We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa atop Cortona hills... lovely rooms... friendly staff”
Review of Villa Marsili

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marsili
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Marsili for three nights in June. After being in Rome for a couple of days, this hotel was a sanctuary. The villa sits atop Cortona (the town where they shot the movie, "Under the Tuscan Sun") with beautiful views of the landscape and towns below. It has a warm, charming atmosphere with clean, cozy rooms and very friendly staff. Julia at the concierge desk was particularly helpful to us, recommending great places to eat each night and helping us with the train schedule to get to Florence. If you're looking for a romantic getaway or just a nice, relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city, Villa Marsili is your place. We fell in love with the place immediately. The rooms are pretty big, the breakfasts aren't spectacular but decent with mostly cold food and pastries, and the location is central to driving to neighboring towns such as Montepulciano or Pienza. The piazzas are withing walking distance and have lovely restaurants and trattorias with amazing food. All in all, we would definitely recommend this place to friends and family!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwalk724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Villa Marsili
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2009

My wife and I wanted a small, comfortable bed and breakfast to stay in for our anniversary trip to Tuscany. Hotel Villa Marsili fit the bill perfectly and more. The hosts were extraordinarily warm and generous (especially Julia at the front desk). They were very helpful in guiding us around Cortona and other nearby Tuscan towns. The rooms were always clean and had wonderful views of the valley depending on which room you had. The staff created a very collegial atmosphere among other guests with a 7pm daily cocktail hour. It was fun meeting the other folks in the hotel. Overall, Hotel Villa Marsili creates an "at home" atmosphere with the perfect touch of luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humpday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed two nights and had two deluxe double rooms. The hotel is charming and the views are spectacular. The location is great- right on the edge of town overlooking the countryside and only a five to ten minute walk to the main square. The best part of all though is definitely the service!!! They could not have been more helpful...making dinner recommendations and reservations, suggesting a driving tour, even loaning several electrical converters to fit our appliances. The staff sets out evening snacks and drinks, and the breakfast buffet is wonderful...lots of choices and looks so pretty. The smell of delicious pastries had us running to breakfast in the morning! Through out the hotel the ceilings have pretty stencil borders including all the bathrooms and bedrooms. Each bedroom is large; we had hotel front views from our windows of the valley and lake in the distance. The shiny white tile bathrooms are super clean and have Jacuzzi tubs. A computer is available for use in the lobby for a small fee. Free parking was not a problem to find out on the street and only a short walk back to the hotel. The only negative here is the same at many Italian hotels...hard beds (also the linens are okay but could be better). Don't let that keep you away from this charming little hotel with the fabulous staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go Travel Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This review comes a bit late, but our memories of Hotel Villa Marsili and it's staff are still so fresh in our minds. We loved EVERY SINGLE MINUTE of our stay there. Iulia and Luana made our stay so special and attended to our every need.....we just know that you will love them from the minute you walk through the door. The hotel is beautifully restored and kept immaculately clean. Our suite was very large and decorated to a high standard......and the view was absolutely breathtaking. The Hotel location is perfect.....perched on the side of the hill approaching the town of Cortona and within 3 minutes walk to the center of town where there are at least a dozen good choices for restaurants. We made easy day-trips to Siena, Assisi, Florence, Pienza, Montepulciano and several other small towns in Tuscany. Iulia and Luana made winery tour, cooking school and restaurant recommendation and reservations for us and we were always delighted with the outcome. We highly recommend the winery tour and tasting at Avignonesi.

The daily breakfast buffet was presented beautifully and was fresh a delicious every morning. We especially appreciated the complimentary apertif and nightcap each evening. It was a good way to relax after a busy day.....and also a great way to meet other guests.

This was our second visit to Cortona and our first stay at Hotel Villa Marsili. We recommend Cortona for it's central location in Tuscany......and the ease of which you can access the train system for the rest of Italy or Europe. And we recommend Hotel Villa Marsili because it truly is even better than home away from home. We hope to return for another stay in Cortona and will definitely be booking Marsili......hopefully for 2 weeks this time so we can spend more time enjoying Cortona and it's friendly people.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed at the Villa Marsili for 4 nights at the start of a 3 week trip. We were in Room 27 and even though that is on the corner, traffic noises did not bother us at all. Our room was a very nice size and very clean. During our visit we had no problems parking just up the street in the free spaces. The apertivi and vinsanto at the end of the evening were a nice touch, we had a few nights where we chatted with a number of other guests before going off to dinner. Breakfast was also a very nice variety. Julia and the rest of the staff were all very helpful and we enjoyed talking with them. We used Cortona as our Tuscany base, and for us it worked well, we had a GPS and would highly recommend one to others driving in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nparmelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We had no problem finding the Villa Marsili on the edge of the old town of Cortona.
We were greeted by Iulia like a long lost friend (my wife had been emailing her before coming). Gianluca took our luggage to the room while Iulia told us about the hotel, town, where to park, etc. She arranged lunch reservations at La Grotta (good choice).
That evening we had an apperitivi (and meet some nice people) and in the morning we had a good breakfast. Because we were celebrating our 40 anniversary, we even found a bottle good wine in the room.
When the time came, we hated to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Based on the reviews in TripAdvisor, my wife and I chose the Villa Marsili and Cortona as our Tuscan base. It was a perfect decision. We very much enjoy smaller cities/towns within our trips and Cortona is the perfect one. Ancient, picturesque, incredible location on a hillside, high above the gorgeous Tuscan countryside. The staff of the Villa Marsili, Luana and Iulia, could not have been more helpful, pleasant and wonderfull!! Do NOT hesitate to select the Villa Marsili. We will, indeed, recommend it to friends, and would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
746 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#3 of 24 in Cortona
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 24 in Cortona
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marsili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 13, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £103 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Marsili reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing