We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of rehab” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
G'boro NC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“In need of rehab”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Fantastic location and views, but oh so outdated: service with an attitude, mediocre restaurants, tiny rooms and baths, no style, etc. etc. etc. What a shame; this hotel could be fabulous, but... retro '70's, who needs that?

Room Tip: #61, 4th floor overlooking valley was great view, but uncomfortably small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    106
    64
    27
    15
See reviews for
46
155
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

First, let me say that we booked this hotel at the last minute and were only able to get a room on the bottom floor. Because the hotel spills down the hillside, our view was limited by a building in front a little lower down the hill. Our room was small and I expect that most of the others are as well. However, it was clean, the staff were very helpful with internet access and restaurant recommendations. The location was great and parking just a short walk away.

The breakfast was minimal. Although I don't see this as a 4 star hotel, we would probably stay here again if we return to Cortona, but I would definitely want a view room.

Room Tip: Book early to get a view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toucantango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in may for a wedding. Get a room with a view overlooking valley, beautiful. Great position, breakfast was good. Food at the restaurant for wedding reception was superb.We were expecting small rooms in Europe, I found the rooms fine. Always get a beer from the bar, staff were great. Would stay again. Loved cortona and the people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel 7 nights as part of a Tuscany tour. Although, as described by another reviewer, the room is not large, it certainly was quite adequate for our needs, typical of European hotel rooms - even though one of our suitcases had to stay on the floor. On the other hand, the closet was also quite adequate, so frequent access to that suitcase was not necessary. The mattresses are firm and the beds comfortable. The view from our balcony was awesome. Bathroom also was small but adequte and hot water always came on right away for the shower. Breakfast included as variety of baked goods, two cereal choices, fruit, a platter of sliced ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, juice, coffee. Business center has two computers for guest use. Elevators, again small, worked well (note, the hotel is "upside down", that is the lobby is on the top and the rooms below). Service was good, wake-up calls about 5 min. late but reliable. Heating is generally off in May but if weather is cool, may be turned on again by request. ATM right across street. Would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony view over the valley. Rooms either have a queen or two si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Small.......think cruise ship,,,rooms,,,,,,really small,,,think bad motel,, bathrooms. Small,,think phone booth,, elevators..breakfast was good,,room terribly,,you guessed it...small. But the location is gret, the people were good, and there is an outdoor patio that rocks .

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank onthego802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent a week here in September and enjoyed all aspects of our visit. Beginning with the location, a good choice! No need to haul luggage all over town as the road leads right up to the front door. The staff were very helpful at all times looking after all of our needs, big or small, promptly and with a smile. Our room was very comfortable, and although the bathroom was "cozy", it was a normal European size. If you want a Hilton, stay in North America. The view from our balcony was magnificent. No complaints, just praise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we highly recommend it. The first time we just came across it. The second time we specifically chose to stay here. Both times we had view rooms and the view is a spectacular one over the valley below. We stayed two nights and as we were on a motorcycle we were allowed to leave it in the front of the hotel (which was important to us). Mariano and staff were helpful and friendly. This hotel is wonderfully situated for walking around Cortona. Breakfast is extensive but would recommend getting up early if you want eggs for breakfast. Cortona itself is one of our favorite places in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#14 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.4 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Property: Hotel San Luca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 1, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is in Cortona historic centre, a 15-minute drive from Lake Trasimeno. It offers air-conditioned and stylish rooms with satellite TV and minibar.The hotel’s terrace offers a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. There is a gym on the covered terrace and a separate sun terrace with a hot tub.Free Wi-Fi is available in the whole building. Reception is open 24 hours a day.The hotel is around 3 km from Camucia di Cortona Station and a 25-minute drive from the A1 motorway. You can reach Perugia by car in 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing