We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay inside Cortona's walls”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay inside Cortona's walls”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Italia for six nights near the end of April. We arrived later than expected and contacted the hotel from the train station in nearby Camucia. The gentleman at the front desk, who spoke excellent english, sent a Taxi to pick us up. Our room was lovely and clean with a great view, a little small, but very nice. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. As a matter of fact they always seemed to go out of their way to help, whether it be to make dinner reservations or suggestions for local sightseeing, or helping deciher train schedules. We loved the Hotel Italia and would definitely stay there again. Oh and yes the view from the breakfast room is absolutely beautiful. A great place to sip your capucino in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NfldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    96
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
159
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Lovely hotel with beautiful rooms and helpful management. Would definately stay here again!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We were only in this hotel for one night, but the staff we dealt with the evening of our arrival and the next morning were fantastic. They were very friendly, spoke excellent English, and went out of their way to help us and answer questions. Our room and bathroom were average and nothing special but were very clean. (They do have very nice TVs in the rooms with at least one English channel, the BBC.) We slept with one of the windows open and I was awakened very early by pigeons incessantly cooing, but other than that, we slept comfortably. The room where breakfast is served has a wonderful view. Overall, this hotel was a very good value (we booked last minute and paid 80 Euro for the night). The location in Cortona is excellent- it's just off the main piazza and close to many restaurants and bars. The entrance to the hotel is quite lovely. Also, for guests who bring a computer, they offer free wi-fi that can be accessed from the lobby area. Parking is free for all visitors to Cortona in lots just outside the city walls. The walk to and from the hotel and parking lot is short.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

This hotel had wonderful welcoming staff, a beautiful breakfast room, and was very close to the center of town. It was a little difficult to find as it is down a narrow corridor, so just get directions and pay attention to what the entrance looks like! The only small downside of this hotel was the room. It was clean, but quite small with lumpy beds and everything was Salmon Colored! My sister and I also joked that you could go to the bathroom and shower at the same time (due to the small size of the bathroom). Our view out our window was of a brick wall. However, if you don't plan on spending much time in your room (you are in Italy go explore!!) this hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

We arrived in Cortona right after an unexpected snowstorm with the narrow streets of the hill town filled with snow. When we finally located the hotel after walking through the snow covered streets from the public parking lot at the outskirts of the town, we were met with one of the assistants at the hotel. This assistant actually accompanied us back to the car and guided us throught streets that had already been cleared back to the hotel so we could unload our luggage. This level of service continued throughout our stay with the staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. The hotel was newly renovated and the rooms were large and nicely decorated. This is not a full service hotel (no restaurant, room service, spa or fitness center), but was entirely adequate for our needs and was conveniently located the central square in the town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Hotel Italia is about 10 meters from the main piazza in Cortona and walking distance to everything else in town. It was difficult to reach by car, mainly because Cortona's streets are tiny and steep. Cortona itself is absolutely worth the visit! We opted to stay in Cortona and not Camucia, which I highly recommend.

The hotel was nice. It appeared to be one of the nicest in town, although we didn't investigate once we got there. The rooms were very quiet, comfortable, and clean. However, the rooms were basic with limited decor and an outdated bathroom. What the room lacked, the breakfast room made up for. The views of Tuscany from the breakfast room were breathtaking. The hotel itself was in a beautiful old building that was generally well kept.

The staff was friendly and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. La Grotta. If you go to Cortona, eat at La Grotta. It was so good we went back for a second night. Possibly the best pasta and wine we had in Italy. The breakfast at the hotel was nice. Parking is free, but it is located outside of the city walls and result in about a 100 meter hike straight up hill. However, anywhere you stay in town results in a hike. We used the internet in the lobby. It was 2 Euro for 30 minutes.

I would recommend Cortona, La Grotta (restaurant), and Hotel Italia. However, if you have difficulty walking or with steep climbs, maybe this small, charming, walled hill town isn't for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlmls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente California
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I recently stayed in Cortona for over two weeks while I studied Italian and Hotel Italia was my "home." It couldnt' have been better. Angela, Lorenzo, Patrizia, and Rosanna made my stay delightful! They were friendly, helpful, and warm . Patrizia and Rosanna make breakfast welcoming, and the view in the breakfast room is worth geting up for! The entire hotel is immaculately clean, well located and I highly recommend Hotel Italia. I hope to return again next year!

  • Liked — It's immaculate, welcoming and I felt at home.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DonnaKarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego P, Manager at Hotel Italia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Italia and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we appreciate!
We hope to welcome you again the soonest,
Best Regards from the Team of Hotel Italia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cortona hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Marsili
Villa Marsili
#2 of 24 in Cortona
788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Michele
Hotel San Michele
#6 of 24 in Cortona
387 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#16 of 24 in Cortona
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo il Melone
Borgo il Melone
#7 of 24 in Cortona
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cortona Resort & Spa
Cortona Resort & Spa
#4 of 24 in Cortona
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044, Cortona, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing