We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever.”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best hotel ever.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have been to San Luca hotel for 10 days in August, I have had the most wonderful time. The views are stunning, the staff are very friendly and the room was spotless. I will definitely go there again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleidis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    126
    74
    32
    18
See reviews for
53
190
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This Hotel was arranged as part of a group tour. The hotel does a lot of group tours. It is on a hill with a great view, right outisde of the entrance to the old part of Cortona. For the group, meals were a fixed menu, but the food was good. The rooms are small, but comfortable, if you have a view of the valley. People with inside rooms, were not as satisfied. The hotel has a full service menu, but we did not try it.

Room Tip: must have a room with a view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the San Luca for a couple of nights in July and had a great time. As the other reviews have mentioned, the hotel’s selling point is its unique position on the edge of Cortona’s cliff like hillside, offering spectacular panoramas of the Tuscan countryside. Located a couple of minutes from the main square, the San Luca is a great base for exploring Cortona’s winding streets, traditional restaurants, shops & street cafes.
The hotel itself is a great choice. I would say if anything, the rooms could do with a little upgrading bringing them up to par with the rest of the hotel which emulates its 4 star status, but they’re clean, spacious and comfortable all the same. We didn’t explore the whole hotel, but the reception, breakfast and restaurant areas are superb. The staff are also great and speak very good English. The restaurant is a good choice for typically Tuscan cuisine, especially nice if you can find a table on the terrace to take in the views.
If you’re arriving by car, parking is located at the bottom of the hill on a large, free lot. Reception did allow us to park at the front of the hotel for 10mins to drop off our bags and get directions to the car park etc. There is an escalator back up to the town from the bottom of the hill if you don’t fancy trekking up the steps. Cortona is located on quite a steep hillside so expect a few narrow, winding roads on your route up, all worth it of course.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, and wouldn’t think twice about booking on our next visit to Cortona.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danyelle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a really super hotel in an unbelievable location.
To locate it basically drive up to the town, when you get to a pedestrian area you are there. The
hotel is in front of you, to the left. There is a small parking area, so that you can unload. Parking is just below the Hotel(free).
Cortona is a great town to explore, if you have the energy walk to the top of the town to visit Santa Margarita, the interior is stunning, and the views from here are great. Otherwise the town is just great to walk around (and up).
Please try to ensure you get a room with a view of the valley, best way is to communicate direct with the hotel, you will then get what you want. We were on the fifth floor, with a balcony, it is a really super place to stay.
Our only regret was only staying for 2 days. Breakfast wasn't stunning(it was ok) but the view from breakfast terrace was.
Enjoy, Pete

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel, you will then improve your chances of getting a wonderful valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Abu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our room has a balcony with a lovely outlook over the surrounding countryside, yet we were close to the town centre and all that was happening . This is a quaint hotel with great staff and very convenient for walking excursions too. the food was good, both breakfasts and dinner.We have stayed here before and would do so again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Returned to San Luca for 6 Nights as married there 10 years ago and celebrated 10th anniversary. Location divine above the valley with views to Perugia and Montepulciano. Good base to visit from. Lobby nicely refurbished but rooms unchanged after all this time....desperate for upgrade. Bathrooms tiny!
Breakfast good. Anniversary dinner fabulous and lovely touch of complimentary Mille Fieulle dessert wonderful!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our night here. We had a great view of the valley. Yes, the room was small, but no smaller than any other non-US chain hotel in our month in Italy. The front desk folks were very helpful.

The room was very clean. The matress on the bed was good, but not great.

The breakfast was a typical Italian continental breakfast.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 24 in Cortona
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasi Neumann
Hotel Oasi Neumann
#17 of 24 in Cortona
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Property: Hotel San Luca
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 1, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is in Cortona historic centre, a 15-minute drive from Lake Trasimeno. It offers air-conditioned and stylish rooms with satellite TV and minibar.The hotel’s terrace offers a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. There is a gym on the covered terrace and a separate sun terrace with a hot tub.Free Wi-Fi is available in the whole building. Reception is open 24 hours a day.The hotel is around 3 km from Camucia di Cortona Station and a 25-minute drive from the A1 motorway. You can reach Perugia by car in 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing