We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of Cortona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Cortona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in Cortona for one night during our trip to Italy. Cortona was a very sweet little town to visit and we were so glad we made the stop there.

The hotel staff were so friendly and helpful and went the extra mile as it was a special occasion for us. The room was lovely although not one with a view. The hotel was so clean and the décor was lovely. Amazing shower in the bathroom and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    88
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
153
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Words cannot express how amazing this hotel is! My boyfriend and I stayed over Christmas. Prior to booking I was a little disappointed because we had to stay in a hotel and not a bed and breakfast. There was a fear that we would not have a personal experience since it was a hotel. Boy was I wrong!

Hotel Italia's staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. We arrived as visitors and left as family! They were happy to arrange a taxi from the train station to the hotel. And also offered to put any purchases that needed refrigeration in the main fridge. We were always greeted with a "Ciao" and a smile. Beds and rooms were VERY clean and VERY comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was a traditional Italian breakfast of ham, cheese, fresh fruit and pastries. Coffees are made to order. We felt right at home at Hotel Italia. Make sure to spend the extra few bucks for a room with a view. We did and it was worth it. The hotel is located within steps of the main piazza.

Cortona is a beautiful town. Again, prior to leaving for our Italy vacation I was concerned that we should have left more time for Florence but once in Cortona I knew we had made the right decision. Florence is a bustling city and Cortona is exactly how you would (as an American) imagine Italy slow paced and beautiful. Most folks speak broken English and if not, are happy to work with you. If you need a place to get away and just slow down and "be Italian" Cortona is it and the Hotel Italia is the place to be!! Do yourself the favor and book here! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Again, go for the room with a view. Its only like a total of 20 us dollars more (give or take) and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had the room with window on the inside courtyard/shaft. No view and full of pigeon droppings if you open it. Appart from that, everything was excellent. Breakfast was good with a breathtaking view of the surrounding valley. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauriziosimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were wary of staying in Cortona, having heard that it was overrun by "Under The Tuscan Sun" fans, but it wasn't! Our hotel, just off the piazza, was very charming and I'm sure we had the best room - on the third floor with a window overlooking all of Tuscany! We were so thrilled with the views - at any time of day. Cortona was lovely - wonderful piazzas, wine bars, restaurants - small, friendly, just like our hotel. Wonderful staff, great breakfast with the great view! Would love to go back and spend more than four days!

Room Tip: I think we were lucky - ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Three of us stayed for one night at Hotel Italia in Cortona in October. I would highly recommend the hotel. Spacious rooms, updated bathrooms, friendly service, and lovely breakfast (pastries, fruit, yogurt, cheese, meat, juice, coffee, tea) in upper floor breakfast room with view of valley. Hotel staff were especially accommodating to change our reservation with short notice when one of our group was unable to travel with us. Hotel is conveniently located off the main square. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Small and warm, 3 rooms have unparalled views of the valley, they cost a little more, very little, but are worth a million! the rooms are clean, small and unpretentious, but who is going to be there much, except for the view, i looked out that window all night long. the staff will bend over backwards for you, make you reservations at the best places, arrange transportation for you, and best of all, you are 10 steps from Piazza Repubblica where you just might bump into Frances Mayes (her house is right up the hill)

Room Tip: get one of the 3 with the view of the valley. you will not be sorry for the small amount extra charg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigicleveland_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

not the fanciest hotel in cortona, but i totally love its rustic simple style, and i have been there twice with both times an excellent experience. i totally recommend it. also on our first trip they were extremely helpful, beyond the call of duty. (we had a car packed with luggage and it was raining, and the street is scary-narrow, so they helped with the car).

i am not sure if they still have a restaurant in the 'cave' but it was really cool, and the food excellent. (though i have not had bad italian food anywhere i have been yet)

they have various room formats, so if you are a larger group of 3 or 4, they have excellent rooms/suites for you (divided with privacy).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#7 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
3.2 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing