We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wow, location, history and comfort”
Dining and reclining on first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining and reclining on first floor
Enter our late medieval home under carved stone (Latin reads restructured 1608) Comfortable leather chairs and sofa in the gracious sitting room with cosy stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
15 reviews
Dining and reclining on first floor
Enter our late medieval home under carved stone (Latin reads restructured 1608)
Comfortable leather chairs and sofa in the gracious sitting room with cosy stove
Vaulted stairways to first floor and second floors
Mirror Images!
Craftsman built kitchen conveniently close to dining area
Romantic Drapes in rear Bedroom
Rear Bedroom ensuite with small bath/shower, bidet etc.
The large, bright Liberty Bedroom with its super-king bed
Liberty bedroom ensuite with walk-in shower, bidet etc.
Rare Tuscan double-beamed ceiling
Rooftop view of Val di Chiana from the front bedroom window
Small shady garden - unusual at the heart of town
Palazzo Comunale: A wonderful 13th Century wedding venue or for sitting out with a Campari-soda!
Crossbow contest: the winning Quintiere (can you spot us?)
Kate and Andrew participate in a medieval procession through the Piazza
Street music - in Ruga Piana (Flat wrinkle) at the bottom of our alleyway
One of Cortona's many weddings, bride and groom coming down the Comune steps
At the top of the Comune steps: what a backdrop the piazza makes for a wedding!
The Enoteca where local wine experts serve, and undertake shipping orders
Paths crossing! (This encounter 100 metres from our house)
The stage in Teatro Signorelli, which hosts festivals, plays, concerts, live screenings .....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Larabris
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow, location, history and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Kate and Andrew have a beautiful house in Cortona that is centrally located just off the square. Furnished with beautiful antiques, this beautiful home was restored in the 16th century but also just recently as it is beautifully presented. Walk anywhere in Cortona. This wonderful Etrustian town is gorgeous and a great base to tour Tuscany. Kate and Andrew have been living in Italy for many years and have a great knowledge of the country, not just Tuscany. If you don't want to stay in Cortona, the Underwoods also have a farm house outside Cortona. The choice is yours. We wanted to be closer to the town and Cortona was perfect for us. They introduced us to Paolo at trattoria dardano and to Laura at Tuscan magic travel agency. The meals with Paolo were out of this world and Laura hooked us up with Stefano who took us on a full day tour of several wineries in Tuscany. The one on one tour was fabulous, at our pace seeing what we wanted to see with Stefano giving his tremendous knowledge of the area. He has lived there all of his life and is proud of the area and it shows. Wineries that were prisons in the 16th century to modern wineries producing extraordinary wine. He took us to see the villa used in the film under a Tuscan sun. He also works as a location mgr for different films produced in Italy, twilight under a Tuscan sun just a couple. He is happy to take you to see these sets.
We had a ball in Tuscany due to the great recommendations from the Underwoods. We would definitely stay there again if we go back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything, but location and the info we received when we arrived was great
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marthah61...
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful experience in Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations in Cortona and our wonderful British hosts, Andrew and Kate. Picturesque Cortona has so much to offer and is the perfect home base for day visits to Florence, other hill towns in Tuscany, and Umbria. The apartment location is ideal, just off the main thoroughfare, and close to restaurants, stores, and points of interest. Even so, it was amazingly quiet. We loved having everything at our fingertips. Our hosts even introduced us to several of the shopkeepers. The apartment has the charm of an ancient building with all of the modern amenities.

The weather was unusually cool for late May, so we didn't use the air-conditioning, but we did need the heat for a couple of days, and it worked just fine. If it had been warmer, we would have enjoyed spending time in the lovely, shady, private courtyard. The updated kitchen is fully equipped with dishes, appliances, and cooking equipment, and there's even a dishwasher. We didn't do any extensive meal preparation, but the coffeepot and microwave were convenient at breakfast time. We could just walk down the alley in the morning, pick up fruit at the produce shop, pastries at the bakery, a USA Today at the newsstand, and be back in ten minutes! The washing machine did an effective job, and an elaborate drying rack is available.

The rooms were spacious and spotless, and the furnishings were lovely and comfortable. All of the linens were of the highest quality. Our hosts were kind enough to meet us at Piazza Garibaldi and assist in getting our luggage to the apartment. They were always prompt and thorough in replying to our emails both before and during our stay. They made reservations for us for dinner that first night and for a local symphony concert and provided directions to the train station in Camucia, which, perplexingly, was not marked in any way. In addition, they helped in locating a physician when we had a minor medical issue. At the middle of our ten-day stay, they came by to change the sheets and clean.

We give this property the highest recommendation and would definitely choose it again if we ever returned to the area.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiliGSD
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pictures don't do justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We recently returned from a 10 day trip to Italy. Cortona and this rental was our first stop. What a find! This property may be one of the least PHOTOGENIC I've ever seen. We rented it because of its location & size (we needed 2 bed/2 bath) but the pictures on-line made it look a little frumpy. It turned out to be one of the prettiest, most charming rentals in which we've ever stayed. 3 floors. The 1st floor is the living room area and a half bath. The 2nd is the kitchen/dining and the owners have really equipped it well with updated everything. On the 3rd floor are the bedrooms and 2 ensuite baths. Everything was clean and decorated nicely. Kate & Andrew are so warm and wonderful to deal with both in booking and while there. We'd come back in a second! And hopefully we will. We loved loved loved Cortona. Such a lovely hilltop village.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location & Charm
Liked least: Lack of adequate lighting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GC1ATL
United States
1 review
“Perfect home, perfect location & perfect hosts !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and allowing us to stay in your charming townhouse in Cortona. It had all the amenities we could have hoped for and more, and the terrace garden was perfect for coffee or a glass of wine. The location is just perfect. Easy walking to all cafes, restaurants, bars and shops yet tucked away from the hustle/bustle. We made many new friends (including Massimo and Sebastian) as a result of your personal introductions. We hope to return to Cortona one day and our first call will be to you both. Thanks so much for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable and memorable

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Nothing really it was also good
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiainTe...
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Quality and Attention to Detail Makes This Townhouse a Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at this lovely townhouse in Cortona for three weeks. The location is absolutely perfect -- right off the main (and only level) street in the city -- convenient to all restaurants and shops. The owners, Andrew and Kate, met us on arrival, helped with our luggage, took us for a short tour of the town, made restaurant reservations for us and promised to check on us periodically, which they did. They were helpful and gracious hosts and genuinely nice people. The house was immaculate, well-appointed with lovely English antiques and the attention to detail was superior. Our family has rented vacation homes for many years in Italy, Australia, Hawaii, Mexico, Costa Rica and all over the United States and this one ranks among the best. I highly recommend this property.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location and the furnishings of the house
Liked least: I really can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonS0130
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Kate and Andrew were the perfect hosts. They helped us in our planning, met us in Cortona upon arrival, joined us for lunch and showed us around town. The house was perfect, two bedrooms were extremely comfortable, the kitchen was well appointed to meet our needs, and the location couldn't have been better. We were right in the middle of town close to shops, restaurants, and everything one would need. We would highly recommend this house, and Kate and Andrew made us feel like this wasn't a typical house rental but our home for a week. We look forward to returning at some point, as Cortona is beautiful and near the best of Tuscany.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great location right in the center of town
Liked least: Lot's of steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$207
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing