We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel, terrible staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo il Melone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo il Melone
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
n ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel, terrible staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

my boyfreind and i recently spent five nights in ths hotel. the hotel itself is beautiful. the rooms are lovely and bathrooms spotless. the location is also good, 10 euors in a taxi to cortona town, juat be careful if you need a taxi back to the hotel as it is not in walking distance late at night and taxis are scarce. the only downside to this hotel was the staff, unfriendly and uninterested in their guests to put it mildly. i indeed found them rude. a real disappointment given the quality of the hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humphries11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    94
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
70
170
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2010

My husband and I just spent a week of our honeymoon at Borgo Il Melone. We were so happy with this choice for our stay that we had to sign up for tripadvisor to write about it. The location was fantastic. Right outside of Cortona and in a central location for all of the great cities in Tuscany. We had our own villa, private entrance, two bedrooms and bathrooms for such a reasonable price. We were greeted so warmly by Alessandro at the front desk on our arrival. He and Gloria were so incredibly helpful throughout our entire stay. They helped us with tour arrangements and massages. They made fabulous restaurant suggestions and then called for reservations. They gave us directions to the towns nearby. They were generally just very friendly as was the entire staff at Borgo. The rooms were clean and just perfect for a long stay. We had a full kitchen and they even offer free laundry facilities. The grounds were impeccably well kept. We took a cooking class with Mauricio who runs the restaurant at Borgo. We had a fantastic time and left with 4 new dishes in our repertoire.

We are already planning our next trip back to Tuscany. We will for sure be staying at Borgo Il Melone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randi_berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Very nice, quiet. Located in small town below Cortona. Rooms, service, grounds all very nice but restaurant was not open every day and pool was closed. Front desk staff helpful if you asked but not overly friendly. Would recommend for 3 night maximum - not enough to do.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmogirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at Il Melone for 6 nights at the end of June - booked at extremely short notice and after reading reviews including those on Trip Advisor. The hotel is in a wonderful location - in the foothills of Cortona with easy access to the main roads and, I believe, a train station.

There was very little to fault with the hotel, if anything and I am Miss Fussy but the main points are that the bed was extremely comfy - we slept fantastically (not something that happens except for in a handful of hotels) and the shower was lovely and powerful with ever hot water. The only things that I would change is for a powerful hairdryer (although I appreciate that these would walk frequently), to have tea making facilities (being a Brit, I need a cup of tea although breakfast has a good range of British tea AND teapots) and bathrobes. As I said, I'm Miss Fussy...

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but had after dinner drinks there on most evenings which were extremely reasonable in price.

The pool was wonderful especially as most of the time I'd be the only person in it. It was most 'congested' on the Sunday afternoon when I had to share it with two (well behaved) children.

The staff at the hotel couldn't be more helpful or friendly and spoke excellent English.

A gem of a find and a hotel that I intend to return to in the future

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2008

Lovely hotel , great pool and gardens just below Cortona. Accomodation good , but no balcony for our apartment , which we knew beforehand and was a miss. Great to tour Southern Tuscany . Restaurant ok , expensive, shame that the Trattoria was closed when we stayed there. Concerts during the summer in the grounds, helpful staff. Location near the road but no noise, adjacent town disapppointing but loads of restaurants to eat in. Definitely worth a visit

  • Liked — Pool and grounds and buildings
  • Disliked — surrounding town
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevitTreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

The hotel looked beautiful, too bad we didn't get to experience it, since they lost our reservation. The front desk staff was rude, and not at all helpful. We had to go elsewhere. Up the hill in Cortona is much nicer anyway.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
4.0 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
3.3 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Locanda i Grifi
Locanda i Grifi
#9 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo il Melone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo il Melone

Property: Borgo il Melone
Address: Localita il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52042, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo il Melone 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to the most fascinating towns of central Italy, renowned for their artistic beauty, such as Florence, Arezzo, Siena and Perugia, in the valley below Cortona, the oldest Etruscan settlement, surrounded by the most typical Tuscan countryside this is the unique setting of Borgo Il Melone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Borgo il Melone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Il Melone Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing