We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Authentic toscan experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Villa Baldelli
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Authentic toscan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Villa Baldelli is exactly what we were looking for for our stay in Tuscany. The 400 year old villa is simply stunning. The owner spent three years to renovate it but they managed to maintain it's authenticity. We were stranded in Florence and Ricardo gave us train schedule and arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the train station at our arrival. We were looking to rent a car and they called around and negotiated a price for us. The villa is staffed with friendly and attentive people. They served us an antipasto at 11pm when we arrived and we ate in their beautiful garden with a bottle of wine from their estate. Breakfast is great, on a nice day having breakfast in their garden with one of the neighbours' cat walking around makes you feel like your are in a movie. So picture perfect! I am writing this sitting by their beautiful pool looking out to the hills where the old town of cortina sits. Villa Baldelli is what Tuscany is all about. Value is amazing, location is perfect. Cant recommend it enough if authenticity is what your are looking for!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
156
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Beautiful location. Ricardo, the owner and all the staff made us feel very special. The food was lovely, especially being served outside under the stars The pool was s great addition. I will certainly return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czmscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galveston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The highlight of the tuscan hotels in which I stayed. While a bit pricey for my pocket, it was worth it. She even helped to fix my laptop. Loved the garden and the vineyard.
I felt as if I were in a home. I practiced my italian with all the staff and they were most tolerant.
Vittorio gave each of us a bottle of wine. I drank one and am still saving the other

Room Tip: we had a cottage separate from the main house which looked out on Cortona.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquarrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbcortona, Direttore at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Guest! Many thanks for your lovely comment. It was really kind of you.
We hope to have you here again and we wish you all the best!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at Villa Baldelli at the end of June in the middle of our trip to Italy. What a treat! We arrived at the train station and called the villa for our taxi. After no less than 10 minutes a gentleman came to pick us up. When we arrived at the Villa, we tried to tip him but he refused to take our money. We soon found out it was the owner of the Villa who picked us up - he didnt want us waiting at the train station too long! We only stayed 2 days - but I was sad to leave - it was like staying with family. They took wonderful care of us - even when we wanted to rent a car at the last minute. We had dinner at the Villa the first night on the patio and it was superb! From our seats we could look up and see Cortona - it was beautiful! Breakfast every morning was more than enough - fresh breads, coffee, tea, cheese, etc. The Villa sits below the town, on its own vineyard. We loved their wine so much that VIctorio (the owner) gave us a bottle to take home. We could not have asked for more and would highly recommend staying at Relais Villa Baldelli!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlandTonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbcortona, General Manager at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for your wonderful comment!
We hope to have you here again and we wish you all the best!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

All the reviews are spot on. You are definitely treated like a guest while staying here. It is a beautiful location with a POOL. During the month of July it is hard to beat that! We spent two nights here. The first night we took a taxi into town for dinner. The hotel contacted a taxi for us and it was Enzo, the same taxi driver that had picked us up from the train station. He spoke perect English and was our driver the entire stay. The hotel set up a wine tour for my husband and I last minute for the next day but somehow managed to find the most incredible guide. Lorenza was fabulous! We went to small independent wine makers that was absolutely what we wanted. Came back to a lovely dinner on the patio of the hotel with fabulous views of Cortona. Enzo was our taxi driver back to the train station as well which was lucky for us because we would have never been able to purchase train tickets from the Italian only machine without him! Would definitely have Cortona and this hotel on my travel list again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank melmcadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This place is a 10! My daughter and I took a trip to Italy. We visited six famous areas, including Tuscany. This place felt like home. The staff was outstanding, the place stunning, and our stay memorable. The place has the Tuscan charm that you dream about and see in movies. It's an incredibly beautiful place that looks like a post card. It's unbeatable in my humble opinion, and I went to numerous Tuscan cities; Sienna, Montepulciano,, Montalcino, San Gimignano, and Pienza, and saw some of the Villas and hotels, this was by far my favorite. I wanted to cry when I left.
During our stay we had problems with a rent a car agency , called Il Grasole (never rent from them), the staff was so helpfulI and took over the call to assist. They went above and beyond any otherplace would have. Donald, the man who runs the restaurant, was fantastic and went out of his way to accomodate us. Ricardo took so much time to help us with sightseeing. The staff became our second family. We will go back, without a doubt!

Room Tip: We Had room 24. Not a huge room but large by European standards and an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SerasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This was a 5-star experience in a 4-star hotel. We did not aim for the perfect palace as we wanted a lot of comfort mixed with authentic rustic Italian charm and we were not disappointed in any aspect. We arrived at midnight pretty tired from a long travel day and we were immediately escorted by Donald who was the most hospitable front desk manager one could ever expect and spent the next 30 minutes insuring everything was perfect from our luggage check to our car parking. The breakfast was also delicious and as I found out later, better stocked than other similar hotels. This classy rustic setting is ideal if you want to combine comfort, convenience and get the real feel for the place. Dinner is more a convenience than an experience, but it did not matter, we felt throughout our stay that we were not treated like clients, we were treated like guests.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We went for the Junior suites, they are roomy with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vbcortona, General Manager at Relais Villa Baldelli, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guests,

many thanks for your comment. It's true, we usually try to welcome our guests as if they were old family friends...
and sometimes it happens that Guests become friends of us!
This is terrific!
Thanks again,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Baldelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Baldelli

Property: Relais Villa Baldelli
Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 420, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cortona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Baldelli 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Villa Baldelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Baldelli Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Baldelli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing