We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”
Review of Borgo il Melone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo il Melone
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Very nice, quiet. Located in small town below Cortona. Rooms, service, grounds all very nice but restaurant was not open every day and pool was closed. Front desk staff helpful if you asked but not overly friendly. Would recommend for 3 night maximum - not enough to do.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmogirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at Il Melone for 6 nights at the end of June - booked at extremely short notice and after reading reviews including those on Trip Advisor. The hotel is in a wonderful location - in the foothills of Cortona with easy access to the main roads and, I believe, a train station.

There was very little to fault with the hotel, if anything and I am Miss Fussy but the main points are that the bed was extremely comfy - we slept fantastically (not something that happens except for in a handful of hotels) and the shower was lovely and powerful with ever hot water. The only things that I would change is for a powerful hairdryer (although I appreciate that these would walk frequently), to have tea making facilities (being a Brit, I need a cup of tea although breakfast has a good range of British tea AND teapots) and bathrobes. As I said, I'm Miss Fussy...

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but had after dinner drinks there on most evenings which were extremely reasonable in price.

The pool was wonderful especially as most of the time I'd be the only person in it. It was most 'congested' on the Sunday afternoon when I had to share it with two (well behaved) children.

The staff at the hotel couldn't be more helpful or friendly and spoke excellent English.

A gem of a find and a hotel that I intend to return to in the future

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Lovely hotel , great pool and gardens just below Cortona. Accomodation good , but no balcony for our apartment , which we knew beforehand and was a miss. Great to tour Southern Tuscany . Restaurant ok , expensive, shame that the Trattoria was closed when we stayed there. Concerts during the summer in the grounds, helpful staff. Location near the road but no noise, adjacent town disapppointing but loads of restaurants to eat in. Definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrevitTreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

The hotel looked beautiful, too bad we didn't get to experience it, since they lost our reservation. The front desk staff was rude, and not at all helpful. We had to go elsewhere. Up the hill in Cortona is much nicer anyway.

Stayed: July 2008
5  Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2007

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Trisailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tricitiestraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortona
4.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 2 in Piazzano
776 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais Villa Baldelli
Relais Villa Baldelli
#8 of 23 in Cortona
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#5 of 23 in Cortona
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#4 of 23 in Cortona
416 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 23 in Cortona
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#14 of 23 in Cortona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo il Melone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo il Melone

Address: Localita il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52042, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range: £51 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo il Melone 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to the most fascinating towns of central Italy, renowned for their artistic beauty, such as Florence, Arezzo, Siena and Perugia, in the valley below Cortona, the oldest Etruscan settlement, surrounded by the most typical Tuscan countryside this is the unique setting of Borgo Il Melone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo il Melone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Il Melone Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing