We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Borgo San Pietro
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A bit hard to find, but you won't be sorry---what a gem! If you're looking for a beautiful, scenic, couples place to stay in Tuscany, look no furhter. I am not exaggerating when I say everyone there (including the owner) treated us like special family members on a visit home. We had been there before 5 years ago for one night on our honeymoon, and the place made such an impression on us that we dreamed of coming back for our 5th anniversary and spending a whole week there. I'm so glad we did---it could not have been more wonderful! I wish I could hug and thank each member of the staff for all of the special things they did for us. I can't even call the Relais Borgo San Pietro a "hotel" because it is so much more. The grounds and rooms are beautiful of course and so well maintained. Centrally located in tuscany, it gives you the real feel of being in Italy, not some homogenized hotel. Its simply charming. The staff though deserves special kudos. From helping us plan our week's itinery through Tuscany, to taking extra care to make sure we had perfect breakfasts and dinners, to caring for our every need, they did so much above and beyond for us it would be impossible to list it all. I don’t know how so many extraordinarily nice people came to work at the same place, but we are so glad we found them! We are already planning our 10th anniversary, and we definitely want to make the Relais Borgo San Pietro our central stop. Its our favorite place in all of Italy. Thanks again for making us feel not only welcome, but more like good friends. We will be thinking of this last trip very fondly for years to come thanks to the special attention we received. Thank you, you made our anniversary extra special!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgosanpietro, Responsabile reception at Villa Borgo San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Many thanks for your beautiful report on your stay at Relais Borgo San Pietro.
I really hope to seeing you again and I send you my warmest regards,

Margherita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

your comments:
Enchanting place. Delicious, elegant dinner. You won't want to break the atmosphere by asking if the wines that they insist enhance the meal are included in the price so get all that straight ahead of time. Very accommodating staff. Clean and beautiful room. Our view was of the historic mountaintop town of Cortona, close enough to distinguish different buildings. We stayed on a Saturday night and could hear the gentle sounds of vespers and Sunday morning service from the nearby chiesa as well as church bells from Cortona. Otherwise it was total quiet with the only sounds of life being made occasionally by a curious bird or distant dog. The time could have been centuries ago. From Cortona, set your Tom Tom or GPS for the "city" of Cegliolo. It'll take you to the tiny village of Tavernelle di Cortona. At the traffic light, turn right. See a building that I think is a very old church on the left, and turn left. Within about 100 yards or less, you'll see the tall, old, stone gates and the name San Pietro on the left. Our Tom Tom told us we'd arrived before we could see the gates. [Do Not drive up the mountain.] Once you're inside the gates, the driveway is about 200 meters long and a beautiful drive. The soccer field that they tell you is a landmark is inside their gates, so it isn't a helpful reference. Thank you for a delightful visit. If we should return to that part of Italy, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had requested a smoking room or one with a smoking balcony or patio which may be the reason we go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgosanpietro, Responsabile reception at Villa Borgo San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the marvellous report that you sent about our Property. I look forward to welcome here again and I wish you all the best!

Margherita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

To enjoy the country side of TOSCANA just near Cortona- a nice property - Rooms and a pool in Summer. A good place for 2 -3 nights if you want to explore the area.
Like a small country Hotel run with a family touch of owners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lieblingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgosanpietro, Responsabile reception at Villa Borgo San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the marvellous report that you sent about our Property. I look forward to welcome here again and I wish you all the best!

Margherita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Was there for one week last July (prolonged for one day, actually). Great service, great appartment, great pool. Very quiet. Wifi only in the reception, with a bit irritating logon feature (as in most of Italy, not the hotels fault). Ok breakfast.
Great place for families!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0kle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgosanpietro, Responsabile reception at Villa Borgo San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you very much for the marvellous report that you sent about our Property. I look forward to welcome here again and I wish you all the best!

Margherita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Relais Borgo San Pietro looked to be an old stone villa with multiple out buildings, now turned into a wonderfully renovated inn with additional apts. Our room, #123, was beautifully appointed with a luxurious bathroom. The shower was built into part of the original stone wall and has a stone lintel surrounding all sides of the door...like showering in a vault. Breakfast was tasty with homemade cake and tarts, croissants, yogurt, fruit, the traditional crusty regional bread, as well as plates of meats and cheeses. There was also different varieties of juice, one of which I've never seen before but was delicious. Freshly squeezed?? It was a blend of carrot, orange and lemon. Unbelievable! Enjoyed staying there, but the one downside was the distance from the old town of Cortona. We took taxis and that ran about 15Euro each way. The property is lovely, with multiple terraces as well as a pool (but that was already closed down when we were there in early October.)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Before our visit to Cortona I reviewed several properties and finally decided upon Borgo San Pietro. I feel I made the perfect choice after our stay there. The property is about a ten minuete drive from Cortona. It is in the valley below the hill that Cortona sits on. By the way ,being from Texas we call that a mountain folks. The propery as the name suggests is rustic and has that in the country feel. It is surronded by orchards. Apple,fig,pomegranite, lemon and olive trees are all in close proximity to the hotel. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. Try to get one with a patio if possible. We enjoyed sitting on the patio in the evening with a glass of wine and listening to the quiet. They also have a very beautiful swimming pool but be aware the water is more than cool. The staff was very helpful and couteous and went out of thier way to assist in any way they could. We highly recommend this property to anyone coming to the Tuscany area.

Room Tip: try to get one with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELINOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Not easy to find in the dark, even with a SatNav so our first impressions were just relief at having finally arrived. However waking to the stunning views of the Tuscan hillside and enjoying the most wonderful breakfast on the terrace in the early morning sunshine, Borgo San Pietro rapidly became a very special place. I wish we had more time to explore the extensive gardens. We were lucky enough to have a room upgrade, so our spacious room was very well appointed, TV, minibar, sofa etc. The staff were all very friendly and attentive, and the cappuccinos at breakfast were fabulous! The Relais is very well placed for Cortona and Arezzo and I would not hesitate to stay there again given the opportunity (now we know how to find it!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McNeills66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#10 of 24 in Cortona
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
403 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Relais La Corte dei Papi
#1 of 1 in La Dogana
658 reviews
7.1 mi away
Relais Villa Petrischio
Relais Villa Petrischio
#14 of 24 in Cortona
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Borgo San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Borgo San Pietro

Address: Localita San Pietro a Cegliolo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £96 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Borgo San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Borgo San Pietro is an ancient XVII century farm transformed into a charming Relais with outdoor swimming pool composed of 14 rooms and 5 apartments. Thanks to an intelligent restoration the new purpose of the structure took into account yet maintaining its ancient look. The old well, the fruit and olive trees, the grass fields, combined with the old prints, paintings and furniture, give that peaceful feeling and atmosphere of a Tuscan country house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Borgo San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Pietro Hotel Cortona
Relais Borgo San Pietro Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing