We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location, get the right rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Borgo San Pietro
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Lelystad, Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet location, get the right rooms”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights. Booked one normal and one superior room. Upon arival we were greeted ouside by the receptionist: a nice and welcoming touch. Both our rooms were in different buildings neither had balcony and our superior was pretty dark, though roomy. When we looked around the place we dicovered that several roooms had actual gardens and terrasses. When we asked if one of those would be available for our stay we were given a lovely (though slightly smaller) room but with nice garden area and table and chairs for the 4 of us. A big improvement.
The place seems pretty recently converted, but the decor is antique and tuscan. The beds are new however as is the AC in every room. We needed that because it was very hot during our stay. The bathrooms are modern and differ per room. Ousr had a very small shower, the other an extremely roomy one.
It is a nice hotel, but the area is full of similar places and it doesn't stand out except for the very pleasant staff.
The pool area was much appreciated: large pool with more than enough seating area and chairs and umbrellas: towels for hire or bring your own! We spend many pleasant hours there. In the early evening there is a drinks-service by the pool: also a very pleasant touch.
Breakfast is not elaborate and with no daily variation, but the nice breakfast patio makes up for that.
There was supposed to be Wifi internet troughout the hotel and rooms, but it didn't work. Only in the reception area and extremely slow. Also not free.
Cortona is a very pleasant little town with lots of nice places to eat: the hotel staff have very good recommendations and will make your reservation. The staff is very friendly.
One last thing: there are a lot of mosquitos around the place, the rooms have netting across the windows, but it doesn't keep them out all together. We had our own electrical repellants (been to Cortona before) but you definitely need something to keep them away at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    51
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
106
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We would highly recommend this Inn. A little difficult to locate, be sure to get directions from them. Its worth the search, beautiful grounds and Silvia is "first class".

The conversion from farm to Relais is flawless, worth whatever it takes to stay there. Very quiet, except for the distant chimes, take someone you love..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobCole711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

a beautiful place to stay and use as a base to tour around Toscana.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumpolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2010

myself, husband and another couple stayed at this hotel combining a work trip and holiday. the rooms were very well decorated and clean. The hotel itself was in a fantastic location in the Tuscan Hills near Cortona. You need a car to get there and around. The staff were wonderful, very friendly. I was ill during my stay and they could not do enough to help.

will go back and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domjenny2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

my husband and i stayed in this relais for one night. we chose the suite which was more expensive but worthed
the relais is hard to find so make sure you get the info from the hotel and don't stop on the first one on the right but keep going until the road ends. we got lost the first time
you definately need a car since the relais is far from cortona ( 5 minutes by car) definately cannot go without it
the swimming pool is very nice as well as the sorrounding
breakfast was very good too, but i am italian so....

the place is quite romantic

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Wonderfully peaceful hotel set amongst olive groves and fruit trees. The staff are helpful and speak excellent English. The rooms are clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red80uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida USA
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We recently spent two weeks in Nice, Tuscany and Chianti, and this was by far the nicest and best valued hotel we stayed in. It is located in a nice setting, looking up to the village of Cortona, which is about a 15 minute drive. The hotel and its lovely pool were ultimately clean and well maintained. The breakfast was plentiful with seating on the outside terrace. The staff was extremely helpful, especially Silvia, the front desk agent. On our last night, she recommended a terrific restaurant, Canta Napoli, which was only five miles away and the food and service were outstanding; all locals and no tourists.

No second thoughts about where to stay upon our return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennFloridaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
5.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
2.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
2.8 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Borgo San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo San Pietro

Property: Relais Borgo San Pietro
Address: Loc. San Pietro a Cegliolo, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Borgo San Pietro 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Borgo San Pietro is an ancient XVII century farm transformed into a charming Relais with outdoor swimming pool composed of 14 rooms and 5 apartments. Thanks to an intelligent restoration the new purpose of the structure took into account yet maintaining its ancient look. The old well, the fruit and olive trees, the grass fields, combined with the old prints, paintings and furniture, give that peaceful feeling and atmosphere of a Tuscan country house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Borgo San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo San Pietro Hotel Cortona
Relais Borgo San Pietro Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing