We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay at the Villa Marsili!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay at the Villa Marsili!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

We can only echo what's been written here. My partner and I stayed 5 nights at the hotel. The staff was incredibly welcoming and friendly. The hotel was beautiful, clean, and well appointed. We couldn't have asked for a better breakfast. The evening cocktails and food was a really nice added touch. If you're planning a trip to Tuscany, look no further and book this hotel right away...you won't be disappointed. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    65
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
459
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

We spent 4 nights at Villa Marsili beginning of may 2009 and it has been truly a wonderful experience. It is actually difficult to add to the other reviews, you have to be there to get the appropriate feeling. Very quiet, amazingly well furnished, elegant, clean and well kept with many stylish room details, lots of space in the room, breathtaking view into the valley (we've been in room 35, 2nd floor) birds singing in the morning when you wake up and a rich breakfast waiting for you downstairs, served tactfully. Add on top of that very kind, helpful staff, who competently helps you organizing your visits and your dinners and rooms kept tidy multiple time during the day by barely visible/audible room service staff. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sekok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

A little late in posting this review, but we (myself and partner) stayed at the beautiful Villa Marsili for two nights in late August 2008 following a four night stay in Florence, and can easily state this was the loveliest of our five hotels during our trip to Tuscany.

The hotel is situated on the left of long hill approaching the centre of Cortona (just outside the walls), and even though we had perfectly adequate directions we managed to drive past the hotel, missing the entrance, three times before we eventually gave up and left our car in one of the large free carparks at the bottom of the hill.

The receptionist made us feel so welcome and showed us to our room which had a breathtaking view southwards towards Lake Trasemeno glinting in the distance. The room was large, spotless, and was worth the money for the view alone.

As we set off for an afternoon stroll in Cortona, we were reminded not to miss the 7:00pm aperitfs served in the lounge, which was a lovely gesture and a chance to chat to other guests before setting out for dinner.

The town itself is a gentle ten-minute walk uphill, which shouldn't prove difficult for anyone of reasonable fitness. There was a surprising variety of restaurants both sophisticated or rustic for such a small town, but we chose to spend both evenings in Trattoria Dardano, an unpretentious and friendly restaurant with amazingly low prices.

The following day we walked around the peaceful town of Poppi and then on to Vallombrosa and its beautiful woodland.

We were so impressed with our stay at Villa Marsili we would definitely consider making it our base for a longer stay in Tuscany. We could find fault with nothing.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

This was our 2nd stay at the Villa Marsili and it was even more wonderful than our first stay in October 2008. The best feature of this hotel is the staff – they are gracious and helpful beyond words – Iulia, Luana, Gina, Rosie and Stefano, the manager. Iulia (hi, honey!) and Luana at the front desk are so sweet and friendly (both speak English). They offered the best concierge services we have ever received anywhere. My husband celebrated a birthday while we were there and Iulia helped me order a cake and arrange a surprise birthday party for him. My husband and I were both so touched by the hospitality shown to us during both our stays at the Villa. On this return trip, it was a reunion with dear friends - an experience that few travelers have the opportunity to experience.

The décor of the hotel is tastefully elegant (not opulent or fussy) and the rooms are open and airy. Our room (#37 again) is a large corner room with views from 2 sides, a Murano glass chandelier and large bathroom with whirlpool tub. I just loved being able to throw open the windows each morning and take in the views. The hotel is spotlessly clean (rooms, bathrooms, common areas). The breakfast buffet is lovely (you’ll get addicted to the filled croissants and Pecorino cheese).

Cortona is a very hilly town and the Villa is located at the bottom of a hill just outside the city’s walls. You can easily park your car for free along the street, very close to the hotel. It’s a short, uphill walk from the Villa into town (but not bad). Several good restaurants are in town – our favorite is La Buccacia, run by Romano and Agostina and assisted by their young daughter, Francesca. I recommend a guided tour while in Cortona. It will help acclimate you and help you discover some of the treasures of this lovely town.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bella-kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

I can only echo the postive reviews already here for this hotel. The staff sets the mood from the time you arrive, especially if you meet Julie at the front desk. Jule went out of her way to assist us with restaurant and sight-seeing suggestions. The rooms are comfortable and attractive, the bathrooms modern, and the views spectacular. There are some nice tables outside for enjoying a picnic lunch or the hotel-provided drink in the evening. The town of Cortona provides ample opportunity for exercise, especially if you enjoy hills, and the views make it all worthwhile. The breakfast was ample with many choices.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshyposh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Our 2 night, 3 day stay at Villa Marsii was excellent. The hotel sits near the city center, high on on a picturesque Italian hill with a breathtaking views. Our room was large and lavish, as was the bathroom which had a large tub. The view from the room was incredible and we spent lots of time gazing out on towns and farms in the distance. The staff was a highlight, Julia helped us plan our day, made us feel comfortable, and spoke great english. The continential breakfast is fresh and delicious and made a great start to each morning. The hotel facilty is incredibly clean and well maintained.

The town of Cortona is easily reachable by train and a short bus ride from the train station will drop you off at the hotel. We were glad we didn't rent a car because the town is small enough to walk.

We had a blast walking to a quiet vineyard high on the hill. We sat had a picnic, enjoying the view, and the warm sun.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshyposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
435 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

I will point form my comments:
-Check in - very professional, friendly, helpful
-Location of hotel - not in centre, a ten minute walk
-Beautiful views
-Rooms don't have balconies, but our room had a lovely front view from the window; there is a terrace in front
-Very impressed with service in room
-Room was well decorated
-Nice turn-down service, chocolate ladybug included
-A champagne reception in the evening (we missed it - we were going to dinner - but it looked nice!)
-Wonderful breakfast, beautiful dining room
-Nice lobby for lounging, lots of sofas, good place to meet and greet
-Great price (and we were three to a room - two adults, one child, age 7. Good value.

I can understand why this hotel is #1 in Tuscany.

  • Liked — Lovely décor, professional and friendly service
  • Disliked — Too bad that it is not more central, but it is only a ten minute walk
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45DegreesNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
2.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.8 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Property: Villa Marsili
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing