We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Il Casale
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

4 of us stayed in one of the apartments for 6 nights towards the end of June.
The apartment was very spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a full well equipped kitchen and lounge room so very adequate space for 4 people.
The grounds are stunning with plenty of places to sit outside including very nice pool with plenty of sun beds.
There is a laundry - it costs 5 euros per load. Wifi is available - one device is free then extra logons have a fee.
Location wise it is perfect for exploring the Umbria and Tuscany regions. Is close to supermarket and shops. A very short drive to Cortona which is wonderful! We also drove to the local train station and parked and got a train to Florence for a day trip which was easy and not very expensive.
There are not restaurant or bar facilities on site, but just a short walk away there is another property with the same owner that has a lovely restaurant with good food.
Would recommend this place especially if you have a bigger group, a family or are staying for longer than a few nights as it is close to everything, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyMac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I just returned from Italy, which included a 5 night stay at Residence Il Casale, with 3 other friends. We were welcomed when we arrived late at night by Mr. Victorio, who was very hospitable even though we hardly speak any Italian. Alessandra was also very helpful beforehand by answering emails with questions and when we got there.

The apartment we stayed in was very clean and spacious for the 4 of us, with 2 full bathrooms and 2 large bedrooms. The property was beautiful, quiet and a place we all agreed that we would return to. The weather was just warming up so we didn't get to use the pool, but it was very clean surrounded by beautiful lawn and welcoming.

Room Tip: Being on floor level might be nice to be able to open up to the gardens. Our apartment was very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneygirlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Had five days relaxing here and self catered throughout. Our suite was well enough appointed to allow us to cook what we planned - maybe could have done with some more crockery and glassware though. We had super private terrace at rear just yards from shared swimming pool. Gardens were well kept and a pleasure to wander in. Reception was efficient and friendly and catered for all our needs. But opening hours were a bit too variable. It would have been simple to ask visitors when they intended to arrive and have someone there to welcome them rather than be greeted after a (long) journey with a mobile number to ring. The external signage and the guest handbook could do with a rewrite to make them more welcoming and informative but that is a detail. There is a warm welcome from Adriana who speaks excellent English and for whom nothing is a problem. We will be back for more soon

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We selected Residence Il Casale for its location and great price. We were not disappointed. This was the ideal location to explore nearby Cortona or any of the several wonderful hilltop towns in Tuscany and Umbria.

Our host Vittorio was personable and very helpful. Our room consisted of a living area with couches and dining table, a kitchenette with stove, small refrigerator and sink, and a master bedroom downstairs, and extra bedroom upstairs with twin beds. This converted farm residence has about a half dozen units, each well furnished.

The property is beautifully landscaped and is very quiet. The exception would be the gentle and melodic ringing of a nearby church bell. The swimming pool was unheated and a bit to chilly for us, except for a quick and refreshing dip. A laundry room is available, and we were able to do all our laundry for a low price. Hanging racks are available to dry your clothes outside your room. WI-Fi internet is available, but it was not very reliable.

The sister property, Villa Baldelli, is just a few hundred yards walk and provides an elegant option for dinner.

Overall, we had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The units nearer the main building have slightly better internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a charming and lovely property. Our apartment was lovely and tastefully furnished. It was spotlessly clean.

The gardens are lovely. I simply cant understand why another reviewer complained about the grass.. its a hot country and the gardens are maintained in a rustic style. I especially admired the owners tomato and courgette patch!

The pool is wonderful and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The location close to beautiful Cortona is good. We used the train station locally (10 mins drive) to go to Florence but you can also go to Rome. The staff provided a timetable.

There is a good local supermarket 5 mins drive away.

Overall very good and highly reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Il Casale is a a collection of villas and apartments spread around some lovely gardens. Lots of shade, good sized pool but few other facilities. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and is great for relaxing. We took a toddler and parents should be aware that the 2 bed villas have open, wooden stair cases which our daughter took a tumble on. Wifi is patchy, laundry costs extra as does borrowing things like a hairdryer (not included). Also no beach towels provided. Reception is closed is closed frequently also. I think it's a great place to stay if you are planning to take a lot of day trips, but a bit spartan as a main holiday location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerCortona, Direttore at Residence Il Casale, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are quite disappointed in reading this review, since our Residence is confused with an hotel yet again. Il Casale is not an hotel and it hasn't the same features of an hotel. Il Casale is a countryside self-catering apartment complex. Mostly all of our competitors (that doesn't mean hotels, of course) doesn't even offer a Reception, whereas our office is open 7-8 hrs a day. Then, not all of the apartments are 2-floor: unfortunately when the guest made the booking, this was the last family apartment available... you can ask many other guests that went to Il Casale during this summer: everytime we can move families with little children to a one-floor apartment, we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed with my two kids, 14 and 10, for 6 days in July 2013. My guess is that il casale has fallen on hard times: there is a space that used to be a bar/café, but is now sort of a storage place; the flowers in the planters are in bloom and watered, but the grass on the rest of the grounds is dead and weedy. The pool is very nice and kept up well. Our 'apartment' was clean and charming, but there was absolutely NOTHING in the way of supplies: not even salt and pepper. Besides the dishes, utensils, and pots/pans, the only thing supplied was some coffee filters. They charged 5 euro to use the washing machine and I had to keep running back there to try to get my wash in before someone else did. They provide towels, but unless you stay for a week you have to pay 2 euro each for fresh ones. In order to get the 'free' wifi, we had to stand outside close to the reception area. The people who worked in reception were nice and helpful, but it wasn't open all the time. All in all, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauri_jst12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerCortona, Manager at Residence Il Casale, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear guest,
concerning your review, I feel disappointed from what you wrote: maybe you were not enough aware of what a Residence is.
First of all, you can easily read more recent reviews. We are not used to ask our guests for good reviews, even if they are happy with their stay here. That's why all the review you can find on our page are sincere and spontaneous; then you must know that most of our guests come from Northern Europe, where Tripadvisor is not so widespread, as a matter of fact.
When you say that our place has fallen on hard times, you are wrong. The "bar" sign you saw belongs to the very first year of opening of our Residence, but that room has never been used as a bar, since our apartments have their own kitchen and it would have been unnecessary.
As per your opinion upon our garden, I confirm that our care for the gardening is really high, having a full-time gardener to take care of it.
At the entrance of the laundry room you find a sign with the rate for any service (cleaning powder included), and I honestly cannot understand why you did have to run, since usually we give just one key at a time... maybe you met the maids, since they have their own washing machine there, but they were for sure not interested in your clothes!
In every apartment and at the Reception you can read the infos about our Residence, which clearly remember that we usually change for free all of the linens and towels only at the end of a one-week stay. For shorter period, we ask for a little extra.
Our property is a Residence, that means that we would be able to avoid any receptioning service: we offer a 7-hours service daily for meeting our of all guests needs. Maybe you were looking for an Hotel, everybody knows that a Residence is different from this point of view. I can say the same things for what you wrote about the supplies! We've got many supermarkets round the Residence in which you can buy the things you need, but it's normal that we offer just pans, cutlery, dishes and all you need for cooking... not pasta or other things!
IMHO, you made a wrong choice in choosing a Residence... maybe an Hotel would have suited your needs.
Kind regards,

Vittorio Accioli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.0 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
6.7 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#10 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.7 mi away
Villa Marsili - Chateaux et Hotel Collection
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Il Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Il Casale

Property: Residence Il Casale
Address: Localita San Pietro a Cegliolo, 434, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Il Casale 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence in The Valley of Etruscan Princes Il Casale, a residence out of a building of the year 500 sits in front of the towers, the domes the green and the sky of Cortona, a city of ancient origins, often visited by the ex French president Mitterand, and today by the University of Georgia (UGA). During august it is the chosen location for the National Antiques Showroom, where for the occasion, in the old rooms of Palazzo Casali and Palazzo Vagnotti, all the most important Italian exhibitors gather. The rural complex is situated nearby the San Pietro a Cegliolo neighbourhood. Today it is a very comfortable and accommodating Residence, hidden in the silence of a spectacular and suggestive creation of the nature. It is laid out around a huge garden and the mother tower which overlooks the main building, which is also the oldest and still maintains the original features, like the double slope roof and the external stairway with a wide landing for the middle floor access. Behind one of the complexes' wings, finds room on over an hectare of green grass, the swimming pool which is for guests use only. Built with the most modern and efficient techniques its size is 16 by 8 meters. Furnished with deck chairs, comfortable pillows, umbrellas, showers and everything to help relax and fun for the kids, while watching Cortona's skyline. The garden is one of the most beautiful features of the complex. Very well grown and cared, shines with plenty of different flowers varieties and plants which give colour to the spectacular green English carpet. Here you'll find the tables and chairs for breakfast and dinner in a relaxing environment. The residence is made of 10 apartments, of which 8 sleep 4, one sleep 3, and one sleep 2. They all provide a stylish and elegant solution, floors and ceilings made with old cotto tiles and antique furniture aging around the year '800. Everything carefully planned and put together in respect of the most modern way of living. The apartments have two bedrooms, some of which with two double beds, some other with one double bed and a room with single beds, bathroom with shower and the living room with a cooking corner (fire spots, electrical oven, fridge, double sink). The general feeling is of a relaxing and "antique" luxurious environment. The bedrooms are especially thought in the way they've been furnished. Antique beds ('700 and '800), carpets who match the period of the furniture, practical closets also from the '800 style. Everything is planned to match with the floors and the ceilings. Apartment sleep 4: two bedrooms with two double beds or one double bed and two single beds, bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 3: one big bedroom with a double bed and a single bed, two bathrooms with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 2: one bedroom with a double bed, one bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Possibility to have additional beds on request. SERVICES: Every apartment has its own external space furnished with garden chairs and table, and inside provides Satellite TV, air conditioning/heating direct phone line. WI-FI CONNECTION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Il Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Casale Cortona
Residence Il Casale Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing