We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a Hotel where you are taken care of from the moment you arrive till the minute you leave. Nothing is too much trouble. Right in the heart of Cortona you couldn't be in a better position to see this beautiful town. Your car keys are taken on arrival which takes away the worry of parking in busy Cortona and they park it for you in a safe and cost free street nearby. This happens every time you return to the hotel. Brilliant service!! The breakfast is to die for and if you don't have everything you need for an early morning feast there is something
wrong with you. Quite outstanding. We talked to the lovely ladies in charge of the food and they are totally committed to supplying fresh and homemade delights. I think when you see guests taking pictures of the breakfast buffet you can be assured it is something special. Hotel and service is good value. Wines for sipping in the evening are of the highest quality and reasonably priced. A table of complimentary pre-dinner nibbles to accompany is laid out between 7-8pm. Very much appreciated. Homemade by the same ladies as breakfast. Wonderful hotel in every way. Beautiful views. Staff helpful, friendly and gracious. Can't say enough wonderful things about it. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Views at the front of the Hotel magnificent. Higher floors the best I imagine. We were on third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0baltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    69
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
100
475
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife & I stayed for 4 nights in June, 2014. The location is perfect, the view is breath taking, the accommodations were superior and the staff was tireless in providing service of all kinds to their guests. Cortona should not be missed on a Tuscan visit adn Villa Marsili is the place to become a "family member" on an overnight visit. Our stay, though not inexpensive, completed our visit to the Italian countryside with a a perfect combination of gracious living and down-home hospitality. We will return.

Room Tip: Make sure your room overlooks the valley below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is so beautiful and the view of the valley is stunning, but what really sets this place apart is the incredible service. Iulia and the other staff spoil you so wonderfully you get to relax at a deep level. While you're out to dinner at a lovely restaurant, which they reserved for you, they prepare your room for sleeping. Breakfast is an amazing feast, and they even made up a breakfast box for us the morning we had to leave at 5 am. This is the most pleasant stay I've had anywhere.

Room Tip: Room 16 has a great view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in Cortona, couldnt have been happier with this find. Was looking for a quiet, peaceful, clean and comfortable place to stay while attending a wedding. I certainly found it. Thank you so much to the staff who couldnt have been more helpful. Lasting memories, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamonmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have been wanting to review this hotel for the last three years. We stayed there in October 2011. We stayed in the large suite on the second or third floor. The views from that suite were breathtaking, encompassing the beautiful east Tuscan countryside. The breakfast was excellent and the service was flawless. They did everything they could for us, to ensure that our stay was a most memorable one. The town centre of Cortona is a short walk slightly up hill, a beautiful stone village that sprawls down the mountain side. Many locals know Cortona as the grandmother of Rome, as Cortona is so old, dating back to the time of the Etruscans.
We would stay at Villa Marsili Hotel again, in a heart beat and we would stay in the same suite that is comprised of two rooms.

Room Tip: We loved the large suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 627Benjiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and visited Cortona on our Honeymoon and we stayed at the Villa Marsili Hotel based on the great TripAdvisor reviews. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!

The ladies at the front desk were extremely welcoming and helpful. They provided great restaurant recommendations!

We booked a standard room and were offered an upgrade for 20 Euro at check-in. We opted for the upgrade and the room we were given was very big and had a great view of Tuscany. The hotel was very well maintained and it was in a great location.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are going to Cortona, this is where you have to stay. Walking distance to the city centre, nice rooms and excellent breakfast! They offer free snacks in the foyer or/and the courtyard, you only have to pay for the drinks (modest prices) but the view and tranquility was unforgetable.
The service was great, the reception ladies were very polite, helpful, they offered to park our car, recommended restaurants, etc. They made our stay perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flortey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
702 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Property: Villa Marsili
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing