We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting”
Review of Borgo il Melone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo il Melone
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
1 review
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a beautiful and quiet place to stay. Breakfast was served on the patio and was always fresh and delicious. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The only disappointment was that the restaurant was closed. The deli across the street (or in-town highway so a bit of a challenge to walk across) was also closed. We did not have a car so would have made it very difficult for evening meals. Fortunately we were there for a family trip with evening events so it was not an issue for us.
I would definitely stay here again! And I would give it an excellent rating if it had a restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    99
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
73
181
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel and grounds are beautiful, typically Tuscan and just off the main road so great for exploring the local area. Our apartment was large and traditionally furnished. When we booked, however, the website made no mention that the restaurant was closed, and there were lovely reviews of the food. Just before we arrived we realised that the restaurant and taverna were completely closed, with no real alternative apart from a makeshift breakfast that had to be booked in advance. This was a shame, as it meant that we had to drive offsite for every meal, which with young children was not always convenient and we never really relaxed at the hotel for long.
We were allowed to do our washing though which was useful!

Room Tip: The apartments are large and quiet, but no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are so happy that we stayed at Borgo il Melone during our time in Italy!! We stayed for four fabulous nights (two couples traveling together from California) and loved our spacious upstairs room (with two windows opening to the entrance and side of the main building - VERY QUIET AND GORGEOUS VIEWS). The first evening we checked in, we enjoyed a picnic "dinner" that we had purchased on the way from Monterosso - we sat by the amazing pool and enjoyed the tranquility (we had also been in Pisa earlier in the day). The staff were very helpful (thank you Gloria, Alessandro, and Francesco!!) as we planned our "day trips" to Montepulciano, Pienza, Assisi, Orvieto, and of course Cortona. Breakfast was delicious - enjoyed on the outside patio. Borgo il Melone would be fabulous choice for a destination wedding or for friends to meet and explore the hill towns of central Italy together. I would highly recommend Borgo il Melone and would LOVE to return some day!! (We met a lovely couple that had stayed at Borgo il Melone five times…..in the last ten years!! - I think that says it all!!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoCortona, Proprietario at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for the wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to hear that our Guests have appreciated the property and our work.
We would be pleased to have you here as Guests again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Good: The grounds are amazing. From olive and fruit trees to a wonderful pool with views of Cortona, the grounds cannot be beat. The views from our apartment windows were great. Out one side we could see Cortona up the hill. Out the other side we overlooked several old Tuscan farm buildings.

The in-between: The apartment was spacious and furnished in the traditional Tuscan manner. At 8 euros, the breakfast was acceptable.

The bad: The restaurant closed in January. Needless to say that did not fit with our dinner plans in June. There wasn't wifi in the apartment. The apartment was not air-conditionined. The staff at the reception desk (except Alessandro) was aloof, distant and...well, similar to the staff at the DMV. They seem to have far more important things to do than to focus on our issues for a few minutes.
We will not return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank smurer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location is very central for daytrips to Cortona, Assisi, and Montepulciano. We had a small room but very clean. The grounds and pool are just so relaxing. Staff is very helpful and speak excellent English.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind review. We are always grateful when our Guests appreciate their holidays here and our services.
Any suggestions are well accepted.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited here for the second consecutive year and it was just as nice as last year. The grounds are beautiful, the hotel quaint and the breakfast was delicious. But what made the experience was the staff. Gloria, Alessandro and Francesco were at the reception desk answering our every question with a smile and friendly greeting. The kitchen help were very pleasant and also attentive to our breakfast needs. I highly recommend this hotel and would love to return.

Room Tip: We love the rooms on the first floor with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelMVerona_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Isabel,
we really thank you for your kind review. It's always a pleasure to hear that our Guests have a nice stay here. We try to do our best to make your vacation comfortable and pleasant and we appreciate suggestions to help us improving.
Thanks again and we really hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is hard to find and just use a GPS as it is WELL WORTH IT! The rooms look out on green trees with a golden Tuscan light bathing the landscape. This hotel is on a beautiful and large old estate with many buildings that are historic yet off the beaten tourist path, Seems like only Italian locals know of this fabulous villa! The front desk service is excellent and made dinner reservations at a local resturant call Restorante Napoli with excellent FRESH seafood that was delicious and reasonable priced with great table service! The Melone staff went out of their way to help us use FREE washing for our soiled traveled clothes and the breakfast was wonderful with the best cappicicino Ihave ever had anywhere...look out Starbucks! The water on tap at Melone is super clean and so healthy to drink.
The swimming pool is SUPER fabulous and large like a Roman spa style for the sun bather with lounge chairs. The setting look like it is out of a movie set!!!!!!

Room Tip: I saw several rooms and they look superior to most all rooms anywhere I have traveled throughout Tus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgoCortona, Direttore at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guests,
we really thank you for your kind review. It is Always a pleasure to hear that our Guests appreciate our services. We try to do our best to make your stay more comfortable and pleasant as possible and we would be pleased to receive any suggestion to improve our work.
We really hope to have you here as Guests again and we send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo il Melone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo il Melone

Property: Borgo il Melone
Address: Localita il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52042, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo il Melone 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to the most fascinating towns of central Italy, renowned for their artistic beauty, such as Florence, Arezzo, Siena and Perugia, in the valley below Cortona, the oldest Etruscan settlement, surrounded by the most typical Tuscan countryside this is the unique setting of Borgo Il Melone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgo il Melone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Il Melone Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing