We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan treasure hotel and great value for money.”
Review of Borgo il Melone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo il Melone
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Fantastic hotel with excellent self catering apartments. The only negative was the lack of a/c in our apartment. Fantastic value for money and would definitely go back. The pool was beautiful and exactly the right temperature. They throw a great wedding too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent 3-nights here for a friends wedding and left with fantastic memories...

Outside of Cortona, and technically walkable from the station (along a busy day-time road with minimal pavement...), Il Melone sits in considerable private grounds.

You have a choice of either hotel rooms or 'apartments'. Rooms are rustic with a modern twist. Good size, immaculately clean, bar, safe etc. Most importantly there is air conditioning.

Apartments are very large and would be great for large families or groups of friends. They have bedrooms, a kitchen area and a lounge. They are however NOT air-conditioned.

We were glad to have a room based on the heat-wave .....

The staff are quite probably the most friendly of any hotel I have EVER stayed at. I sincerely mean that. NOTHING was too much trouble and embarrassingly, their English was just so good I didn't need to attempt any of my (poor) Italian.

We didn't eat in the restaurant per se but the wedding reception was hosted in the grounds. Everything we ate was first-class in terms of quality and presentation.

The grounds are lovely and lush. Beautiful patio areas, and my favourite part, a warm 20-metre rectangular swimming pool.

I fell in love with Italy on this trip and returning to Cortona, and Il Melone is certainly guaranteed.

In closing I should add, and this isn't a reflection on the hotel, but ideally you would have a car if staying here. You'll struggle to do anything otherwise. Even Cortona is a little too far (and a little too far up the hill) and believe me, you wouldn't want to miss visiting the town. It is beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for 8 nights at this hotel from the 15th July 2013. everything about it is top class. First of all the staff speak excellent English and are most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, even getting directions, booking taxis and other restaurants, arranging for early departures, you name it. Secondly the double glazed room we stayed in was very comfortable and despite the heat wave the Air conditioning kept the temperature in the room down so we could sleep. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped. Overall the condition of the room was well maintained and everything was in good working order. The attached restaurant was excellent for evening meals with everything cooked to order. Continental breakfasts were available from 7:30 just outside the reception area and we were supplied with fresh ham, cheeses, fruits and pastries, etc together with great coffee. There is plenty of parking space in the beautiful and well maintained gardens. The large pool and associated area is great for adults and children alike. It is a quiet location, albeit just off the main road but because it is a little distant for the old town of Cortona which gets crowded in the summer, visitors will not have much trouble with hoards of tourists. It the reader is intending to visit the attractions of the area and tour my tip would be to visit earlier than July or later than August when is is less hot.

Room Tip: Go for the larger deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We chose this beautiful hotel for our wedding, and we could not be more happy with our choice. The hotel has a beautiful garden, a big pool, romantic rooms, free parking, a great breakfast which can be enjoyed inside or out on the terrace. In total, an excellent choice if you want to experience Cortona and the southern part of Tuscany. What made this hotel perfect was the feeling that we belonged there, with not to many rooms the guests almost becomes a part of the Borgo il Melone family. I have saved the hotels best asset till last: the service and politeness from everyone at the hotel. It is incredible to be welcomed and taken care of, in the way the staff of Borgo il Melone does. Alessandro in the reception is worth made known for his incredible level of service and kindness.

Room Tip: Deluxe bedroom is bigger and more charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

It's really a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your wedding.
It was nice for us to have you and your family as our guests and we hope to see you again in the next future.

Alessandro
Bookings Dpt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Borgo Il Melone. Once a family farm and now expanded into a wonderful inn, this is a lovely property with lush gardens.

Breakfast is served either out on the terrace or inside if the weather warrants.

The rooms are spacious and most attractive with antiques. The bathrooms are also large.

We always enjoy the staff who are very accommodating and friendly. They remembered us from our stay here two years ago.

Our whole group loved the Borgo. There is Wi-Fi, on-site laundry, an excellent restaurant, a lovely pool, and the Borgo is conveniently located in the village of Camucia right below Cortona.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarefootContessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a wonderful experience we had staying at this hotel. Located on a beautiful estate it is everything you would want. Our room had a lovely terrace right off the back of it. The breakfast was wonderful. We had a few dinners there and they were great along with the service. What made this hotel even better was the staff. They were there for all our needs, making reservations, providing us with suggestions for local eateries and just chatting. If you go to Tuscany you must stay here.

Isabel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelMVerona_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Beautiful estate apx 15 min drive from Cortona, and 1-1.5 hrs drive to Tuscan hill towns of Montepulciano, Pienza, and Montalcino. Very friendly, helpful staff. We (2 couples) booked the Superior 2 BR apt, and it was huge! The main floor is up 2 flights of wide stairs into a great room with living/TV/dining areas. Just off the great room is a BR w/King bed and ensuite bath. The loft area, up another flight of stairs, includes a spacious living room area with sofa, tables and chairs, plus a BR w/King bed and ensuite bath. Kitchen on the main floor has frige, stove, coffee pot, a few dishes and pots, dishwasher, but no microwave. The apt was very clean and the building structure beautiful and imposing, but inside it felt rather sterile. The lighting was poor, hard wood surfaces throughout, and very little décor. And, the beds were extremely hard! Since there is no AC, we slept with windows open and didn’t hear any outside noises. There was a fan in the apt, and redeption sent a 2nd one to help with cooling.

The restaurant is definitely worth trying just for the cinghiale (wild boar) and porchettina with salad cress! Unfortunately their side dishes were very limited and not as wonderful. (And the restaurant has the most beautiful bathroom we have ever seen!) If you want to cook, there’s a good Co-Op groc store less than 5 min away in Camucia.

If you’re driving, follow their web site map closely. The turnoff (it looks like a “veer” on the map, but it’s a hard right or left depending on your direction) is not a road, but a driveway with a very small “Borgo Il Melone” sign which is not easy to spot before you are right on it. The turnoff is south of SP28, opposite a small store with a big sign – “Da Vera”. Google Maps has the wrong location, showing Seven Resort where Il Melone is actually located.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverpark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#15 of 24 in Cortona
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#9 of 24 in Cortona
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#5 of 24 in Cortona
416 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo il Melone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo il Melone

Address: Localita il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52042, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £55 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo il Melone 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to the most fascinating towns of central Italy, renowned for their artistic beauty, such as Florence, Arezzo, Siena and Perugia, in the valley below Cortona, the oldest Etruscan settlement, surrounded by the most typical Tuscan countryside this is the unique setting of Borgo Il Melone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Borgo il Melone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Il Melone Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing