We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wanna be there again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Villa Baldelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Villa Baldelli
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Ecuador
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I wanna be there again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

In the core of Cortona, falling in love with the best view ever, great place, friendly and professional service. Magic place to enjoy among friends.
Close to the land of "Under the Toscanian Sun"....a must be!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    51
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
156
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Afton, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, well kept and comfortable. David (owner) was amazingly helpful throughout our stay. He arranged wine tastings, side trips, and dinner plans. The pool area is beautiful. Our room was upgraded upon our arrival. The hotel has a restaurant on site that is outstanding. We would recommend this hotel to all of our friends and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at this hotel. We requested a room with a nice view and were very pleased to find we were upgraded. We had a wonderful view overlooking the pool and mountains behind which was very peaceful. The decor is very authentic and rustic, the pool area magnificent to relax in with great views to Cortona and the breakfast had a great selection with the ability to dine outdoors in the beautiful garden. Staff were friendly and helpful. Slight drawback is the 10 minute drive up a windy road into town. However, if you were to stay in town you wouldn't get such relaxing and beautiful hotel grounds so worth the trade-off. Cortona is an extremely beautiful town and we would highly recommend a visit. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CKH_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We visited the hotel in mid July because it was recommended by friends.It is a bit "Shabby Chic ",but it has a lovely relaxing atmosphere about it.The pool area and gardens were well tended when we were there and most attractive, the comfortable padded loungers and umbrellas made it an attractive area to sit in. Sitting in the garden at night for dinner with views of Cortona in the background was lovely.The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant . The service at dinner was slow but as we were not going anywhere that was fine,the waiter was lovely.The breakfast however was poor both in selection, presentation and particularly the service, on more than one occasion I had to go looking for cutlery ,plates,juice etc. The food was not always covered, considering the heat and fies this was a it off putting .They could easily have covered plates.
We would however love to return to the hotel again in the future as it was one of the highlights of our Tuscany holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintaidans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My initial impression upon arriving at the hotel was that it lacked a little bit of TLC....the lawn areas were in desperate need of cutting and the garden areas generally were overgrown with weeds. This sadly included the one golf 'hole' which any serious golfer would simply avoid...no difference between fairway, green and putting area!

That said the hotel staff are wonderful and the food and wine were excellent.

Our room would best be described as 'shabby chic' i.e. it was a bit tired but still clean and very comfortable.

The pool area is very pleasant and the views up to Cortona are fantastic.

All in all we enjoyed our stay very much but the photos on the hotel website and the actual experience on the ground are somewhat inconsistent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomaschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Although we had several trips to Tuscany, my wife and I could never find a chance to spend some time in Cortona. We're a bit late but it was lovely... Maybe much better than you had probably seen in the movie "Under the Tuscan Sun"...
We have to admit that, staying in Villa Baldelli added some more pleasure to our visit to Cortona. "Villa" was a few miles out of town, far from the madding crowd... The garden with the swimming pool was a huge plus... The staff, especially Ricardo was helpful. Waking up with the songs of birds early in the morning was like a dream. Rooms were decorated with elegant taste.
Everything I remember from Villa Baldelli makes me excited about our next trip to Cortona.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to a suite in the ground. It was beautiful furniture was lovely large room and bathroom. All the staff are very friendly and so are the owners. The grounds are very well kept and swimming pool very clean but cold, soon warm up when in though! The breakfast is great lots of choice including cooked items on request. The staff can arrange a taxi to Cortona at a cost of £15 euro's each way the journey is around 6 minutes. One night we walked back before dark and it took 45 minutes could not walk there in the heat and Cortona is very hilly. We ate at the hotel 1 evening the pasta was very nice. In Cortona eat at The Grotto the food there is very good but closed Tuesday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds007uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Baldelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Baldelli

Property: Relais Villa Baldelli
Address: San Pietro a Cegliolo, 420, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cortona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Baldelli 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Relais Villa Baldelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Baldelli Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Cortona
Relais Hotel Baldelli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing