We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bella Il Casale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Il Casale
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
virginia
2 reviews
“bella Il Casale”
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I had a wonderful experience at Il Casale villas. The owners were friendly and the grounds were beautiful. It made for the best trip to Italy. The pool was immaculate and open for swimming at all hours. The rooms were spacious and fully equipped for cooking.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank andreavirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

My wife and I stayed here in may 2007. We were looking for a place that had a country feel with some piece and quite and near to a town. Our stay here did not provide any of this. Don't believe the advert of 3km to Cortona, it's more like 5km and the local taxi service was a rip off at €30 return. (However, they were very punctual and friendly).

We obviously were the first of the season and the villa seemed as though it had not seen fresh air in months and were greeted with scorpions (that’s what they looked like) and Geckos in the house, that was nearly enough to send my wife packing.

Unfortunately, the pool did not open until the day before our departure, but it did not look very inviting, the poolside furniture had seen better days, never mind the dirt of the water.

The villa we stayed in "Glicini" was next door to the boiler house and after three sleepless nights with the noise of the boiler, we asked to be moved, I have a little Italian so was able to make myself understood. Unfortunately, the reply was "if we had mentioned it earlier they would have moved us but because we were only staying a few more nights, it was tough".

Overall, it could be a good place if they maintained it a bit better and for us anyway, we did not get the friendly service that other reviewers have voiced. maybe it is better in the high season. Avoid villa "Glicini"

  • Liked — quaint buildings and surrounds
  • Disliked — in need of naintenance and noisy boiler house
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2006

We spent 3 days and 2 nights at Il Casale and had a delightful time. We were travelling with our 15 year old son and 17 year old daughter, so having the extra space of a spacious 2 bedroom apartment was a welcome treat from hotel rooms. The villa was beautiful, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated, and it made a perfect way to have a Tuscan villa experience. The grounds were lovely and it was fun to come back and hang out at the pool in the afternoon. The best part of Il Casale was getting to know the owners, Vittorio and Alessandra. They were very friendly, helpful, and went way out of their way to make us feel welcome. Allessanda was delightful and was always available to help and Vittorio even took us on a tour of his vineyard and gave us a bottle of wine! It was a great location for taking side trips (we loved Cortona, Assisi, and Siena) but a car is difinitely necessary. We would definitely return to Il Casale!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bcb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 July 2005

I have stayed at several hotels in Cortona and tried Il Casale last time I was there. It was a wonderful alternative to the regular hotels, with a very comfortable setting, great amenities (laundry, kitchen, air conditioning) and an exceedingly friendly staff. All that for less than the price of a regular hotel. If you are planning to stay in Cortona for longer than a few days, you will appreciate it.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2005

With my family and some friends we spent one week at il Casale near Cortona : it was fantastic!
We begin in the morning going to the swimming-pool and then after our breakfast we went to visit wonderful places because we really were near the best places (Pienza, Montepluciano, Siena, Assisi...) and after our full day we went again to the pool and had an apertif looking at the beautiful view : the hill of Cortona.
The owner Vittorio was friendly : he brought us a bottle of his own wine (he has vineyards) and some cakes his daughter made for the breakfast : both delicious! We really felt at home, sharing our time between culture and relax.... finally a place to have rest! That's why this was the perfect holiday for me, family and friends

Helpful?
4 Thank BethLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2005

This place is all about getting your money. They quote the price (which seems reasonable) but then add on extra for everything which makes it exorbitant. They charged a substantial daily fee for heat (36 Euro for 3 days) and a "final cleaning" fee (40 Euro). These items should be included in the base price. In 3 days we never had a bed made or clean towels or anything and then they charged a final cleaning fee. How ridiculous! We felt very unwelcome and felt that they only wanted as much money as they could get from you. There was no assistance for anything. Even the one bike had a flat tire that they hadn't replaced in a very long time (as it had been ridden to shreds). To stay there requires a car to get around. It has beautiful grounds and is a nice room(s) but I wouldn't recommend it. You can get a much better place for the value elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 April 2005

Tough place to describe. The various photos you find on the internet make it appear to be very large and rural, which isn't exactly the case. There are a number of other properties/roads surrounding it, which are fairly close. The property itself is very picturesque, but some of the area in the immediate vicinity isn't.
The place also isn't quite as close to the actual city of Cortona as I had assumed. It would be a very long and very hilly walk. A car is pretty much a necessity.
I think when you go would also make a difference. It was cold and somewhat rainy when I was there. As a result, when I was back at Il Casale I was stuck inside mostly. I'm sure in the Spring and Summer it's more enjoyable when you can sit outside on the grounds or by the pool. I think if I was going back to Cortona for a week or more in the Summer I'd consider staying there again. But I think for a short visit or at a different time of the year, I'd stay somewhere else.
The apartment itself was a mix. The architecture was very nice, as were many of the furnishings (e.g. beds/wardrobes). But some of the furnishings, like the couches, were sort of shabby (and had in turn been covered by sort of shabby sheet covers).

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.0 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
6.7 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#12 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.7 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Il Casale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Il Casale

Property: Residence Il Casale
Address: Via San Pietro a 434, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Il Casale 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence in The Valley of Etruscan Princes Il Casale, a residence out of a building of the year 500 sits in front of the towers, the domes the green and the sky of Cortona, a city of ancient origins, often visited by the ex French president Mitterand, and today by the University of Georgia (UGA). During august it is the chosen location for the National Antiques Showroom, where for the occasion, in the old rooms of Palazzo Casali and Palazzo Vagnotti, all the most important Italian exhibitors gather. The rural complex is situated nearby the San Pietro a Cegliolo neighbourhood. Today it is a very comfortable and accommodating Residence, hidden in the silence of a spectacular and suggestive creation of the nature. It is laid out around a huge garden and the mother tower which overlooks the main building, which is also the oldest and still maintains the original features, like the double slope roof and the external stairway with a wide landing for the middle floor access. Behind one of the complexes' wings, finds room on over an hectare of green grass, the swimming pool which is for guests use only. Built with the most modern and efficient techniques its size is 16 by 8 meters. Furnished with deck chairs, comfortable pillows, umbrellas, showers and everything to help relax and fun for the kids, while watching Cortona's skyline. The garden is one of the most beautiful features of the complex. Very well grown and cared, shines with plenty of different flowers varieties and plants which give colour to the spectacular green English carpet. Here you'll find the tables and chairs for breakfast and dinner in a relaxing environment. The residence is made of 10 apartments, of which 8 sleep 4, one sleep 3, and one sleep 2. They all provide a stylish and elegant solution, floors and ceilings made with old cotto tiles and antique furniture aging around the year '800. Everything carefully planned and put together in respect of the most modern way of living. The apartments have two bedrooms, some of which with two double beds, some other with one double bed and a room with single beds, bathroom with shower and the living room with a cooking corner (fire spots, electrical oven, fridge, double sink). The general feeling is of a relaxing and "antique" luxurious environment. The bedrooms are especially thought in the way they've been furnished. Antique beds ('700 and '800), carpets who match the period of the furniture, practical closets also from the '800 style. Everything is planned to match with the floors and the ceilings. Apartment sleep 4: two bedrooms with two double beds or one double bed and two single beds, bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 3: one big bedroom with a double bed and a single bed, two bathrooms with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 2: one bedroom with a double bed, one bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Possibility to have additional beds on request. SERVICES: Every apartment has its own external space furnished with garden chairs and table, and inside provides Satellite TV, air conditioning/heating direct phone line. WI-FI CONNECTION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Il Casale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Casale Cortona
Residence Il Casale Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing