Sun). Many thanks to all the staff at the Hotel for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the valley and Lake Trasimeno
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
761 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia Cortona
Hotel Italia Cortona
#6 of 24 in Cortona
310 reviews
1.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £100 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing