We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic”
Review of Il Sole del Sodo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Sole del Sodo
Ranked #7 of 43 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rustic”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in May in a small room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The room was OK but had no comfortable place to sit. Since the weather was uncharacteristically cold and rainy for May in Italy, we spent more time in the room than we normally would have, so the lack of comfort was a problem.
Paula, who many have written about, was seldom around, but her mother was friendly.
We probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    34
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent four enjoyable days at Il Sole del Sodo. We had a "suite", a very small bedroom and a sitting room. The furnishings were "rustic" (though the bathroom was strictly modern) but pleasant. The B&B is located down the hill to the north of Cortona proper in an olive grove. It was just a few minutes drive up the hill to the north gate of the city. (There is parking in that area and it is a few minute--uphill--walk to the main piazza.) Claudia was very helpful with suggestions and Vicky also provided help. There is a small pool but we were there in October and didn't try to use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My partner of 23 years and I were guests at Il Sole del Sodo for 5 nights at the start of September this year. We arrived late at night after a zippy 2 1/2 hour drive from Pisa airport. Jim and Paula our hosts stayed up late to greet us with big hugs and smiles and a light dinner to welcome us.
Our room was beautifully decorated with colorful walls and adequate space for shelving and hanging clothes. The bathroom was spotless and convenient and we had air-conditioning even though we only needed to use it on two nights. Our room overlooked the main courtyard of the B&B and in the morning when I awoke and pushed open the shutters the fresh smells and sounds of Tuscany wafted into our room.
We were on vacation! I grabbed my camera and took a tour of the property accompanied by Gizmo the cat to discover a serene pool overlooking a field of dried sunflowers. I could only imagine what the sunflowers looked like 3 months earlier.
Vicky the third member of the B&B team along with Jim and Paula had laid out a spread for breakfast that was delicious - meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurt and freshly baked pastries by Paula. Every morning we sat alfresco for breakfast before heading out to visit the next town on our busy agenda.
With Jim and Paula as our guides during their free time we made trips to Arezzo, Perugia and Assisi. On our own we took the train to Florence for the day and at the end of our stay visited Pisa and Lucca.
Claudia, who along with her parents own the property was a delight to meet. She has a new baby and her life is changing daily I'm sure. If you are looking for helpful and personal attention choose Il Sole del Sodo when you next plan a trip to Tuscany. Its conveniently located at the foothills of Cortona and a short hop to Cambria where you can take the train to other parts of Tuscany.
Thank you Jim, Paula, Vicky and Claudia you made our premier visit to Tuscany the best!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard entrance which I found ideal as it allowed one to view the activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacdonaldHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Amazing place to spend some quiet time. I booked this B&B after a business trip on my way home. I was met by Jim (host) at the train station and he gave me a ride to the B&B, which was only a few minutes away. Jim & Paula are amazing hosts and went well out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed, coming in completely unprepared from a business trip (laundry, electric adaptors, etc.). They had a great breakfast every morning that consisted of local fruits, fresh baked cakes and pastries, and espressos. The rooms were uniquely decorated and very clean. The outside of the hotel is meticulously maintained and the swimming pool is a great break from the summer heat. Jim helped me find running trails and gave excellent recommendations on local sites. The last night was amazing as everyone in the B&B had dinner together served by Jim & Paula. It was honestly the best meal I had in Italy with all local ingredients (mozzarella, vegetables, ravioli, olive oil, and wine). Make sure you ask to buy a bottle of their olive oil... fantastic. You may as well schedule you return visit while you are relaxing at the B&B. See you there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APC_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week long stay at the base of the lovely hill town of Cortona, Italy at the lovely Il Sole del Sodo B & B. Upon arrival our hosts (Jim and Paula) went out of their way to make our first trip to Tuscany, a dream come true. Our apartment (the Orange Villini) had a nice living area with comfortabe couch and a mini-kitchen with fridge to chill your local wine finds. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. The rooms face either the garden patio, or the pristine pool that overlooks the surrounding Tuscan valley. This was a perfect hub for daytripping your way around Tuscany and Umbria, including Montalcino, Montepluciano, Siena and Assisi. Breakfasts were a treat with Paula's baked goodies, Jim's killer Cafe Americano, and meats, cheeses and cereals, all more than enough to send you on your way for a day of sightseeing. The breakfast room and patio area offer great views and free wi-fi as well. The town of Cortona, a short (but steep) five minute drive, gives you access to lots of great restaurants, along with roaming the shops of this quaint town. Il Sole is also just a short 10 minutes from the Camucia train station, which we found was a great way to visit Florence for the day. This is an excellent choice if you are looking to fufill yourTuscan dreams, one we will certainly return to on our next visit!

Room Tip: Beware if you are relying on GPS, as it might not be all that accurate to find Il Sole del Sodo- mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCVTravelerDover_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was my first visit to Tuscany and also my first stay at a B&B. What a terrific experience! Il Sole is located in the heart of Tuscany, nestled away but very close to the Cortona village center. Jim and Paula are wonderful hosts who are focused on making every guest's stay wonderful and memorable - from just relaxing at the resort or recommendations for visiting the area (with so many options like Montepulciano, wineries, village shopping and dining). This B&B is great for romantic getaways or traveling with friends - highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed at this lovely B&B in the heart of Cortona. Jim and Paula make this a must stay location with their warm hospitality, knowledge of the region, great food and top notch accomodations. Enjoy a day at the pool or tool around the region for Wine tasting, shopping and eating! The location is excellent for making day trips all around the region and very close to the train station as well. I had the loft room with a fireplace and sitting area which made it feel like home and plenty of space to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#6 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#8 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
0.6 mi away
Relais Il Falconiere & Spa
4.3 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Sole del Sodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sole del Sodo

Property: Il Sole del Sodo
Address: Centro Sodo 5/6, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Sole del Sodo is a small and cozy Bed & Breakfast with 6 charming rooms and 5 cousy apartments-allowing you to sleep-in and relax by the pool while being surrounded by our stunning Tuscan countryside. Situated outside the ancient Etruscan walls of Cortona - only 1 1/2 miles from the town centre. Our property is named after the neighborhood in which it is located and the sunshine that illuminates our gardens during the day. We offer the ideal holiday location, making our property the perfect base for daytrips to valleys and charming towns in close proximity to Cortona - from Valdichiana to Val D'Orcia, Montalcino to Pienza, spas to churches frescoed by Piero della Francesca and to nearby Umbria with its enchanting landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Il Sole del Sodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing