We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with very good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casale L'Antico Carro
Ranked #8 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely place with very good restaurant”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed for one night at the new Casale L'Antico Carro (it opened sometime in 2012) whilst touring Umbria and Tuscany during Christmastime. We also pre-booked the Christmas Eve dinner, and Christmas Day lunch. This place is run by two very friendly and polite young gentlemen, and their very nice family, who always seem to have a smile on their face. The building is beautiful and rustic, the two rooms we booked for my family were lovely and clean, and the surroundings are beautiful and central for reaching various Tuscan and Umbrian cities, towns and villages. Only a very short drive to Cortona centre, where we went for mass at the Cathedral on Christmas day morning. The Christmas Eve dinner at Casale Antico Carro (based on so many fish dishes) and Christmas Day lunch (besides so many apetizers we were served tortellini in soup, lasagne, chicken, pork etc) were so good, a real authentic taste of the Tuscan cuisine. Firstly, before Christmas day lunch started being served, there were yummy apetisers to help yourself to on a table close to reception, then came so many countless delicious apetiserers, and different courses at our table, I never felt so full in my life, plus free-flowing wine. After dessert, on Christmas day, they even set a small table with typical Tuscan sweet goodies!!!! I was so sorry that I could not stuff myself into anything else and that we needed to leave and go on our way to a different location!! This family just loves feeding people, you can see it on their faces, from the young gentlemen who served everyone tirelessly, to the cook, I think she is their mother, who came out near us after all the endless dishes were served, to make sure that we enjoyed our meal!!! They worked so hard to make sure that everyone was fully satisfied. Thank you Casale Antico Carro for making our Christmas a memorable one!! Hopefully we will be back one day.

Room Tip: Some rooms are reached by stairs, (ours did), so for the physically challenged I would suggest that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaGalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    23
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
69
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there over New Year's and enjoyed a fantastic meal. The people who run the place are very friendly, the rooms are large and clean, great Wi-Fi for those of us who can't disconnect 100%. Minutes away from lovely Cortona, and interesting surroundings to go for an aimless walk.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights at Casale L'Antico Carro, and it was a perfect place to tour both Cortona and Umbria towns. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Food was FANTASTIC! Distance to Cortona was only a few miles away. All in all...was exactly what we had hoped for!

Room Tip: Great for families too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyFunTimes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This small B&B Agroturismo was the perfect place in Tuscany to spend as much time as you can! We stayed 3 nights in the Timone suite - so clean, comfortable bed and nice linens, lots of windows with different views, and huge bathroom. The shower was great, and the window was nice to open and let in the sun. Free Wi-Fi. The whole property is gorgeous, having been completed in 2012 it is fresh and nice, but retains the old Tuscan charm you came for. Everything is new, and attention to detail is evident - the choice of linens in the restaurant/room, care taken of the property, and the service.
The people here are what make this a truly wonderful choice. Aldo does everything - from checking you in to serving you dinner in the amazing restaurant - and is very helpful, he even drew us a map to the local laundromat! He really loves serving you, and is very professional but also warm and friendly. The patriarch, Mauro, is a pleasure to chat with about his garden and the area.
The restaurant is incredible, fresh Tuscan cuisine. The whole family works in the kitchen. We are foodies and ate here our first night, planning to go into Cortona (5 min drive) for our other two nights. After the first meal was far beyond our expectations, we went back the second night...and the third. We had some of the best dinners in our tour of Italy right at this B&B. Very good prices too. Much of the menu is fresh from the garden, or locally sourced. After dinner, we would stroll quite comfortably around the streets in the area, it felt very safe and the stargazing is excellent.
All in all this was our favorite of four destinations in Italy - the town of Cortona is so cute and great to walk for shopping, eating, and photos. The hillside views, vineyards, and fields of sunflowers are so relaxing to explore.
As we were leaving for our remaining two destinations, we seriously contemplated cancelling the other places to extend our stay here. Aldo, Mauro, and the rest of the family work hard to make this a place to spend a night or a week or longer! We cannot wait to go back, we hear there might be a swimming pool next year!

Room Tip: The Timone suite overlooks the beautiful hillside and area - lots of nice windows, and a huge bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here! It's a very short drive from the town of Cortona, so wouldn't suggest it without a car, but it's well worth it!! What a beautiful place! It's also a restaurant, with truly excellent good, so you don't have to worry about straying too far for a meal unless you want to!! Literally did not have a bad meal during our stay in Tuscany, and we ate here 2 nights! Our room was big and sparkling clean, bathroom was huge and shower was good. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again myself, and highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What can one say about the food and friendliness at Casale L'Antico Carro except Magnifico? We have been throughout Italy many times, and during this recent two and a half week excursion the cooking and company at Casale L'Antico Carro was one of the highlights of our trip. It may not be in the center of town, but it is a very short drive and well worth the effort.

Although returning to the same place to eat in a region as abundant with options as Tuscany is not in our nature, this place was so special that by the end of the day we were craving a repeat performance. I am suspect that our four dinners with six people provided us the opportunity to experiment with practically all of the menu, and every option was nothing short of magnificent.

Many thanks to everyone at Casale L'Antico Carro for the wonderful Tuscan dining experience, and although we have only been home for a day we are already planning our return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göttingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This agriturismo just opened in 2012, so everything is brand new and modern. A book in their restaurant documents the work they put into restoring the house.
The host Aldo is very nice and helpful. He accommodated any wish I had. As the weather was unfortunately very bad, he even turned on the heat for me.
The rooms are big and very clean. It even feels like a vacation when you have to stay inside when there is nothing to do because of the rain.
The WiFi in the room helps to stay connected. The restaurant is very nice. They serve typical Tuscan food. L'Antico Carro is close to Cortona which is lovely and historic. I would come back here anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigeon_forge66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
1.9 mi away
Locanda i Grifi
Locanda i Grifi
#9 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale L'Antico Carro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale L'Antico Carro

Property: Casale L'Antico Carro
Address: Via Montalla 26, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casale L'Antico Carro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing