We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In an old monastery, sweeping views, requires 15-minute uphill hike to town”
Review of Hotel Oasi Neumann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Oasi Neumann
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“In an old monastery, sweeping views, requires 15-minute uphill hike to town”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Fairly big hotel located in the thick walls of an old monastery. Quite clean, with a pleasant garden. A bit below the town proper; requires a 15-minute hike (a bit uphill) to reach the main square. Lain on a hillside, offers nice sweeping views of the town and countryside. Decent service. The cleaners and kitchen staff typically speak no English. Breakfasts are rather simple (bread, croissants, sausage, cheese, yoghurt), lunches and dinners mean typical simple Italian fare as the locals know it. Generally ok, but not highly inspirational. Other than the pleasant garden, no sports facilities. Free WiFi, but only in the foyer and hallways, doesn't reach into the rooms.Fairly spacious rooms with heavy furniture, austere design. Equiped with bathroom (and Italian sockets). Clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nostramadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    33
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
32
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

For a 3 star, great----garden and terrace in back beautiful with stunning view---rooms very sparse, simple but clean. Front desk staff superb, free wifi in common area. Small clean bathroom
Only drawback food-breakfast buffet only ok and meals there not recommended. Perfect launch to to see Cortona without being in middle of town. I had beautiful view of countryside fields. No a/c but being old stone monastery kept temp not too bad!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2008

When we arrived we were asked if we wanted a view of the countryside or the garden. We said the countryside but were disappointed with the room's view, so they moved us to a garden view room. The view was of the garden and in the distance the Tuscan hills and a lake. We knew at that point why we had come to Tuscany. BEAUTIFUL! In unison we said "Aaaaahhhhh! There is nothing like opening the window and the shutters to such magnificence. It was a very peaceful stay. This is probably not the hotel for you if you are looking for excitement. The room was very simple but with an Italian flair. There were wonderfully extra heavy blankets for cold nights. There were very few people when we were there and the breakfast was simple but sufficient. We walked the 15 minutes up the hill to Cortona several times and it was quite a walk uphill when you are out of shape, but well worth taking in the wildflowers, Wisteria covered arbors (we were there mid April), and the patchwork countryside. The staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful. We loved our stay and would most definitely return. Be sure to read the history of the hotel before you go and it will enhance your appreciation of where you are. The only slight negative was that the shower was very small but we found this to be true throughout Italy.

  • Liked — Views of Tuscany
  • Disliked — Hours for breakfast too limited.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Had one night here as the first night of an 8 day cycling holiday from Tuscany into Umbria. Arrived by train from Rome. Stunning location and views (especially from bedroom window) but felt very austere like walking through a hospital. Stop was dinner, bed and breakfast and I can see why dinner was thrown in as it was very basic and you would not eat there by choice. Walked into town after early dinner (15 minutes uphill along road) and it was buzzing and we wished we had arranged to stay in the town.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

The Oasi was an excellent value. The rooms were simple, clean, staff very friendly, and the food was quite good with a self serve buffet breakfast. No lunch and dinner reservations must be requested at the front desk during the morning hours. Two minor drawbacks...the parking is limited if the hotel is full, and it's an uphill 15 minute walk to Cortona if you don't have a vehicle. Taxi rides are available if you contact the front desk staff. I was there with an art workshop group. It was perfect for our needs. The valley view from the hotel garden was panoramic.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Walk to town
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtCJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

I was at the Oasi Neumann for a week and a half for a music festival, so I got to know the surrounding area fairly well.

The hotel does in fact boast a spectacular view. Whether day or night, it's nothing short of inspiring.

That said, a very similar view can be had from the town of Cortona, a 10-15 minute walk up the hill. In my opinion, the town of Cortona is not so bustling and busy that it would detract from the 'getting away' feeling, whereas the uphill climb every time you want to go into town can get old rather quickly.

The accomodations are nice (room sizes vary widely) and the food was for the most part good. It's probably worth going into town for most of the food, though, as there are some terrific restaurants.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2006

Something of an enigma: the hotel can't seem to decide whether it's still a monastery or not. The rooms are fine but austere; the public spaces are bare and instituitional. The hotel has excellent views, but is quite distinctly out of town, so not convenient if one wants a stroll around. Breakfast was dull

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaricthegoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Santa Margherita
Villa Santa Margherita
#10 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasi Neumann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasi Neumann

Property: Hotel Oasi Neumann
Address: Via Le Contesse n. 1, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasi Neumann 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
…A few yards from the mighty Etruscan/Medieval walls of Cortona, in a beautiful, unique panoramic spot stands the ancient Santa Maria alle Contesse Monastery (the present-day Hotel Oasi Neumann). The interesting history of this venue, destined to last more than seven centuries, started between 1225 and 1230. Ideal for a holiday devoted to art, culture and mysticism, and particularly suited for those seeking peace and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oasi Neumann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasi Neumann Cortona
Oasi Neumann Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing